KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

The E.W. Scripps Company

Engaged Employer

The E.W. Scripps Company

Add a Review

The E.W. Scripps Company Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
62%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
The E.W. Scripps Company President and CEO Adam Symson
Adam Symson
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are a lot of great people working for Scripps(in 11 reviews)

  • "good work life balance, good co workers for the most part(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Their Upper management was non-existent(in 11 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is non-existent(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Excellent workplace with corporate employees who truly care

      Oct 28, 2020 - Social Media Producer in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      growth opportunities, health benefits and incentives, training

      Cons

      Digital teams are typically paid less than "news" team. Unfortunately, that's common in most newsrooms.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Mar 25, 2021 - IT OPS Tech II in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very employee centric organization a plus

      Cons

      Not the most competitive compensation for talent

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A Company with Seemingly Good Values That Abruptly Lays People Off and Then Ignores Them

      Mar 25, 2021 - Director, Business Development 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Company Culture, Good work-life Balance

      Cons

      Laid off over 200 people after an acquisition was abruptly approved - Kept people on pins and needles over Christmas Holiday not knowing whose position would be eliminated

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Best Work Family in the Business

      May 11, 2021 - Newscast Director in Palm Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is pretty cool, no pressure.

      Cons

      Some of the old producers are stuck in their ways, stunts creativity, but its about 25 percent bad, 75 good.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company

      May 8, 2021 - TV News Producer in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent benefits and pay. Company is expanding. Lots of opportunities.

      Cons

      Not all good corporate ideas are thought out Corporate often seems too involved in local business May be expanding too fast

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      An ok place to start after college

      May 8, 2021 - Manufacturing Associate in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are few good reasons why it’s a good place to work here. First, your coworkers are like your family. They will teach you everything, more than than your supervisor can ever teach you. Secondly, the right coworkers treat you as family. It is the most special thing about this place is that the right coworkers will always have your back. Thirdly, they’re pretty lenient with taking off of work. As long as you do your job, then you’re ok to take the day off. Lastly, it is a good place to start your career in biotech after you finished college. Let’s be honest, looking for a job after college is cumbersome. I applied for more than 50 companies and only 3 companies reached out; two of which are contract jobs. This company took a chance on me and basically catapulted my career in biotech.

      Cons

      Fair warning to the readers, I am not discouraging you to not work here. These are solely based on my experience and I can say, other people’s experience. Firstly, the pay was really low. I was getting paid $19 per hour for an associate position. I had more responsibility compared to someone in the company only after 6 months of working here and they never gave me a raise. I was one of their good ones and they never even negotiated an offer for me to stay when I put in my two weeks notice. Long story short, they never invest on their employees. Most of the people working here are about to retire, and comfortable with the job. Regardless if they’re getting paid more or not. Secondly, the president of the company doesn’t know a thing about running a biotech company. Basically she inherited the place after her dad passed away and originally, they had someone who’s knowledgeable about the industry but she ended up firing the guy and took the responsibility on her shoulders. Safe to say everything went downhill spiral after that. She invests more on making the company “presentable” like new rugs, paintings, solar panels, and facial recognition iPad for the entrance. She forgot to remember the number one rule in business, “invest on your employees.” It’s sad but true. Secondly, the manager has a tendency for favoritism. I won’t say names or anything, but I crossed paths with one of the employees he “likes” and even though that person was the one who made the mistake, I was the one who’s gotten in trouble and written up. The president even stepped in but she only listened to the manager and basically framed me as a bully. Trust me, the person I crossed paths with is the same age as my mom and I was the one who got called out as a bully. Thirdly, you can’t grow in this company. There’s so much to learn in this company but for some reason, the manager hinders you from learning as much because they want you to be stuck here forever. One example is that this company mostly handles column chromatography and AKTA FPLC. I was never taught how to use AKTA here and basically had to learn everything from YOUTUBE and reading the user manual, hence, the reason I have my job now because I learned everything on my own. Lastly, I was stressed emotionally and mentally when I was here. I never wanted to go back to work every morning I wake up. I wanted to quit on my first month even. I don’t think it’s right for me to explain this here but you guys can trust me. If there are other opportunities, go for it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 29, 2021 - Newspaper Producer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team environment, great mentorship, fun environment

      Cons

      Low pay, weird hours, not much room for advancement

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent Place to Work

      Apr 28, 2021 - Digital Content Producer in Lexington-Fayette, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of room for growth

      Cons

      Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, has to go through corporate hoops.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Commission Structure

      May 7, 2021 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Local management was very supportive and encouraging

      Cons

      Commission structure was not good.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Mixed Bag

      May 5, 2021 - Producer in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have mostly a good environment, with some setbacks.

      Cons

      Completely side swiped with a layoff.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 299 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The E.W. Scripps Company Job Seekers

    Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Digital Content Producer, WPIX
    Learn About the Job

    Work at The E.W. Scripps Company? Share Your Experiences

    The E.W. Scripps Company logo
    or