The Chicago Lighthouse Reviews | Glassdoor

The Chicago Lighthouse Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
The Chicago Lighthouse CEO Janet P. Szlyk (no image)
Janet P. Szlyk
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Many of these negative reviews are ridiculous and must have been written by people with little work history and have never been in a call center(in 7 reviews)

  • "You are able to understand the day to day challenges of people that are visually impaired and or blind(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum Wage to be specific) no oportunities of advance within the call center , very bad system ( computers software used etc(in 6 reviews)

  • "Many great people have left because of upper management(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work. Very progressive."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Chicago Lighthouse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From the second I walked through the door I felt welcome. Everyone is friendly. Management is driving change for the better. They're renovating the hallways to be more colorful, they're working with the Illinois Tollway to clean and renovate the call center spaces at UIC, and they're upgrading the Low Vision Lab with a higher contrast environment for blind and visually impaired individuals.

    Cons

    None. The Lighthouse really cares.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    The Chicago Lighthouse2019-09-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I have been working at The Chicago Lighthouse part-time

    Pros

    Great People! I really enjoyed working with the people in my department

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    The Chicago Lighthouse2019-08-07
  3. "It's great for young adults"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Chicago Lighthouse full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, hired quickly, some staff is ok,

    Cons

    strict rules, long training, rude customers daily, non sympathetic to one's needs, pay for parking, pay needs work,

    Advice to Management

    work on pay and having people sit for hours on end without being able to stand up in area

    The Chicago Lighthouse2019-07-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Chicago, IL

    I worked at The Chicago Lighthouse full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, Good training

    Cons

    Management, Unorganized, Benefits, Environment, Carpeted facility with bed bugs

    The Chicago Lighthouse2019-06-15
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Vision Clinic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vision Clinic in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Chicago Lighthouse full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a lot of people that are passionate about the work they do, helping others, especially children is engrained in them. The CEO Janet Szlyk is NOT one of thise people.

    Cons

    Janet Szlyk is more concerned with botox and keeping herself looking young, and staying in company of wealthy donors. She does not care about the welfare of the employees and given the chance she will throw you under the bus if she wants to. The Chicago Lighthouse needs new leadership with true values and actually cares about the people it services, unlike Dr. Szlyk.

    Advice to Management

    New leadership is incumbent if the Lighthouse wants to continue moving forward.

    The Chicago Lighthouse2019-01-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Chicago Lighthouse full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits were great overall

    Cons

    Long hours of incoming calls

    The Chicago Lighthouse2018-11-26
  7. "Chicago Lighthouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Chicago Lighthouse full-time

    Pros

    Ok pay, Ok Coworkers, nice design

    Cons

    Boss is iffy. Lots of traffic on the way to and from work.

    The Chicago Lighthouse2018-09-05
  8. "Call center agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Chicago Lighthouse full-time

    Pros

    None. There’s nothing good about job

    Cons

    Everything. Nothing good to say

    The Chicago Lighthouse2018-08-16
  9. Helpful (10)

    "TREATS EMPLOYEES LIKE PRISONERS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Scheduler in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Chicago Lighthouse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get paid every week.

    Cons

    No time for bathroom breaks when needed, some people take meds and have to go even if you have used your 10 mins away from desk time or 15 min breaks. There is no time to eat and take care of any business that you have to attend to. They give you lockers not for your coat or purse but for your telephone. the bathrooms are horrendous, the harass you about 1 minute being late getting to work, after lunch after... breaks etc. No feelings at all when it comes to being off because of a family issue or illness. it is the worst place to ever work

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to rewrite your policy to show some favor to your employees and not just The Chicago Lighthouse, you make employees feel like they are in prison, that they can't be sick, and even with that you issue out 4 hours every other month. These actions do not encourage the employee and neither does your adherence and attendance contests or competitions. You should really treat your employees with more respect and... kindness, after all, they keep your business running.

    Show More
    The Chicago Lighthouse2018-04-16
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Customer Service Representative at Illinois tollway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Chicago Lighthouse full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They approve your schedule after work for them for a year!

    Cons

    Poor managment , no one knows nothing like one day they say something next day they change it rigth away (POLICIES) , no organization , The Human Resources ladies are very RUDE , UNPROFESSIONAL, THEY ARE RACIST ,They give you actituded and like a b..... face everytime that you ask for something, VERY LOW WAGE!!!(Minimum Wage to be specific) no oportunities of advance within the call center , very bad system (... computers software used etc..) They made you pay for parking fee out of your pay check, they have very stupid policies, last time they gave me a 0.15 cents raise !!! As a CSR you have alot of work to do because you have to deal with a very crappy system , very rude team managment , supervisor don't know what they are talking about one say something then another one say something different . very nasty kitchen not enough mircrowaves , short breaks. I DON'T KNOW HOW I LAST 4 YEARS WITH THEM IT WAS A NIGHTMARE .

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    FIRED ALL THEM!! HIRE PEOPLE THAT KNOW WHAT ARE THEY DOING, !!!

    The Chicago Lighthouse2018-05-15
Found 57 reviews