KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

The Dodo

Is this your company?

The Dodo

Add a Review

The Dodo Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 of over 48 reviews

1.8
13%
Recommend to a Friend
11%
Approve of CEO
The Dodo Founder and Chief Executive Officer Izzie Lerer
Izzie Lerer
18 Ratings
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Do not work here

    Aug 23, 2021 - Associate Producer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was able to meet amazing, kind, and hard working video editors that deserved to be treated better. Unionized job.

    Cons

    Upper management never listened to the needs of their over worked video team. There are video managers who, even after many years working at The Dodo, do not know how to use premiere. They do not take constructive feedback themselves as they have a high and mighty attitude and clearly a power complex over their team. They don't know how to work with their team and for that I find the entirety of the managing producers incompetent. The work environment is toxic. There are no people of color in management roles. You work long hours to stay afloat and there is no overtime compensation for it. If you mention that you work after hours to finish output there is clearly no visual concern for this. Working here caused my personal life to be affected by work stress and I went through the worst of the worst because of it. Management continues to write positive reviews to keep their score up on this page. I've known people that were at the company for years and were not promoted. I've known people that had to quit for their mental health without any jobs lined up for them in the near future. If ever you decide to speak out or challenge the work ethic then you will be fired. This has happened.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Incredible Team Of Creative People

    Jul 28, 2021 - Video Producer and Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great potential for upward mobility - We get to work on uplifting content seen by millions - Highly collaborative environment - Management deeply cares about employees’ morale - The job is flexible, in terms of hours and responsibilities

    Cons

    - Creating content for social media comes with certain challenges as it can be volatile and always changing and evolving

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Not Worth It

    Jul 11, 2021 - Creative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are surprisingly good and there are many smart and kind, hardworking employees.

    Cons

    Elitist. Catty. No room for growth, even if you get a “promotion,” you’ll never get to make a decision on your own without having to get the opinion of everyone above you. Overworked, underpaid, even for “valued” staff. Very click-y and loudest/rudest people always win.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    If you want to work here, get a good therapist first. You'll need it!

    Jun 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    AMAZING coworkers, cool office and fun workplace events. Unionized for a reason, but the union has your back and you get cool perks from the WGA. Good to have on your resume. Office dogs are cute and it's nice to be around other animal lovers. Management and staff are almost exclusively women, so it feels pretty safe to be a femme person here. You'll definitely learn a few things along the way that will help you in your career.

    Cons

    This place messed me up severely. It took months after leaving to regain my confidence in myself and my mental health is still recovering. They will gaslight you into reconsidering your entire career by telling you that long hours, endless turnover, nonstop pressure, and no chance of promotion is normal for digital media. You will not feel valued here unless you are willing to put aside everything else in your life to be a blindly loyal employee. I was so busy every day I had to literally set a timer to remind myself to take even a 1-minute break. Often worked 10 hour days without overtime or even a word of thanks. Managers will approve and reject pitches based on if they like you and what mood they're in. They will reprimand you for showing any sort of hesitance or for admitting when you're struggling. Thinking of taking time off? Think again – playing catchup before and after will be so stressful you won't be able to enjoy your vacation. Those in upper management are purely business-first with no interest in their employees, and their love of animals is questionable at best. Unless you are one of management's favorites, you will not receive any gratitude or promotions when you do well. While the management is mostly women, racist microaggressions were not uncommon.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Good Company

    May 25, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing team to work with.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think off.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Would not recommend this job to anyone

    Mar 22, 2021 - Associate Video Producer/Editor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unionized under WGAE, some really smart, kind, awesome colleagues

    Cons

    I would not recommend this company to anyone. The Dodo does not value their employees, they have no interest in helping them grow or learn, they do not listen to their feedback, and will not promote even the most qualified people without being forced by the union. From my first week at The Dodo to my last I stressed about output. I struggled to have honest conversations with my manager and I dreaded logging into work everyday. The toxic environment not only effected my work but also my mental health and relationships outside of the office. Although I was never directly targeted, I had multiple colleagues who were singled out by management, bullied and gaslit. There are always positions open at The Dodo because the turnover rate is so high. The company welcomes in new employees and they quickly burn out with unrealistic expectations and little to no support. If this is your first job out of college you may not know any better but this is not acceptable. If you are considering a job at The Dodo I urge you to first understand how every aspect of your life will most likely suffer because of it.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst job experience I've ever had after 8 years in the field

    Mar 16, 2021 - Video Producer/Editor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dogs in the office, great editors (aside from the few who are buddy, buddy with management) & decent benefits

    Cons

    Upper management/ pod managers are consistently bullying editors. Unrealistic output expectations with remorse/ threats from management. Inexperienced managers who have huge egos, but know little about the production process other than editing UGC. My manager wasn't even an editor and had no clue how to give feedback, and let alone speak to her team like a leader. Toxic, toxic work environment ran by affluent white females who don't like diversity. It felt like being in the Mean Girls high school. Also super long hours with no overtime compensation. Please for your own mental well-being, run.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Horrible

    Mar 8, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lovely jewellery and such a beautiful brand

    Cons

    Horrible company and stuck up two faced managers

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Garbage company - work here at your own risk

    Jan 21, 2021 - Producer and Editor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Union tries to protect you

    Cons

    Lack of desire from management to improve the toxic working environment. Inexperienced leadership. Monthly goals and objectives are impossible to attain. Little to no career path. Working here comes at the expense of your mental health and peace of mind

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    good

    Oct 28, 2020 - Inside Sales Representative in Adelaide
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    awesome work culture at job

    Cons

    pressure to achieve daily target

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 44 Reviews

Popular Careers with The Dodo Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at The Dodo? Share Your Experiences

The Dodo logo
or