The Carlyle Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The Carlyle Group Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
The Carlyle Group CEO Glenn A. Youngkin
Glenn A. Youngkin
49 Ratings
  1. "Good Compensation, and opportunities to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Rosslyn, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Compensation is competitive, and year-end bonus is typically substantial -Opportunity to leave a footprint even at staff level -Growing company with a lot of opportunties to take your career in different directions -Management is very open to suggestions -Great name to have on your resume

    Cons

    -High expectations can be difficult to manage -Long working hours can affect work life balance -Lack of communication between groups and lack of standardized practices can lead to unnecessary complications, however management is actively working on addressing these issues

    Advice to Management

    Things are headed in the correct direction

    The Carlyle Group2014-06-04
  2. "Very Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Rosslyn, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Surrounded by a talented and motivated group of professionals. Very enjoyable and friendly group.

    Cons

    Work requires long hours, and issues with technology can be frustrating.

    The Carlyle Group2014-03-02
  3. "Great for a big firm."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    people, compensation, career opportunities, network

    Cons

    Firm seems to have undergone culture change post-IPO

    The Carlyle Group2013-12-21
  4. "Senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Enjoyed working with the group, very nurturing and team work friendly environment.

    Cons

    I didn't find anything that I didn't like about the company. I would've worked for the company had not moved to another city

    The Carlyle Group2013-09-23
  5. "Great place to work - your job will be what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Carlyle Group full-time

    Pros

    Smart, hard working people, interesting work, constant change (in a good way). Great for people who are resourceful and self motivated.

    Cons

    Can feel a bit political to navigate but that is the case in most companies. Find an advocate to help you navigate around the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating - more is better

    The Carlyle Group2013-09-19
  6. "Great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Carlyle Group is one of the leading Private Equity Groups in the world, with more than 60 offices and funds in most alternative asset classes

    Cons

    You can expect to work long hours, especially when transactions are closing. Still, the team and firm are supportive, and will provide all tools necessary

    The Carlyle Group2013-04-23
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Student in London, England

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Exposure to interesting deal flow. - Smart and driven investment professionals. - Helped me during my application to business school.

    Cons

    - Little flexibility to move around funds, so pick your fund and team wisely.

    The Carlyle Group2018-10-01
  8. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group

    Pros

    Everything is good, team / work / experience

    Cons

    Pay is LOW, but for the learning and experience it was worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    The Carlyle Group2017-06-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at The Carlyle Group

    Pros

    Analytical, driven and highly motivated people

    Cons

    Too large to have teamwork environment

    Advice to Management

    Need to focus on culture

    The Carlyle Group2017-01-27
  10. "assoicate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group

    Pros

    good deal flow and exposure to various sectors

    Cons

    none that i can think of. Good company

    The Carlyle Group2016-10-16
Found 124 reviews