KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

The Children's Place

Is this your company?

The Children's Place

Add a Review

The Children's Place Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,217 of over 2K reviews

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
The Children's Place President & CEO Jane Elfers
Jane Elfers
861 Ratings
Pros
  • "The 30% remote l employee discount(in 142 reviews)

  • "Extremely flexible schedule and a family like mentality within the actual stores(in 81 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is little to no communication from upper management(in 147 reviews)

  • "pushing credit card goals even if customers didn't want them(in 106 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of The Children's Place and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      My opinión about childrens place

      Mar 4, 2021 - Part Time Cashier in Doral, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Al the time my bosses has a importance and care with me And my Coworkers they are very good people to me

      Cons

      They don't call me much to work and the hours are very short

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Don’t Waste Your Time

      Apr 27, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When you had good managers, the job could be fun. Pretty flexible schedule for the most part, but you had to be firm with your availability or management would take advantage.

      Cons

      Terrible pay, demanding workload, rude customers, no incentive to move up in company. Corporate would harrass us every day to push the company’s credit card on customers, even if they said no 3 times they would demand we kept pushing. It was a huge turn off. TCP also frequently did scheduling with “one on one coverage” meaning that for the morning shift they would only have 2 people working- one manager and one associate. It would be same for the night shift. It wouldn’t be too bad if it was a slow day, but when it was busy it would put a lot of stress on us as it would be impossible to keep up with ringing customers up and helping people on the sales floor, on top of cleaning and putting out shipment. With a minimum wage salary for associates and assistant managers earning only a dollar more than the minimum, there was no incentive to want to be promoted. An extra dollar for all the extra stress you have to deal with as an assistant is really a slap in the face. There was constant drama within the company, high turnover rate, and management/corporate playing favorites. Not to mention our yearly inventory where we were forced to come in overnight, sometimes working 12+ hour shifts with no break. If we refused to go, they would threaten to fire us. My store closing was a blessing in disguise.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Needs to Overpay to Keep Talent in hostile, opaque work environment, but could work out for you if yo have leverage

      May 10, 2021 - Director, Store Operations in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They will overpay if you have the leverage, but will underpay gladly if they have it. Failure of so many competitors in the category (Gymboree, Justice) provides major macro tailwinds that will be hard to screw up in near-term. but eventually, the brand will need to deal with Amazon and other similar behemoths that are just now dipping a toe in the sector, so long-term relevance is questionable. Good vacation policy, 401k match is nice, summer hours. Medical coverage is subpar.

      Cons

      CEO temperament and work style is problematic, toxic even and creates hostile culture from the top that permeates down to bottom. Massive turnover. CEO and COO seem to pick winners and losers based on whims and "gut", CEO surrounds herself with "yes" men types. C-suite compensation is egregious while in the same year they will have large "blood-letting" layoff, often letting go lower level employees leaving other lower level employees to absorb job duties with nominal compensation increases, if any. HR function is ATROCIOUS and transparently doesn't even try to be anything other than a tool for CEO and management.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Wouldn't recommend this job to anyone!!!!

      May 1, 2021 - Sales Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get a 30% discount that you can use on top of rewards and Sales in the store. . I made some friends that I'm still friends with 2-3 years after quitting.

      Cons

      The stock room what absolutely disgusting. The management team was super unprofessional, always talked about issues with associates in front of other associates. Never kept anything confidential and talked with to associates about other employees. It was very quid pro quo, if u requested off and the manager approved it, the manager would come back and throw it in your face months later. Always guilting you staying extra shifts. Manager never takes responsibility and always blames someone else. Manager also hid sick time from a lot of us for about 2 years and always denied we had it. It was all of our first jobs so we didn't know and then we found out when we got the Kronos app. Horrible return policy. Full- time lead tried to sell 2 left shoes and sell it as a pair bc to him it "didnt matter, its an infant"

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      CEO micromanager

      Jun 9, 2021 - E-Commerce Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and decent hours

      Cons

      CEO and other executives need to micromanage ever last detail no matter how tiny it is

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Alright

      Jun 10, 2021 - Childcare Worker in Bronx, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a decent job

      Cons

      Having to fold all the clothes

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Over worked and under paid

      Jun 15, 2021 - Sales Associate in Willow Grove, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff and opportunities for growth

      Cons

      Over worked. Small staff so everything was on them to stock inventory and do sales. Worked at other department stores and was paid more for less work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      yes

      Jun 7, 2021 - Stocker in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      yeah it was a place for child

      Cons

      huh too many kids you know?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      If work is your life, then go for it.

      Jun 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Created some pretty decent friendships.

      Cons

      Little work life balance. No respect from cross functional teams. Lots of finger pointing and not taking ownership. Questionable leaders who would rather save themselves then listen to their employee. Little encouragement to try and create efficiencies or think creatively.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Greedy Company, Zero Incentives

      Jun 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Easton, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some fun co-workers, holiday cookies

      Cons

      Pay is horrible, management is horrible, demanding job for minimum wage, company is not ethical or environmentally conscious whatsoever

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,217 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Children's Place Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at The Children's Place? Share Your Experiences

    or