The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago Reviews | Glassdoor

The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago CEO Michael M Boland
Michael M Boland
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "You will find your coworkers are generally happy about the mission of Catholic Charities creating a very pleasant work environment(in 7 reviews)

  • "You really feel like you are making a difference in the community(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Place to work, opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Residents age in place, sad to see them go.

    Advice to Management

    Pay staff more, and increase annual raises.

    The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago2019-08-16
  2. "Horrible HR Dept."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Care Coordinator II in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The schedule was pretty flexible when it came to days out in the field. You were able to go home to complete your paperwork after home visits.the first month is devoted to training. Vacation time and possible raise starts accumulating after 6 months. After 2 years on the job you can get tuition assistance up to $10,000 per year. Weekends and holidays off.

    Cons

    You have to be comfortable using your own car and going into stranger's homes. Some homes were infested with bed bugs, roaches, etc. and you do not have an option to not go into a home in those cases. Catholic Charities will not reimburse you in the case you bring home any bugs that may cause a very costly extermination. You have a quota to fill of visits per month. People often cancel and it is hard to schedule 40 visits...

    Show More
    The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago2019-07-25
  3. "Please increase the salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, I love my job, proud to be an employee.

    Cons

    You cannot live on this wage

    Advice to Management

    This organization does so much to help our communities and they are great people. You need to pay a living wage, there is a revolving door and we need to constantly train and introduce new workers.

    The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago2019-05-26
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Therapy in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago for less than a year

    Pros

    I feel very supported in my position at Catholic Charities. The organization truly seeks to serve ALL people in Chicago and their values are reflected in the way that they also care for their staff. The scheduling is flexible, coworkers are kind, and supervisors are supportive.

    Cons

    For an internship, I honestly can't think of any cons for being at Catholic Charities.

    The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago2019-03-29
  5. "So-So Entry Level Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Health Caregiver in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Pay is decent for entry-level, but I suggest to a person to stay no longer than two years in this position because the pay rate is set by the state. It is very unlikely that you will receive annual raises. -Please continue your job progression because many years can be wasted in this stagnant position.

    Cons

    -Traveling through the city to various client's homes and dealing with so many personalities is draining, in addition to not getting paid enough. Eventually you become angered and disgusted with the field.

    Advice to Management

    -Provide tuition reimbursement -Allow for easier internal promotions

    The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago2019-03-11
  6. "Overall good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA At Holy Family Villa in Palos Park, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Plenty of overtime Good pay Clean working enviornment

    Cons

    Management can be hard to work with Lots of agency in house

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees Be more pleasant: we are adults, please treat us as such

    The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago2019-02-26
  7. "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Helping and meeting new people.

    Cons

    Outdated system, lack of transparency from management, high turnover, and low pay.

    The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago2019-02-23
  8. "Great mission and people plagued by outdated tactics and software"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved every person I worked with. They were kind and enjoyed there work, even on the worst of days. You do feel connected to the mission of the organization Used to have very competitive benefits, less so now

    Cons

    Outdated software and overall logistics were often very messy and hard to narrow down. A lot of my work was making sense of the clutter of the people before me.

    Advice to Management

    Management was the true gem of the organization.

    The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago2019-02-05
  9. "Dynamic Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing resources within the organization. Incredible and dedicated staff at all levels of the organization.

    Cons

    Salary is consistent with non-profit pay

    The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago2018-11-29
  10. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great boss and laid back environment.

    Cons

    Pay could be a little better.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    The Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago2018-10-09
Found 70 reviews