KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

The Douglas Stewart Company

Is this your company?

The Douglas Stewart Company

Add a Review

The Douglas Stewart Company Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 28 reviews

3.2
30%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
The Douglas Stewart Company CEO Robert Bernier (no image)
Robert Bernier
2 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company to start your career!

    Jan 26, 2020 - Strategic Business Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Learning opportunities are high and it is encouraged - Freedom in task executions, the company is not necessarily set in their ways - Friendly and supportive team / managers - Great work/life balance

    Cons

    - IT systems are not optimal and slightly outdated

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee

    No balance

    Aug 30, 2021 - Sales in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people on the team

    Cons

    Very little work life balance Small player in the distribution world Zero employee perks during COVID No raises Outdated systems

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Would not recommend to a friend

    Jul 8, 2021 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the pros would be a lax dress code as well as beer fridays (getting a beer every other friday)

    Cons

    culture is pretty poor, if you are looking to be stuck in high school with gossip then you would enjoy it forced back into the office after covid not a lot of training and development

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    They think they’re bigger than theyare

    Jul 17, 2021 - Customer Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits were the best thing there.

    Cons

    Management could give two craps about how people are treated.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Interesting culture

    Sep 25, 2020 - Marketing Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - beer Friday’s, popcorn Wednesday - company events - company sale

    Cons

    The entire organization very chaotic at times. There was a lot going on and not enough communication.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    True colors

    May 28, 2020 - Contributor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They've been voted a top places to work for both Madison and the state of Wisconsin. There are some amazing managers at this company and some people who truly care.

    Cons

    The true colors of this company came out when the pandemic hit. One of the three owners cares, and a HR tries, but the two insensitive owners who don't care about their employees at all always seem to get their way. We went two and a half months without any communication, they're forcing everyone back quickly and unsafely, and have handled this whole thing in the poorest way.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    COVID poorly handled

    Jun 11, 2020 - Team Member 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, dog friendly, good location, nice people

    Cons

    They have rushed people back to the office, saying they are taking COVID precautions, but they’ve done nothing of the sort. They are all about the bottom line, but also not willing to spend money to grow the company. Once one person there gets it, we all will have it. Leadership does nothing to try to encourage COVID best practices.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Gave me the time I needed

    Apr 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I received bad news, I was given the time I requested to take care of personal affairs. I am extremely grateful for their understanding and willingness to allow me that time.

    Cons

    Nothing is or ever will be perfect

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Still happy after 10yrs!

    Dec 19, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits such as 401k matching, great medical insurance, and many other fun benefits such as beer Fridays, popcorn Thursdays, ability to bring your dog to work and always celebrating the festivities of each season. Lots of advancement opportunities. They definitely try to promote from within first. Great people and it is not by accident. They try to retain those who are a great fit. I like the monthly town hall meetings. It allows me to see where we are as a team and where we are going. It allows me to see how my job supports the company goals. Each month an employee of the month is chosen. This person is chosen based off of employee feed back.

    Cons

    There are always a few bad apples in the bunch. The work flow is not a continual flow. They have two extremely busy seasons and during that time it can be overwhelming. Challenging technology resources.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Greedy

    Mar 12, 2019 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have stove in the lunch room.

    Cons

    Management, deaf ears, have to be in the click.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Popular Careers with The Douglas Stewart Company Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at The Douglas Stewart Company? Share Your Experiences

The Douglas Stewart Company logo
or