The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf President and CEO John Fuller (no image)
John Fuller
111 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, free drinks, great environment(in 46 reviews)

  • "flexible schedule, ability to grow, fun company to be a part of(in 42 reviews)

Cons
  • "I worked at a very busy store, but they didn't care; they would rather save 50 bucks than let the baristas have time to breathe(in 46 reviews)

  • "Considerably demanding accounting for the low pay(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fine company for a first job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Barista in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers are generally nice, good job for people who like to make small talk and have regular customers

    Cons

    Depending on location of your store, you might get rude customers.

    The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf2020-03-28
  2. "Pretty chill, depends on your crew"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy to adapt, support from team members, good tips, health benefits available, free/reduced price food & drinks across the entire chain, recognition/gifts for high sales, 80% of customers are nice & friendly

    Cons

    good luck finding coverage when you're sick, outdated/backwards rules at times, crew politics can get nasty at times, having to grin & bear some awful customers at times but that's retail isn't it

    Continue reading
    The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf2020-05-20
  3. "Fun Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Barista in Makakilo City, HI
    Recommends

    I worked at The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a really fun experience to have worked as a barista, learning to make drinks, learning to use an espresso machine, all great things. The coworkers for the most part were friendly and management seemed ok.

    Cons

    Management. That would be my biggest downfall of this job. The managers didn't like to be bothered, and when you needed something, it always seemed like such a bother to ask. They weren't very friendly and open and it almost felt like you had to have an "in" as a friend with them if you wanted or needed something.

    Continue reading
    The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf2020-05-04
  4. "Great"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Barista in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf part-time

    Pros

    Discounts, team work, drinks, regulars

    Cons

    Hours kinda sucks, some customers

    The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf2020-03-22
  5. "Nice place overall"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My coworkers and manager were fantastic. The store was always busy and was challenging

    Cons

    Sometimes the district manager and above would do a terrible job of communicating changes

    The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf2020-02-28
  6. "Perfect for college students."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work in. Free coffee and perfect for college students' schedule.

    Cons

    Upper management doesn't allow for adequate amount of staff to be scheduled, a lot of the times we were under staffed.

    The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf2020-03-10
  7. "Does not care about their employees"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount for drinks and coffee beans is not bad but it is the only benefit we get as part time workers.

    Cons

    This company does not care at all for the safety and well being of their employees and only cares about making money. During the COVID-19 pandemic that is happening, they do not allow their workers to wear masks or gloves even if they or their family members are high risk. They keep cafe only stores open and only provide sanitizer water (that we use for dishes) to disinfect every part of the stores. In addition to all that, they send email blasts and app offers giving discounts to customers to encourage them to leave their homes. Lattes and ice blends are not essential. Those who are concerned about working and having interaction with several people are encouraged to use their sick hours. Our competitor (you know who) offered their team members 30 paid leave if they did not feel comfortable working and for those who CHOSE to work, they were given an extra bump for hazard pay.

    Continue reading
    The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf2020-04-01
  8. "It was a very standard job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1 free drink per day

    Cons

    They only pay minimum wage

    The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf2020-03-08
  9. "Fun and Friendly work environment"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor 

    I worked at The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf part-time

    Pros

    Great pay rate for barista supervisor, flexible scheduling, truly a team building experience.

    Cons

    Lot of people coming and going, constantly training other people which can slow down speed of service and quality

    The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf2020-02-05
  10. "An Enjoyable Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Air Freight Dispatcher in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people. Well developed systems. Regularly tried to innovate new ideas.

    Cons

    Occasionally missed the mark with new ideas. Could get caught up with too many checklists, spreadsheets and analysis from year to year.

    The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf2020-02-01
Found 594 reviews