The Carlyle Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The Carlyle Group Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
The Carlyle Group CEO Glenn A. Youngkin
Glenn A. Youngkin
46 Ratings
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time

    Pros

    People were great to work with

    Cons

    Corporate culture shifted drastically after IPO

    The Carlyle Group2017-07-14
  2. "Fund Management Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great name, smart people, successful company.

    Cons

    Offices are very segregated and groups are siloed. Little room for internal mobility. Slow growth track.

    The Carlyle Group2017-07-25
  3. "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the best firms I have worked at. The people there were wonderful. Good benefits and good pay. People there are well connected and you can learn a lot. Was proud to say I worked there.

    Cons

    Can't think of any at the moment

    Advice to Management

    My manager was wonderful.

    The Carlyle Group2017-07-04
  4. "Internal chaos does not match the strong brand reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group

    Pros

    The company relies heavily on its strong brand reputation and has a couple of nice perks such as transportation benefits and a phone.

    Cons

    Bad management, siloed, disorganized, low growth opportunities, below market pay, extremely political, bad hours, outdated technology, very insular culture, list goes on...

    Advice to Management

    Learn to manage and stop relying on reputation

    The Carlyle Group2017-08-01
  5. "A pleasurable work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I found the manager to be very professional and the work space to be well organized and easy to work in.

    Cons

    For me, it is nicer to be part of a smaller firm, as opposed to feeling just like a cog in the machinery.

    The Carlyle Group2017-06-04
  6. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Carlyle Group full-time

    Pros

    Amazing place to work, great culture, great people

    Cons

    No downsides to note, great place

    The Carlyle Group2017-04-28
  7. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Company, Great culture, Great atmosphere. As every investment fund, you need to work hard but you will be for sure rewarded.

    Cons

    I don't see many Cons and as I sad before I would advice anyone who gets an offer in Carlyle to strongly consider this opportunity. If I really have to look for something negative I would probably say that the salaries aren't the highest you can find in the industry.

    The Carlyle Group2017-03-30
  8. "Very Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at The Carlyle Group

      Pros

      Salary and benefits are great

      Cons

      More communication firm-wide about goals and how we are achieving them

      The Carlyle Group2017-03-30
    • "Terrific mix of culture and success"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at The Carlyle Group full-time

      Pros

      Terrific company with a long and continuous track record of providing top notch returns for its investors. Provides a plethora of resources to employees and a terrific team culture that promotes interaction with other areas of the firm, but departmentally and geographically. Diverse points of view and diversity in general are highly sought after.

      Cons

      Has struggled to diversify and grow in the most profitable ways, but undoubtedly will get there.

      The Carlyle Group2017-03-15
    • "Claren Road"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Excellent working place with a good team dynamic. Good pay and benefits. Lots of opportunities to learn and add value.

        Cons

        Volatile portfolio and very strong trading emphasis. Investment horizons tend to be short, and long-term catalysts are rare. Traders may enjoy style.

        Advice to Management

        No real advice. Obviously less emphasis on trading may be preferred by some, but not by others. Management listens to staff and is attentive to concerns.

        The Carlyle Group2017-01-24
      Found 118 reviews