The Co-operative Bank "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Co-operative Bank Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
45%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
The Co-operative Bank CEO Andrew Bester
Andrew Bester
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great team culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - SAS Developer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance and team culture. They're using the latest SAS tools, a great place to build your career.

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    The Co-operative Bank2020-02-13
  2. "Overall good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Analyst in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility Benefits Work-life balance Culture and values Location

    Cons

    Management Salaries Limited job vacancies Senior management Career progression could be difficult due to limited opportuninies

    The Co-operative Bank2020-01-28
  3. "Like a challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Management 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Small enough to get good exposure across the organisation Great people Good work / life balance

    Cons

    IT / legacy challenges Continued cost cutting Consistent management changes - not alway for the better

    The Co-operative Bank2019-11-14
  4. "Needs overhaul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance especially if you have a family

    Cons

    Tech is way behind competitors leaving it at a huge risk in the industry Too many middle managers

    The Co-operative Bank2019-10-07

    The Co-operative Bank Response

    November 13, 2019Digital Acquisitions Consultant

    Thanks for your feedback and for calling out our flexible working environment. As you know, we have a range of policies and support in place to help our colleagues maintain a healthy work-life balance and we are doing more to promote this. We%E2%80%99re also continuing to invest in technology to better support our customers and colleagues. We%E2%80%99ve made great progress, separating from legacy systems and rolling out new desktops. Please continue to give feedback internally and we'll do our best to support.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Commercial Operations Intern in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank for less than a year

    Pros

    -Collaborative culture and outstanding people with great values. -Many exciting opportunities and a great internship programme overall. -Good work/life balance and flexible working from home scheme ideal for parents -Great location and nice refurbished office -Senior people are approachable and not hiding in private offices

    Cons

    As in many large organisations, you can face some red tape when trying to do something from scratch

    Continue reading
    The Co-operative Bank2019-09-06
  6. "A refreshing and flexible place to work but definitely areas to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, work from home days and 'dress for your day' policies show that the Bank really trust its staff and want us to have a true work-life balance. Most of the people in the bank are great to work with and get on with. The kind of people you genuinely look forward to seeing on a Monday. Day-to-day it is a great place to work.

    Cons

    Teams in digital aren't always taken seriously, more can be done to transform the bank into a forward-thinking bank that can actually compete with challengers. A lot of 'processes' but not much output. Long-term, it could become draining.

    The Co-operative Bank2019-08-15

    The Co-operative Bank Response

    October 2, 2019Operations Resourcing Partner

    Our Digital team is at heart of our strategy to create a sustainable, digital Bank that provides our customers with great products and services. We know we have to continue to invest and become more agile in the way we work. With the great people we have, the positive working environment we have created, and all that we are doing to empower our people, we know we can get there. Thank you for coming with us on the journey!

    Continue reading
  7. "An honest review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are friendly, good location, free coffee, tea etc. Charity work is great.

    Cons

    Work life balance not good. Some 9 hour days. Work 4 out of 8 weekends. Progression can be difficult. You'll know your manager, you'll possible interact with their manager but once you get further up, the relationships between higher management and the staff becomes dissolved. Not many employee benefits.

    Continue reading
    The Co-operative Bank2019-07-02

    The Co-operative Bank Response

    July 19, 2019Operations Resourcing Partner

    Thank you working in our Bank for so many years and for getting involved in our charity work. We appreciate how much our colleagues give to the Bank and we are doing more and more each year to promote internal development and progression. We will give your feedback to our Senior Management so we can look to do more to connect with all our colleagues face to face.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great ethical stance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Systems Developer in Leek, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, ethical, easy to do business with, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Some old technologies, slow to deliver some projects

    Continue reading
    The Co-operative Bank2019-04-04
  9. "Customer Service Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    Relatively good pay, good people, good work life balance

    Cons

    long hours, no career prospects

    The Co-operative Bank2019-01-29

    The Co-operative Bank Response

    February 13, 2019HR Digital and Channels Lead

    Thanks for taking the time to rate us and for highlighting our flexible working environment. We’re committed to supporting colleagues with their career aspirations and creating development opportunities where we can.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great opportunities available!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leadership Development Trainer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Since joining the bank three years ago I have been encouraged and supported by every team member and manager I have worked with. There are great opportunities for progression here if you are willing to work hard! In my three short years I've had two secondment opportunities and two promotions. They're keen to progress and promote colleagues internally wherever possible so opportunities are always there. The bank actively look for ways to continue to support that all important work life balance which is so important. Teams across the bank continually demonstrate the bank's values and ethics with opportunities to get involved in charitable work with an allowance of two volunteering days available to all. Recent investment into the refurbishment of two main sites has also made for a comfortable and modern working environment.

    Cons

    Some positions do not offer a salary that is in line with market reference.

    Continue reading
    The Co-operative Bank2018-10-03

    The Co-operative Bank Response

    October 31, 2018HR Digital and Channels Lead

    Thank you for sharing your experience of working at our Bank; we are pleased that it was an extremely positive one. As you know, we're invested in developing our colleagues' careers with a range of development programmes and support. The opportunities and internal promotions you've experienced are not uncommon for those who step up, work hard and show initiatiave and we are grateful for your contribution over the years. We wish you well in your future career.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 22 reviews