The Fresh Market Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,217 of over 2K reviews

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
The Fresh Market CEO Jason Potter
Jason Potter
150 Ratings
Pros
  • "good employee discount during the quarantine(in 181 reviews)

  • "20% discount, 30% during holidays(in 156 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Frequent shifts in upper management(in 121 reviews)

  • "I only worked there for a year and half, but we had at least 4 different store managers(in 103 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of The Fresh Market and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A Good Place to Be

      May 1, 2021 - Cashier in Crystal Lake, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A small, quality market focused on providing superior customer service, products, and cleanliness/safety.

      Cons

      As with many professions, a regular turnover of employees due to many varied life circumstances.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Fresh Market Response

      Store Talent Manager

      We appreciate your honest review and are glad to hear you are happy with The Fresh Market’s culture and environment. We work hard to offer an inclusive and happy work environment for all.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Scan Coordinator

      May 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      TFM does offer a competitive pay. They also give a great discount!

      Cons

      They are constantly cutting actual work hours from employees. They offer full time at 40 hours per week, but usually that is for department managers and favorite employees. They will cut an employee hours down to 30/32 and not care that many of their employees are trying to support themselves or families on their wage. An 8/10 hour per week cut in hours can really hurt someone who needs every penny they can earn. There is absolutely no consistency in following the rules. Some people are allowed to arrive late, leave early, refuse to do certain jobs, not complete assignments and suffer no disciplinary repercussions while others will get written up for being out of uniform. Company is not featured to post the following weeks schedule until the Thursday before the next work week. Plus it is only posted for one week at a time. This makes scheduling family outings and things for an employee difficult. This company's employees would benefit from becoming unionized! The ability to advance is only available to employees if the store manager likes you. There is no seniority or interview process for changing job positions or advancing.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      The Fresh Market Response

      Store Talent Manager

      Thank you for writing your review. As an organization we strive to invest in, develop and recognize excellence in our team as best we can. Our employees are very valuable to us, and we're always looking to make improvements as a company and as an employer.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Awful

      Jun 3, 2021 - Assistant Front End Manager in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Provided a somewhat flexible schedule at times but had to fight for it.

      Cons

      Literally not a single good thing about this employer. The employees were all on drugs, one worker fell down the break room stairs he was so high, another threw a cookie sheet at an employee she was mad at. Management plays favorites with extended family they’ve hired. If you work hard you end up doing everyone’s job. No one cares, no one does their job and trying to manage anyone is a nightmare. They also make you regularly work in other departments you have never been trained to do when employees call in sick and just don’t show up. Literally the worst job I have ever had. Anywhere is better.

      3 people found this review helpful

      The Fresh Market Response

      Store Talent Manager

      Thank you for leaving an honest review of The Fresh Market’s management. We are sorry to hear about your experience. If you would be interested in providing us with more information related to your concern, please call The Fresh Market’s employee help line at 833-TFM-4363 to provide a description of your experience. We would like an opportunity to understand your concerns and be of further assistance.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Disorganised

      May 14, 2021 - Cashier in Columbia, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free coffee, nice products, high class customers.

      Cons

      Training is chaotic, you don't train with the front end manager, you get pawned off to random cashiers, which is not smart/efficient. Schedule goes up only 1 week in advance at the last minute, so if you are off that day you have to keep calling to find out when you're supposed to be there. Short breaks. Bad communication skills. Felt like I was just a number and not valued. Managers seemed inauthentic or on ego trips. Nice to you during orientation but acted like you didn't exist once you were on the clock.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      The Fresh Market Response

      Store Talent Manager

      We are sorry to hear about your experience with your training as a The Fresh Market employee. We encourage all employees to discuss these situations with your Store Manager and HR. Our employees' training and development are important to us!

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst job I've had

      Jun 17, 2021 - Bakery Clerk 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule for the most part Hired fast Store discount right away

      Cons

      They overwork you Felt some discrimination towards coworkers who struggled to speak English Rude people

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company

      Jun 16, 2021 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co workers, Great opportunity Great food

      Cons

      Can be more competitive as far as salary

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      The Fresh Market

      Jun 17, 2021 - Telecommunications in Gainesville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and overall attitude.

      Cons

      There are not employees in the store.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It's a basic job good for students

      May 10, 2021 - Front End Cashier in Johnson City, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Small store, pretty flexible scheduling 8-4, 10-6, and 1-9 main shifts with 4-9 and 2-7 scheduled if needed, friendly coworkers, possibility to promote to other departments

      Cons

      Schedule given thursdays for next week (most of the time), not enough people scheduled often, no scheduled baggers, no floor mats at all registers, too many items required on the register, interview questions too in depth for position, training is lacking, it's hard to call out sick, and different expectations for employees in the same position

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Fresh Market Response

      Recruiting Coordinator

      Thank you for writing your review. Our employees are very valuable to us, and we're always looking to make improvements as a company and as an employer.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Part time cashier

      Jun 12, 2021 - Cashier in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good discount, kind employees, good hours

      Cons

      old point of sale system, lots of waste

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Fresh Market Response

      Store Talent Manager

      We appreciate your honest review and are glad to hear you are happy with The Fresh Market’s culture and environment. We work hard to offer an inclusive and happy work environment for all.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Hostile Work environment. Bullying and Dysfunction

      Apr 27, 2021 - Department Manager in Ridgeland, MS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm alive after more than a decade of dysfunction and abuse

      Cons

      I watched people dedicate their lives loyally to this company.Decades of Abuse and Dysfunction..They died from Stress..Heart attack's and Strokes..Some tried to hang on..They developed stress related disease.High blood pressure, Diabetes, Gout, Depression, Anxiety and PTSD

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      The Fresh Market Response

      Store Talent Manager

      Thank you for leaving an honest review of The Fresh Market’s management. We are sorry to hear about your experience. If you would be interested in providing us with more information related to your concern, please call The Fresh Market’s employee help line at 833-TFM-4363 to provide a description of your experience. We would like an opportunity to understand your concerns and be of further assistance.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,217 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Fresh Market Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at The Fresh Market? Share Your Experiences

    or