KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

The Daily Meal

Is this your company?

The Daily Meal

Add a Review

The Daily Meal Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 18 reviews

1.8
6%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Good Company

    Mar 26, 2019 - Journalist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good teams, great food, good people, entertainment

    Cons

    Bad leadership, bad ceo, salary low, dirty office

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    It was okay

    Oct 15, 2021 - Photo Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent work life balance and flexible work from Home policy

    Cons

    There wasn’t any room for growth and the salary was terrible

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Grind

    Mar 24, 2021 - Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunity to gain experience and clips

    Cons

    CEO was literally a horrible human being

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place to Learn

    Feb 12, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked at The Daily Meal for more than half a year and have found both the opportunities for growth and ability to find personal reward in your work to be far higher than other places. While it's definitely very busy here, there aren't too many late nights and real time feedback from management abounds, so you know you're getting noticed for what you contribute.

    Cons

    Can be extremely busy sometimes and could use a little more coverage when that happens. Turnover can be high, but that is also attributed to needing a very strong worth ethic to thrive here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Junior intern

    Aug 10, 2015 - Junior Editor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Laid back environment and plenty of opportunity to get to know your colleagues. Individualized feedback everyday, which helped me become a better writing and develop a better understanding of the website's product.

    Cons

    No real training-- I was expected to know what to do on the first day on the Internship with absolutely no guidance. A week into the internship, I had gotten a hang of what the expectations were, but I would have better succeeded if I was given some sort of direction every one in a while.

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Janky, Janky, Janky

    Apr 22, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Daily Meal is in a nice area, Flatiron District has lots of nice shopping and eateries. I met some lifelong friends here, we all bonded together over the stress and misery of working here. We helped keep each other sane. I’ll have hilarious stories about how crazy it was to work here. Free food sometimes, getting invited to dinners, press events, interviewing famous people.

    Cons

    Where to start. The fact that cleanliness is something that varies on a day to day basis is concerning. We don’t live in a third world country, this isn’t a hospital or a homeless shelter so people shouldn’t be pooping on the floor (I wish I was kidding). We should be able to have access to drinking water and toilet paper. TDM doesn’t pay for a consistent cleaning service, so trash cans with food are constantly overflowing which means we have a constant mouse problem. I can only speak for the editorial side of things, but as stated before it is a content sweatshop. Writing multiple stories in one day, only having one copy editor, one photo editor and one graphic designer to do an exponential amount of work. They care more about numbers, getting clicks and making money than the welfare of their employees. The internet is always slow and computers always seem to have technical problems. The back end to build a story takes forever. We aren’t allowed to work from home, the website is filled with ads and does not look aesthetically pleasing. They have one person doing the job of 3. Piling more and more work on you till you mess up and can blame it all on you or until you have a mental breakdown. There’s no real training, management doesn’t know how to train the new hires so they are left to fend for themselves or have someone else teach them. I have seen so many people quit in the time that I have been here. On average 5 people a month quit (approximately 40 people in the company overall, you do the math…aka not good odds) We DO NOT have an HR department. Employees have been screamed at, cursed at, threatened (with no HR dept I guess that’s how they can get away with treating their employees so badly) We are a slave to MSN- whatever they want, we have to give to them.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Worst Job I've Ever Had

    Sep 30, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sometimes there was free food.

    Cons

    Everything else. The place is a sweatshop of young writers forced to produce an impossible amount of content for meager wages and absolutely zero rewards. If that's not bad enough, the company also asks people to post positive reviews on sites like Glassdoor to make it seem like it's better than it really is. Management is clueless. I hear Spanfeller and Andrews, have since departed. Hopefully new management is steering the place in a better direction.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Horrible work environment

    Apr 1, 2017 - Editor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sometimes you're given free food.

    Cons

    CEO Jim Spanfeller is an abusive employer. As others have said, office morale is always low, the workplace is filthy, the pay is between $30-50k below industry standard for each role unless you're in upper management, and they expect employees to crank out pieces at a rate that can only lead to carelessness. If you have any self-worth, avoid this place at all costs.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Terrible work environment

    Feb 27, 2015 - Editor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free food, access to events, networking opportunities, some nice people

    Cons

    Expectations are extremely unreasonable, the workload is about 12 hours a day, the pay is incredibly skimpy (some people working there make 28k, many make 30k), the benefits aren't great, you're not allowed to work from home and are expected to work Christmas Eve, you're expected to spend your sick days pumping out stories, management is unhelpful, lazy, and gives zero direction.

    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Lots of turnover

    Sep 25, 2015 - Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting category, lots of content and potential for growth. Writers and staff work very hard to put out a good product.

    Cons

    So much turnover in all departments it's disruptive to getting things done. No training whatsoever. Micromanagement-lots of it. Not receptive to feedback. Low salaries. High stress work environment.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Work at The Daily Meal? Share Your Experiences

The Daily Meal logo
or