The Doctors Company Reviews | Glassdoor

The Doctors Company Reviews

Updated December 23, 2017
52 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Dr, Richard E. Anderson
32 Ratings

52 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Fantastic!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Doctors Company full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is so welcoming! Easy on-boarding process. They had everything taken care of and made it a seamless process. Benefits are incredible! The entire facility is just gorgeous. I have yet to come in contact with someone who is not friendly and welcoming.

    Cons

    None. I have love coming to work every day. My team is fantastic

    Advice to Management

    Continue having wonderful and effecting teams in place!

    The Doctors Company Response

    Dec 13, 2017 – HR Generalist

    Thank you for sharing your experience with The Doctors Company. We value your opinion!


  2. "Hard to move up the ladder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Doctors Company full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, 401K match, personal days, and medical

    Cons

    Very little promotion from within. Pay kids out of school more than long term loyal employees

    Advice to Management

    Reward your loyal employees.

    The Doctors Company Response

    Jan 4, 2018 – HR Generalist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us this feedback. We are working to ensure these concerns are addressed in the future.

  3. "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims in Napa, CA
    Former Employee - Claims in Napa, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Doctors Company full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits. Nothing better but oop going up rapidly.

    Cons

    Shrinking industry as individual physician policies are going away. Need to change claim count required to lower manageable amount. Replace people who leave.

    Advice to Management

    Utilize employees instead of hiring new employees. Too many RIFs annually and no concern about seniority of people being RIFed or offered other open positions.

    The Doctors Company Response

    Dec 13, 2017 – HR Generalist

    Your feedback will contribute to our continued improvement. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.


  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at The Doctors Company part-time

    Pros

    Fun, creativity, social skills, organization

    Cons

    long hours, on your feet a lot

    The Doctors Company Response

    Dec 13, 2017 – HR Generalist

    Thank you for sharing your experience with The Doctors Company. We value your opinion!


  5. "Salary anomalies under uncommon business practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Napa, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Napa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Doctors Company full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great co-workers who care th

    Cons

    No clear use of the midpoint salary system adjusted for cost of living in the San Francisco Bay Area.

    Advice to Management

    Require all departments to set salary range widths using Benefits or Insight salary databases. Set the midpoint, lead the market, and lag the market. Adjust for cost of living, and in general requirement all departments to follow the same procedure.

    The Doctors Company Response

    Dec 13, 2017 – HR Generalist

    Your feedback will contribute to our continued improvement. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.


  6. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Napa, CA
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Napa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Doctors Company full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Cheap lunch
    Gym
    Nice drive into Napa

    Cons

    Steer clear of the HR department. Very unprofessional, disorganized, and cliquey. Extremely high turnover due to poor management and team morale. I cannot comment on other departments, but HR is toxic.

    Advice to Management

    Receive the proper qualifications, most of management does not have PHR or SPHR. They are not qualified to do their job and will do whatever it takes to make others look bad. Eventually this dept will crash, best of luck.

    The Doctors Company Response

    Dec 13, 2017 – HR Generalist

    Your feedback will contribute to our continued improvement. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.


  7. "Facilities Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Manager in Napa, CA
    Current Employee - Facilities Manager in Napa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Doctors Company full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The Doctors Company is an excellent company to work for, with strong financials, an excellent benefits package, and they treat their employees well. The headquarters is a beautiful campus, with lovely grounds, a gym, and excellent food served in their cafe. Compensation is adequate, but not leading the market (although I cannot speak for across the board).

    Cons

    The company seems to be a bit "top heavy" in management at times. Although a lot of emphasis is put on improving efficiency, cohesiveness and employee morale, it seems that much of the company is resistant to change. A significant percentage of the staff and senior management team appear to be nearing retirement, and seem less likely to adapt with the times. The company, although attempting to evolve, still seems to cling firmly to the "old insurance company" ways, and the environment often appears less dynamic than perhaps it should be.

    Advice to Management

    I have heard the rhetoric about increasing efficiency and effectiveness, but somehow, the culture has not always appeared to reflect it. I am excited to see what the future holds, but the "buy in" needs to come from the top. This is a great company, but the next few years will be a critical time for the younger generations to step up and offer their insights, and hopefully they will be received.

    The Doctors Company Response

    Dec 13, 2017 – HR Generalist

    Thank you for sharing your experience with The Doctors Company. We value your opinion!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Feel Valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Lansing, MI
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Doctors Company full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Employees and leaders are kind and welcoming. Benefits are amazing! Company focuses on employee growth and education. Culture and values are an integral part of the organization.

    Cons

    None. I highly recommend this company.

    The Doctors Company Response

    Dec 13, 2017 – HR Generalist

    We appreciate your feedback! Please let us know if there is ever any way we can improve your work experience.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "none"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Doctors Company full-time

    Pros

    this is a great company

    Cons

    i don't have anything right now

    The Doctors Company Response

    Dec 13, 2017 – HR Generalist

    We appreciate your feedback! Please let us know if there is ever any way we can improve your work experience.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Long Time Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rather Not Say in Napa, CA
    Current Employee - Rather Not Say in Napa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Doctors Company full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Employees are dedicated to the company

    Cons

    There is no transparency at all.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees.

    The Doctors Company Response

    Dec 13, 2017 – HR Generalist

    We are always looking for ways to grow and improve our employee relations, work environment, and culture. Your feedback is appreciated.


Showing 52 of 54 reviews
Reset Filters