KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

The Dodo

Is this your company?

The Dodo

Add a Review

The Dodo Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 of over 48 reviews

1.8
13%
Recommend to a Friend
11%
Approve of CEO
The Dodo Founder and Chief Executive Officer Izzie Lerer
Izzie Lerer
18 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Incredible Team Of Creative People

    Jul 28, 2021 - Video Producer and Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great potential for upward mobility - We get to work on uplifting content seen by millions - Highly collaborative environment - Management deeply cares about employees’ morale - The job is flexible, in terms of hours and responsibilities

    Cons

    - Creating content for social media comes with certain challenges as it can be volatile and always changing and evolving

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Do not work here

    Aug 23, 2021 - Associate Producer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was able to meet amazing, kind, and hard working video editors that deserved to be treated better. Unionized job.

    Cons

    Upper management never listened to the needs of their over worked video team. There are video managers who, even after many years working at The Dodo, do not know how to use premiere. They do not take constructive feedback themselves as they have a high and mighty attitude and clearly a power complex over their team. They don't know how to work with their team and for that I find the entirety of the managing producers incompetent. The work environment is toxic. There are no people of color in management roles. You work long hours to stay afloat and there is no overtime compensation for it. If you mention that you work after hours to finish output there is clearly no visual concern for this. Working here caused my personal life to be affected by work stress and I went through the worst of the worst because of it. Management continues to write positive reviews to keep their score up on this page. I've known people that were at the company for years and were not promoted. I've known people that had to quit for their mental health without any jobs lined up for them in the near future. If ever you decide to speak out or challenge the work ethic then you will be fired. This has happened.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Not Worth It

    Jul 11, 2021 - Creative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are surprisingly good and there are many smart and kind, hardworking employees.

    Cons

    Elitist. Catty. No room for growth, even if you get a “promotion,” you’ll never get to make a decision on your own without having to get the opinion of everyone above you. Overworked, underpaid, even for “valued” staff. Very click-y and loudest/rudest people always win.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    If you want to work here, get a good therapist first. You'll need it!

    Jun 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    AMAZING coworkers, cool office and fun workplace events. Unionized for a reason, but the union has your back and you get cool perks from the WGA. Good to have on your resume. Office dogs are cute and it's nice to be around other animal lovers. Management and staff are almost exclusively women, so it feels pretty safe to be a femme person here. You'll definitely learn a few things along the way that will help you in your career.

    Cons

    This place messed me up severely. It took months after leaving to regain my confidence in myself and my mental health is still recovering. They will gaslight you into reconsidering your entire career by telling you that long hours, endless turnover, nonstop pressure, and no chance of promotion is normal for digital media. You will not feel valued here unless you are willing to put aside everything else in your life to be a blindly loyal employee. I was so busy every day I had to literally set a timer to remind myself to take even a 1-minute break. Often worked 10 hour days without overtime or even a word of thanks. Managers will approve and reject pitches based on if they like you and what mood they're in. They will reprimand you for showing any sort of hesitance or for admitting when you're struggling. Thinking of taking time off? Think again – playing catchup before and after will be so stressful you won't be able to enjoy your vacation. Those in upper management are purely business-first with no interest in their employees, and their love of animals is questionable at best. Unless you are one of management's favorites, you will not receive any gratitude or promotions when you do well. While the management is mostly women, racist microaggressions were not uncommon.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Would not recommend this job to anyone

    Mar 22, 2021 - Associate Video Producer/Editor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unionized under WGAE, some really smart, kind, awesome colleagues

    Cons

    I would not recommend this company to anyone. The Dodo does not value their employees, they have no interest in helping them grow or learn, they do not listen to their feedback, and will not promote even the most qualified people without being forced by the union. From my first week at The Dodo to my last I stressed about output. I struggled to have honest conversations with my manager and I dreaded logging into work everyday. The toxic environment not only effected my work but also my mental health and relationships outside of the office. Although I was never directly targeted, I had multiple colleagues who were singled out by management, bullied and gaslit. There are always positions open at The Dodo because the turnover rate is so high. The company welcomes in new employees and they quickly burn out with unrealistic expectations and little to no support. If this is your first job out of college you may not know any better but this is not acceptable. If you are considering a job at The Dodo I urge you to first understand how every aspect of your life will most likely suffer because of it.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst job experience I've ever had after 8 years in the field

    Mar 16, 2021 - Video Producer/Editor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dogs in the office, great editors (aside from the few who are buddy, buddy with management) & decent benefits

