The Cincinnati Insurance Company Reviews | Glassdoor

The Cincinnati Insurance Company Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 120 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Steven J. Johnston
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home occasionally is a plus(in 12 reviews)

  • "Family oriented, great place to build a career, good benefits, conservative atmosphere and friendly(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Cincinnati Insurance Company full-time

    Pros

    Very loyal company with solid financials. Best asset are the employees.

    Cons

    As with any big company, sometimes hard to get things done.

    Advice to Management

    None

    The Cincinnati Insurance Company2018-11-06
  2. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in Fairfield, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Cincinnati Insurance Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great company to work for

    Cons

    none to report for me

    The Cincinnati Insurance Company2019-04-08
  3. "Good company, bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Cincinnati Insurance Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, Solid company within the industry

    Cons

    Technology is way behind, outdated philosophies, nepotism is ridiculous, diversity is minimal, pay and benefits are below industry standards, parking and location is bad

    Advice to Management

    Promote change, don't shy away from it. This is a good company but you do not embrace that your employees are your greatest assets. You consistently pinch pennies at the cost of your employees. INVEST in technology AND in your employees, it will make this such a better company.

    The Cincinnati Insurance Company2019-03-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Many good employees/people within the lower ranks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Cincinnati Insurance Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee benefits and positive financial reputation within the insurance industry.

    Cons

    Antiquated technology /leaders & management often lack forward thoughts and ideas needed in the 21st century. Nepotism within is almost ludicrous.

    Advice to Management

    Look outside your Cincinnati circle for innovative ideas. Invest in new ideas and be more flexible. Believe what field reps are telling you.

    The Cincinnati Insurance Company2019-01-28
  5. "Underwriting assistant - Cincinnati specialty underwriting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Fairfield, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Cincinnati Insurance Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family oriented, lunch discount, good opportunities depending on department

    Cons

    Lower pay, bad benefits , parking

    The Cincinnati Insurance Company2019-01-22
  6. "Full-time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Cincinnati Insurance Company full-time

    Pros

    Stable company. Respectful to employees.

    Cons

    Minimal work from home opportunities. Not much room for advancement unless an underwriter or in IT.

    Advice to Management

    Modern amenities and benefits needed to attract and retain employees.

    The Cincinnati Insurance Company2018-12-26
  7. "Best Place I Have Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fairfield, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Cincinnati Insurance Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at this company. The people were wonderful and professional, and I loved my manager. I have fond memories of this place and would recommend to a friend! There is true company cohesion here, and that is a rare thing.

    Cons

    I believe I deserved a bit higher pay, but it was a sacrifice I was willing to make for a job I loved. Also, they do require you to dress up a bit too much.

    Advice to Management

    I felt like my upper management was always on my side and I felt appreciated. Keep doing this to your employees and they will keep sticking around.

    The Cincinnati Insurance Company2018-10-31
  8. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at The Cincinnati Insurance Company full-time

      Pros

      Good coworkers and good bosses

      Cons

      Not a lot of opportunity to advance

      The Cincinnati Insurance Company2018-10-04
    • "Intern It"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Cincinnati Insurance Company full-time

      Pros

      Good people to work with

      Cons

      Boring and not much to do

      The Cincinnati Insurance Company2018-09-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Agency Technical Support"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Agency Technical Support 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at The Cincinnati Insurance Company full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      There are no pros to working here. You'll waste your life.

      Cons

      Cubical job for sheep Fired for trying to take short term disability while working with doctors to determine medication needed.

      Advice to Management

      Do something better with your lives.

      The Cincinnati Insurance Company2018-09-13
    Found 120 reviews