The Florida Times-Union Reviews | Glassdoor

The Florida Times-Union Reviews

Updated October 10, 2017
28 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
CEO
0 Ratings

28 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Very happy to have been provided this opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Florida Times-Union full-time

    Pros

    If nothing else, it's the best networking opportunity there is for someone just out of college. Times Union is plugged into the Jacksonville community. Management is supportive and is willing to provide the tools you need to learn.

    Cons

    If you are unable to stand alone and still be successful in a disorganized environment with a high rate of turnover it probably is not the job for you.

    Advice to Management

    Stop cutting corners and underutilizing your strong employees.


  2. "Do Something Else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in Jacksonville, FL
    Former Employee - Editor in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Florida Times-Union full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Wonderful employees working really hard to serve the community and produce a good products

    Cons

    No support from ownership, too few people doing too much work, poor pay, readers no longer seem to care. It's a leaky raft in a rising sea.

    Advice to Management

    Value you what your human capital.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Inspiring & fun place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Sales Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Current Employee - Digital Sales Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Florida Times-Union full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    They encourage the sales staff with fun incentives and activities. The company also invests time & energy into weekly training focused on digital. You are always surrounded by leaders that are truly invested in the growth and success of the company. They want to see you win and grow in your career. The company also likes to hire from within when promoting people to new roles. Hard work is noticed and rewarded! The management team works tirelessly to make solutions, products & processes better. They truly feel that winning should feel different and focus on the superstars on the sales floor.

    Cons

    The #1 focus in the sales department is revenue and customer growth. Be prepared to be held accountable to your revenue goals and the weekly plan you have to get there. Sounds like sales, but I'm always surprised by how many people are shocked by that. Expect accountability.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to award people that work hard.

    The Florida Times-Union Response

    Jul 13, 2017 – Vice President of Sales and Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear your job in advertising is "inspiring & fun." We value feedback from our employees and... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Media Sales Rep Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media & Advertising Consultant, Classified Real Estate in Jacksonville, FL
    Current Employee - Media & Advertising Consultant, Classified Real Estate in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Florida Times-Union full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    This company does a great job of educating it's reps thoroughly in all the products and services we sell. This gives me the confidence to really understand what I'm selling and I never feel I'm selling "Igloos to Eskimos." Additionally, management does a great job rewarding success with positive encouragement and recognition which adds an additional layer of motivation beyond just financial motivation. It's nice to work towards both.

    Cons

    This certainly only qualifies as a 'con' to some, but the job does take focus, dedication, and personal discipline. I tend to think of that as more as a challenge rather than a 'con'.

    Advice to Management

    Only to continue the special recognition of particularly hard work or a job really well done. I know it goes a long way towards moral not only for me, but also for others.

    The Florida Times-Union Response

    Jul 6, 2017 – Vice President of Sales and Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you're enjoying your experience in advertising at Times-Union Media. If you have any further feedback... More


  5. "Great place to develop a sales career if you are willing to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Florida Times-Union full-time

    Pros

    Sales contests, points for digital dollars cashed into prizes, trips, cash, quarterly spa day, days off and uncapped commission. Lots of training and support to do your job. Great co-workers who care about each other and help you find success.

    Cons

    Old building, but in a great location. Sales is tough and it can be hard at times. Have to stay positive and focused on goals. Turnover can be high if you can't sell. High level of accountability, but it has helped me find success and make money.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to develop sales contests and rewards to encourage hard work from top performers.

    The Florida Times-Union Response

    Jul 6, 2017 – Vice President of Sales and Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you're enjoying the sales perks in advertising at Times-Union Media. If you have any further... More


  6. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Florida Times-Union full-time

    Pros

    Most of the people were a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    Too many to list.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your workers like they count as a human being. Tell the truth. Take responsibility for your own mistakes. Stop blaming others.

    The Florida Times-Union Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Vice President of Sales and Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and would welcome additional suggestions on how we can improve. If you have any further feedback to share, please email... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good people there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jackson, MS
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Florida Times-Union (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    A lot of good people who care about what they do. Good vacation policy.

    Cons

    Same as with many in the newspaper business. Dwindling revenue means cuts.

    The Florida Times-Union Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – Vice President of Sales and Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience here. If you have any further feedback to share, please email us at... More

  8. "Don't do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Jacksonville, FL
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Florida Times-Union full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I don't think there are any pros.

    Cons

    Horrible place. Worst time of my life. Bad bosses. Low pay. Wouldn't let me move up in company need a year. Co-workers were not pleasant. Wouldn't wish this job on my worst enemy. Just saying take the risk if you want to.

    Advice to Management

    Stop worrying so much about the trivial things and look at the big things. Might help you since you have so much turn over.

    The Florida Times-Union Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – Vice President of Sales and Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We'd like to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at myfeedback@jacksonville.com.


  9. "Newsroom shrinking away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    People who are left are positive and work hard under the circumstances of a shrinking industry.

    Cons

    The industry and jobs are quickly shrinking. No raises, lots of downsizing.

    Advice to Management

    Hang on as long as you can


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Keep looking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Being able to come and go. Contests to make extra money. Friendly people and willing to help.

    Cons

    Hard to make money. Favoritism. Negative competition. Old building. Being bought out and down sizing soon. Mold on Mold.

    Advice to Management

    Too many sales reps with negative attitidues that constantly cross each other and contact working clients

    The Florida Times-Union Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – Vice President of Sales and Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback . We'd love to learn about your experience and hear your suggestions on how we can improve. Please email us at myfeedback@jacksonville.com.


Showing 28 of 30 reviews
Reset Filters