    Cons

    Upper management/ pod managers are consistently bullying editors. Unrealistic output expectations with remorse/ threats from management. Inexperienced managers who have huge egos, but know little about the production process other than editing UGC. My manager wasn't even an editor and had no clue how to give feedback, and let alone speak to her team like a leader. Toxic, toxic work environment ran by affluent white females who don't like diversity. It felt like being in the Mean Girls high school. Also super long hours with no overtime compensation. Please for your own mental well-being, run.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Garbage company - work here at your own risk

    Jan 21, 2021 - Producer and Editor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Union tries to protect you

    Cons

    Lack of desire from management to improve the toxic working environment. Inexperienced leadership. Monthly goals and objectives are impossible to attain. Little to no career path. Working here comes at the expense of your mental health and peace of mind

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Just bad

    Oct 16, 2020 - Content Producer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cute dogs are all I can think of

    Cons

    I promise you can do better than working here, it is the pits.

    8 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    These reviews don't even capture how bad this place is to work for.

    Aug 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My coworkers, who helped me keep my sanity and mental health in check while working here (which was extremely difficult). Also the office dogs.

    Cons

    Everything else. Extremely toxic. Terrible place to work. Insane expectations. Constant stress and gaslighting. Inexperienced leadership and management. No opportunity for growth. Do not work here. I cannot even express into words to how much I regret working here and the strain it put on my wellbeing.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    I Regret Working At The Dodo

    Jun 1, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Union Staff - Work from home Fridays - Office dogs - Amazing coworkers

    Cons

    I knew from reading these reviews that I might not have the best experience working here, but I never expected things to be as bad as they were. At first I was charmed by the company’s dedication to animal rights and their content guidelines, but soon realized that I would never be able to meet the unrealistic expectations set by my managers. I was told that I could be open with them with my problems, but was repeatedly condescended to, and even punished for bringing up issues with our workflow. They made me feel stupid, small, and worthless. As you can see from the pinned review (everyone knows this is written by management) they believe that since their employees are young, they don’t know how good they have it. But I have had many jobs, with many different managers, and I have never felt as disrespected, used, and depressed as I have when I worked for the Dodo. After a few weeks on the job I realized that everyone at the Dodo is completely miserable. It’s not even a secret. Every single person (management excluded) was actively trying to find another job. A common refrain was “I’ll stick it out for a year, and then I’ll quit.” I knew several people who quit with no job lined up because their managers bullied them. I heard from many people that one of the higher up managers blatantly said they don’t care about turnover. They hire young bright eyed people, work them until they’re burned out, and hope they quit or fire them if they step out of line. The stories I heard of bullying and harassment from managers shocked me to my core. I had no idea people could be so cruel. I walked to work with dread every day, hoping that my managers hadn’t come up with some new way to blame us for not meeting their completely unrealistic output expectations. As for the animal-centric content, I quickly realized that the Dodo doesn’t make content about happy animals living their best lives. My managers weren’t interested in animals unless the animal was injured, disabled, or abused. Instead of feeling like I was creating uplifting content that aligned with my morals, I felt I was essentially making snuff films about animal abuse. I heard from many other people that their managers, in trying to increase eyes on the content, forced them to look for more and more brutal stories of animal abuse. To know that I was getting my paycheck from the stories of these abused animals made me sick to my stomach. I was so, so, incredibly micromanaged, and learned to keep my concerns to myself. I was told that the only way to keep my managers off my back was to “stay positive,” and essentially shut up. My managers believed that we were supposed to be available to work at all times of day, and I often got emails from them at 2 or 3 am or on the weekends asking me to make tedious changes to already-approved videos. That said, the non-management employees were absolutely some of the best people I’ve ever met, and I believe I have made friends for life. The union has their work cut out for them, but they strive to protect editors and producers from management’s constant attempts to ruin their employee’s lives. There were no opportunities for growth. I never once believed that I or any of my coworkers would get a promotion. Nobody I knew ever did, even when they went above and beyond for the company. There’s a great article on Gawker from around 2014-2015 that details some of the ways that the Dodo is broken, from top to bottom. Nothing has changed. I feel like I compromised my morals, and devalued myself as a person by working here. I wouldn't do it again, and I would tell anyone to run far away.

    Continue reading
    27 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 44 Reviews

Popular Careers with The Dodo Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at The Dodo? Share Your Experiences

The Dodo logo
or