The Co-operative Bank "good people" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Co-operative Bank Employee Reviews about "good people"

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
40%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
The Co-operative Bank CEO Andrew Bester
Andrew Bester
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Like a challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Management 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Small enough to get good exposure across the organisation Great people Good work / life balance

    Cons

    IT / legacy challenges Continued cost cutting Consistent management changes - not alway for the better

    The Co-operative Bank2019-11-14
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people policies and culture. Interesting work and achievable objectives

    Cons

    Can be a high pressure environment.

    The Co-operative Bank2019-08-05

    The Co-operative Bank Response

    August 8, 2019Operations Resourcing Partner

    We love a 5 star review! And thank you for all the hard work you've done, day in, day out putting our Customers First. We do our best to be a great place to work. Yes we agree that we have challenges but this is what makes it exciting!

    Continue reading
  3. "Little senior direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good people at "on the ground" level. Fairly good ethics for a Bank.

    Cons

    Constantly changing strategy and operating model.

    The Co-operative Bank2019-07-13

    The Co-operative Bank Response

    July 19, 2019Operations Resourcing Partner

    Our strategy is to be the Bank that puts customers first, and lives by it’s values and ethics. We have been through challenges in the last few years which we appreciate can be hard, but looking ahead we are confident that our strategy is the right one for our customers, our people and our communities.

    Continue reading
  4. "A great place to work for exposure to all aspects of the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Customer Focussed Great people Good benefits Generous holidays Flexible working Supportive atmosphere

    Cons

    There has been a lot of change in recent years however we are relaunching our strategy and there is an exciting journey ahead of us

    Continue reading
    The Co-operative Bank2019-02-11

    The Co-operative Bank Response

    February 19, 2019HR Digital and Channels Lead

    Thank you for your four star review! We're delighted to read you've worked at the Bank for over eight years and you recognise our focus on customers and colleagues. It is an exciting journey ahead and we'll continue listening to and acting on your feedback to make sure it's a successful one.

    Continue reading
  5. "Customer Service Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    Relatively good pay, good people, good work life balance

    Cons

    long hours, no career prospects

    The Co-operative Bank2019-01-29

    The Co-operative Bank Response

    February 13, 2019HR Digital and Channels Lead

    Thanks for taking the time to rate us and for highlighting our flexible working environment. We’re committed to supporting colleagues with their career aspirations and creating development opportunities where we can.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Leaders (above team leaders) need to get out of their ivory towers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Stockport, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people on the ground working, reasonable pay for roles

    Cons

    Senior management continue to bring in their colleagues from previous employers it is clearly not what you know but who is your mate ! Constant worry of job security

    Continue reading
    The Co-operative Bank2018-05-22
  7. "Frustrating, but a good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time

    Pros

    Nice people. Good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Technology is pretty desperate. Lots of contractors so frustrating.

    The Co-operative Bank2018-03-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great from the outside, not so great on the inside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Skelmersdale, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary is excellent for a call centre based job, however is still only in like with the industry. Good people to work with. Free drinks Free onsite parking

    Cons

    Originally applied for 30 hours, started training only to be told a week later it's 40 hours a week and every weekend and if you don't like it off you go. Very very very little training which is ridiculous when dealing with people's money. Sometimes no parking spaces. Managers tell you one thing, then come back and tell you something different.

    Continue reading
    The Co-operative Bank2017-10-27
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    Really good people in the team I worked with, hard-working, professional and engaged. Really keen to get involved and total customer/service focus

    Cons

    Uncertainty over the future - Bank is up for sale

    Continue reading
    The Co-operative Bank2017-05-10
  10. "Resilient bunch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people. Ethics and values commendable. People generally believe in organisation.

    Cons

    Been tough few years so difficult to be innovative - more about getting by. Good roles to be had but need to have eyes open

    Continue reading
    The Co-operative Bank2017-03-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews