The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Reviews | Glassdoor

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Reviews

Updated 4 de Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints CEO Russell M. Nelson
Russell M. Nelson
116 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not a lot of opportunity to work full time non-contingent(in 38 reviews)

  • "They don't hire Internationals for Contingent positions(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The environment is fantastic and the coworkers are great. Love working here. It's nice to walk around Temple Square sometimes during lunchtime and before and after work.

    Cons

    It's a large organization, so sometimes projects move slower.

    The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints2019-11-16
  2. "Working with other smart people is the best perk!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Web Developer in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Modern tools and continuous delivery make writing code a pleasure. - Prayer before meetings is incredibly helpful - Working with the best and brightest in the field

    Cons

    - Management is a little top heavy - Needs more diversity

    Advice to Management

    Don't be afraid to migrate over to new tracking and reporting tools. GitHub does everything we need for free yet we keep wasting time/money using Version One and Jira (since management doesn't want to change their process I assume)

    The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints2019-11-22
  3. "You don't work here for the money but for everything else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You work here for the benefits. I have seen people get away with so much and never were fired. You have to try to get fired or be unbelievably incompetent. Retirement for anyone hired after 2010 is a match in 401K up to 4% and they put 8% of your salary into a 401A for free. Health insurance is with DMBA and they are fantastic. I personally have never needed to work more than 40 hours/week.

    Cons

    Does not pay as much as outside companies. No bonuses. Middle management is over saturated and many are not as competent as their subordinates. Very little growth opportunities. Culture varies ALOT depending on what department you are in. I have been in three different departments and each are extremely different.

    Advice to Management

    More comparative compensation.

    The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints2019-12-04
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Janitor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Great work environment will recommend

    Cons

    Bad pay But good benefits

    Advice to Management

    Better pay and better benefits

    The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints2019-11-14
  5. "Rewarding Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Volunteer Representative in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with a diverse group of people. Increase communication/social skills. Improve leadership and teaching abilities.

    Cons

    Long, but rewarding, work hours. Strict, but useful, schedule.

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any advice at this time.

    The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints2019-11-12
  6. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints part-time

    Pros

    The best work environment I have ever worked in.

    Cons

    Nothing can be spoken against it.

    The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints2019-10-27
  7. "custodial supervise two shift and two departments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits , salaries and environment

    Cons

    You must be a member

    Advice to Management

    Take more time to know your oersonnel

    The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints2019-11-06
  8. "An employer with impeccable integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Film/Video Producer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic growth opportunities. Excellent management.

    Cons

    Many layers of approval. Very political workplace. Not always female friendly.

    Advice to Management

    Create more diversity in the workplace.

    The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints2019-11-02
  9. "Wish I started working here sooner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Test Engineer in Riverton, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly positive work environment Training provided They want everyone to succeed Fun projects Low Stress Opportunities

    Cons

    Wish my commute was closer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints2019-10-08
  10. "A good balance of work and family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Water Resources Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Reasonable hours, work environment, location, benefits, lower stress compared to work in the private sector.

    Cons

    Difficult to progress and develop your career. Promotions are hard to come by. Mostly have to apply to a new internal posting but opportunities are limited. Also communication and departments are siloed. Concerns never make it out of middle management.

    The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints2019-10-16
Found 643 reviews