The Container Store Reviews | Glassdoor

The Container Store Reviews

Updated Jan 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
The Container Store CEO Melissa Reiff
Melissa Reiff
193 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Container Store part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Adaptable to suggestions and management has open doors

    Cons

    Cannot think of any cons

    The Container Store2019-07-06
  2. "Exciting Company Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Facilities Executive Assistant in Coppell, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Container Store full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the people I work with and I feel valued as an employee. The company values really align with my personal values and I feel at home here.

    Cons

    There is no covered parking.

    The Container Store2019-07-08
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Independent and Supportive Environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Edina, MN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Container Store part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a great job because it provides plenty of training so you feel well versed and confident during your first actual day of work. That is something that I appreciate that I haven't seen from other companies. The team is incredibly supportive of one another, both on and off the sales floor, and it is a very positive environment - no "Negative Nellie's" here!

    Cons

    It's a lot of training - so for those who just want to get started right away, you have to get through some training courses first.

    The Container Store2019-07-08
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Container Store part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a community of people all focused on helping each other and doing a great job

    Cons

    Occasionally you have to work early hours

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work hiring good people

    The Container Store2019-07-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "great company if you are in the right location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Sales Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Container Store full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    training, job satisfaction if you are someone who loves to help customers solve organizing issues, fair and competitive pay, great teams to work with daily

    Cons

    scheduling uses pattens, so no consecutive days off unless requested; in some locations, too much micro management.

    Advice to Management

    please ensure that managers can spend a decent amount of time on sales floor as opposed to being locked on too many long conference calls.

    The Container Store2019-07-18
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Coppell, TX

    I worked at The Container Store part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management and work atmosphere

    Cons

    Not any cons to share

    The Container Store2019-06-26
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Perhaps you should think twice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Container Store part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent products, great discount, amazing co-workers.

    Cons

    Oh boy. so many changes, and few of them are positive. I've worked over ten years and the company has changed so much. Not for the better. The focus is 100% on closets, sadly, neglecting the many wonderful products in the rest of the store. Every day it is closets, closets, closets..... Also, sadly the "training' that is so often hyped is now a myth. Don't believe a word of it Ten years ago the training was amazing! Genuine, legitimate product knowledge. Now training consists of "read this one page sheet" and that's it. Of course no one reads the sheet of info, because it is not in the least helpful. So do not believe the claim that training is extensive and thorough because it absolutely is not.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Where are the product experts in the stores? They are not there, and never will be again, unless an employee takes it upon him/herself to learn on their own. Closets. Closets. Closets.

    The Container Store2019-07-02
  9. "If you love retail, this is the BEST PLACE TO WORK!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coppell, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Container Store full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We are a team striving for greatness for our beloved company! Everyone can be a contributor to the success of the company.

    Cons

    I've worked in retail elsewhere, and TCS is by far a game-changer. So refreshing!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep all informed of our direction and how we can help get there.

    The Container Store2019-06-18
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Good reviews are from Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual and Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Container Store full-time

    Pros

    Met some good people with whom i remain friends

    Cons

    This company is a fraud. They care about their image, but do nothing to earn it. They pay slightly better than average for retail but have unreasonable expectations in return. You can never get two weekend days off in a row, getting a schedule change is nearly impossible, getting your schedule on time was nearly impossible, the managers were simply the biggest butt kissers, they don't care about their employees. They are constantly getting sued for labor violations. I was there for many many years, and I can't remember ever seeing a single person getting a 10-minute break. Their alleged benefits are horrible. My wife and I got a much better deal from a private insurance broker. New employees would come up to me crying, asking why this job wasn't what it says it was, and are they not understanding something. when I first got there, I thought I had landed my dream job, but within a month it was apparent that I was gravely mistaken. It got worse year by year. I can't imagine what people who work there right now are dealing with. Avoid at all costs!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management would never listen to an employee, so why bother?

    The Container Store2019-07-13
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Too Much Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Container Store full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salary and Work Life Balance

    Cons

    Management and Kiss Butt Environment

    The Container Store2019-06-18
Found 929 reviews