The Co-operators "guelph" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Co-operators Employee Reviews about "guelph"

Updated 2 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
90%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
The Co-operators CEO Robert Wesseling
Robert Wesseling
55 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Headquarters location is in Guelph which might be a bit remote for some people(in 8 reviews)

  • "No work life balance, expectations and stress level is very high(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "guelph"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Canada, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Care about customers Care about employees Live the company values Put people before profits

    Cons

    Change management is difficult due to multiple departments and politics Limited opportunities to progress as most Sr management roles must be located in Guelph

    Advice to Management

    Allow for roles to be located outside head office, and work remotely.

    The Co-operators2015-02-15
  2. "A++ company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Systems Analyst in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - flexible work hours - work life balance - promotes hollistic view of work- mental and physical - paid volunteer days, personal days, sick - good vacation time off - managers really contribute in your performance and how you can do better and what you are looking for with career advancement or growth or stability or projects.

    Cons

    - the pay could be a bit better but its still pretty good. - far out in Guelph- so if you dont mind relocating or driving its okay - suffers from older culture

    The Co-operators2019-12-02
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operators full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic business ethics and corporate culture. I have been working here for years and it only gets better. Great benefits and very nice people around.

    Cons

    Nothing. Headquarters location is in Guelph which might be a bit remote for some people.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing the great work.

    The Co-operators2019-06-21
  5. "Worked as a co-op student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Test Automation Engineer in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operators for less than a year

    Pros

    work / life balance benefits / pay people

    Cons

    guelph location is not the perfect

    The Co-operators2018-09-10
  6. "Good company to work for - but beware of frequent downsizing!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operators full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I spent 20 years working for this company. Good salary, great hard working people and great company values I was provided great training and a great intro to the insurance industry. Work like balance was also emphasized!

    Cons

    I was downsized 3 times in a 20 year span - the first 2 times I applied for other positions and was successful. Not a lot of opportunities for advancement unless you live near Guelph. Now that I work for a competitor I realize how slow Co-op is at getting new products to market. And I hear that they are downsizing some management positions. Every time this happens more work is heaped on the people that are left!

    Advice to Management

    Take better care if your staff and better utilize technology so that people can have access to advance without having to move

    The Co-operators2017-02-11
  7. "Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Insurance Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operators for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to start your career- company usually send new hires to well organized corporate training sessions. Also you have an opportunity to meet other people who work in different branch offices. If you are interested in underwriting role- it might open up a new door for you in their head office in Guelph.

    Cons

    Usually operating in small offices all across the Toronto and less opportunity to move up (unless you are moving to the head office in Guelph). You will be working for an agent who owns the agency- Depends on who you work for, experience can vary greatly. I was fortunate enough to meet a great boss- I still keep in touch with him. But some of the people that I met through company function were not very happy with... their boss. The agency that I worked for did not pay for CIP courses.

    Show More
    The Co-operators2016-11-16
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operators

    Pros

    - People are very supportive - Management wants you to succeed and will help you achieve your goals - Room for growth & development

    Cons

    - Head office is in Guelph

    The Co-operators2015-09-11
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Quebec, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Management is actively listening employees, and always trying to improve. - Great work-life balance. - Great benefits - Employee development is really promoted

    Cons

    - Salaries are a little bit lower than similar companies. - Most of the workforce is located in Guelph, so it's harder to build relations with colleages whan you work in Quebec.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    The Co-operators2015-01-09
Found 8 reviews