The Carter Center Reviews | Glassdoor

The Carter Center Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
The Carter Center CEO Mary Ann Peters
Mary Ann Peters
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Collegial and Intellectual work environment, friendly atmosphere(in 9 reviews)

  • "You learn a lot here very quickly and you get the opportunity to meet and speak with the former president multiple times(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "The internship is unpaid, but you can apply for a scholarship(in 10 reviews)

  • "The internship is unpaid, and there isn't much room for future job opportunity after the internship(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Conflicts Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carter Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are incredible and the time I spent there was invaluable to my overall work experience

    Cons

    The workspaces were not congruent to having truly productive days.

    The Carter Center2019-03-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Assistant 

    I worked at The Carter Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    interesting work, smart co-workers, travel opportunities

    Cons

    slow, bureaucratic, poor job advancement opportunities

    The Carter Center2019-10-21
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Has its hiccups"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program 

    I have been working at The Carter Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some people really care about the impact that we have, or could have, or might have, due to our work in other countries

    Cons

    Too much red-tape, not always appreciated, senior management doesn't seem to trust staff and because of that, staff don't always trust senior management, lack of transparency in decision making.

    The Carter Center2019-08-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Low Morale at Entry Level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Carter Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great and Interesting Work Cost of Living in ATL better than DC

    Cons

    Little to no upward mobility Poor Middle management (The Center hires area experts as managers, instead of people with management experience)

    Continue reading
    The Carter Center2019-07-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Who doesn't want to work for a former President?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carter Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There are many outstanding and incredible people that work at The Carter Center and they do amazing things to help people all over the world.

    Cons

    They don't fire problem employees, there is a lack of training, and not very much room for advancement, unless you want to work elsewhere for Emory.

    The Carter Center2019-04-16
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Incredibly Unprofessional Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Carter Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful initiatives around the globe - I was completely in awe of what they do at the Carter Center; Occasional interaction with former President and First Lady; Overall the staff was pleasant.

    Cons

    Everything else. Literally - everything else. The unprofessional manner displayed at the Center on every level (from employee to CEO) was incredible. They are able to hide behind Emory University for a lot of things, which is another reason why I chose to leave. I take my job in HR very seriously and come from a very compliance driven background - so watching shady business take place regularly and being told to, essentially, deal with it and keep my mouth shut because "that's just the way we do things" wasn't for me. No thanks.

    Continue reading
    The Carter Center2019-03-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Finr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Carter Center full-time

    Pros

    Good once you get in.

    Cons

    Hard to get in the door without a masters.

    The Carter Center2018-09-11
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Carter Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good way to get your foot in the door and use this career as a stepping stone to something better - Mostly friendly staff - Grounds are beautiful - Interactions with President and Mrs. Carter - Holidays that coincide with Emory University's schedule

    Cons

    - Poor pay for lower staff members - Refusal to fire anyone, even if they do not do their job - Little to no room of career advancement within organization - HR is little to no help with internal employee issues - Senior program staff that are lazy and majority of workload falls on lower-level employees

    Continue reading
    The Carter Center2018-09-13
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Carter Center part-time

    Pros

    Collegial and Intellectual work environment, friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    They do not pay interns, and lower level staff pay is poor.

    Continue reading
    The Carter Center2018-06-02
  11. Helpful (4)

    "Impressive work but annoying enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Carter Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a great place to work considering the work they do,

    Cons

    The bureaucracy and favoritism is overwhelming and makes you loose interest in your work. HR can be frustrating

    Continue reading
    The Carter Center2018-04-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 49 reviews