The Custom Companies Reviews | Glassdoor

The Custom Companies Reviews

Updated September 17, 2018
10 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
CEO
0 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunities Exist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Custom Companies full-time

    Pros

    To be in business for as long as the Company has in a highly competitive industry is a testament in and of itself. Are we perfect--no--because no one is AND we strive for continuous improvement. Just over the past year initiatives have begun to increase communication and better respond to the needs and concerns of employees. The Company tries to be inclusive rather than dismissive. There are opportunities for professional growth; there is a caring of employees by managers-- for both personal and professional needs. The Company works hard at being consistent in its application of policy. The "Open Door" policy truly allows people at every level to always be heard.

    Cons

    Nothing that stands out but recognize that there is always room for improvement. Perhaps turn off the phones during meetings!!

    Advice to Management

    Just keep a forward progress of improvement!


  2. "Just saying thank you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent Services in Northlake, IL
    Current Employee - Agent Services in Northlake, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Custom Companies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I've only worked at the company for a couple of years but I felt compelled to share a story about my experience. At Christmas time the Owner asked for stories of people in need that his charity could assist. I have a neighbor this is a single mom that is battling illness. She didn't have the money for gifts for her children so I wrote an email to the Owner. His charity delivered Christmas gifts for both children and the mother...as well as provide a beautiful holiday meal. The mother was in tears when the delivery truck came. She credits me but the Owner at my work was the one that made this happen.

    Cons

    They are good people to work for. The only ones that don't like it are the ones who don't like to work at all.

    The Custom Companies Response

    Aug 18, 2018 – Vice President of HR

    Thank you for your comments. Custom Charities is a big part of our culture and the Owners generosity can be seen throughout the years! We are proud to be involved with so many causes and are able... More

  3. "Great for Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Northlake, IL
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Northlake, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Custom Companies full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Fast paced industry. If you are committed and work hard you get rewarded. Management truly cares.

    Cons

    The industry is very competitive

    The Custom Companies Response

    Jul 27, 2018 – Vice President of HR

    Thank you for your review. We do care about our employees and strive for excellence in all that we do!


  4. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Custom Companies full-time

    Pros

    It's a job. You get a 1 hour lunch and you learn about the trucking industry.

    Cons

    Benefits and no raise are discussed. Terrible upper management.

    The Custom Companies Response

    Jul 8, 2018 – Vice President of HR

    Thank you for the review. We wish you went into more detail so your concerns could be answered. As you know we have an open door policy so if you want to discuss your issues further please come to... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Wouldn't recommend working for this employer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northlake, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northlake, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Custom Companies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone was very nice to work with, except upper management.

    Cons

    Pay was pour unless you were in Sales.

    The Custom Companies Response

    Apr 30, 2018 – Vice President of HR

    We appreciate all comments--positive and even negative. We take them to heart and continually try to improve our employee experience. While we can't answer your specific concern please know that... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Northlake, IL
    Former Employee - Sales in Northlake, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Custom Companies full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Entertainment, lots of service offerings

    Cons

    Very unprofessional, owner puts down employees in front of peers.

    The Custom Companies Response

    Apr 30, 2018 – Vice President of HR

    Thank you for your comments. Our sales team not only continues to grow, but enjoys a low turnover rate and high longevity that rivals most companies in every industry. We are this way because of... More


  7. "Pros & Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Tough industry but the company has some advantages they can sell. Strong financials and in a growth mode. The have a really strong commission plan.

    Cons

    Lots of competition in the industry and high-pressure. Some people just can't cut it in the service industry. The harder you work the more you make.

    The Custom Companies Response

    Sep 25, 2017 – Vice President of HR

    Thank you for your comments. We are always striving to provide world-class experiences for our employees.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "It's a regime run by two people that love money more than people. The turnover due to management is alarming."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northlake, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northlake, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Custom Companies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexibility, company perks I.e. Sporting events and other activities. Pay is on par with the industry. There are no other pros that are worth mentioning.

    Cons

    Fear of losing your job at all times, the worst internal communication of a company I've ever seen. Management is against you at all times. Fear and intimidation are the rulers here and anyone that falters will be let go.

    Advice to Management

    Change the interior and the exterior will shine.

    The Custom Companies Response

    Apr 30, 2018 – Vice President of HR

    Thank you for your comment. It is unfortunate you seemed to have such a bad experience. Not knowing what department you were in and how long you were at the company it is difficult to address... More


  9. "Overall not a bad place to work at I just wish the salary was a little bit higher up to standards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Truck Driver in Covina, CA
    Current Employee - City Truck Driver in Covina, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good staff to work with
    Off on the weekend
    Off on holidays
    Morning Work
    Not much else to say about this company really

    Cons

    Overtime after 50 hours
    Very expensive to get benefits
    Old or broken equipment
    Most of the time the mechanics don't have the parts to fix the trucks and you must wait forever to get it fixed

    Advice to Management

    Provide new equipments

    The Custom Companies Response

    Apr 30, 2018 – Vice President of HR

    Thank you for your comments. We continue to try and provide our employees with the best benefits and equipment we can.

    Thank you for your hard work---we appreciate it!


  10. "A Solid Transportation Provider With Multiple Service Offerrings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northlake, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northlake, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Custom Companies full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    If you are in Sales you can offer your clients multiple service offerings and secure new business. From LTL, Air Freight, Warehousing, TL, Direct Contract Carrier and Temp Controlled your clients are covered.

    Cons

    I have to day that my experience there was very transparent and I really couldn't find anything that I consider to be negative.

    Advice to Management

    Increase your carrier base to improve coverage and buying power to provide more competitive rates to the clients and grow the existing and new business.

    The Custom Companies Response

    Apr 30, 2018 – Vice President of HR

    Thank you for the comments and your time with us!