KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

The Fresh Market

Is this your company?

The Fresh Market

Add a Review

The Fresh Market Employee Reviews about "store managers"

Updated Dec 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 of over 2,348 reviews

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
The Fresh Market CEO Jason Potter
Jason Potter
200 Ratings
Pros
  • "good employee discount during the quarantine(in 181 reviews)

  • "20% discount, 30% during holidays(in 156 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Frequent shifts in upper management(in 121 reviews)

  • "I only worked there for a year and half, but we had at least 4 different store managers(in 103 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of The Fresh Market and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "store managers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Wonderful Working Experience

      Jul 29, 2015 - Cashier in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working environment Minimal work issues Great people Great Hours Helpful supervisors

      Cons

      Rate of pay Favoritism Store Management sucked

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      They are pathetic

      Dec 10, 2020 - Manager in Metairie, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You most likely will never get fired

      Cons

      This company can't do anything they day they are going to do and I mean ANYTHING. The CEO is a revolving door, the RMOs are picture whores, the payroll department can't pay you correctly. They constantly promise stuff and don't deliver. Performance reviews and raises are non-existent. Their recent company restructuring featured them promoting a bunch of people they shouldn't have and then pretty much gave no one a raise after it was too late to take their old positions back. Store management is a joke, most of them don't know how to do anything you need to know. Vendors do whatever they want because corporate won't hold them to any kind of standard. Deliveries come in messed up all the time, broken pallets, the old "soda on top of chips." No exit strategy for display product that doesn't sell. You are expected to count inventory in a few hours by yourself. Absolutely no hazard pay was offered to anyone. Your constantly asked to take on more work and when you ask for a raise they say they can't do it. I can go on forever about how pathetic these people are. Biggest wasted time in my career. Do not work here. It will drag you down. Take a job anywhere else.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Do not recommend

      Nov 26, 2020 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The discount is nice, I guess?

      Cons

      Not sure this is true of every store, but the one I work at severely lacks in a number of places, namely in management. The managers are nonplussed at best when it comes to dealing with important issues like discrimination and hate filled rhetoric from fellow coworkers. Even when I and a few others have brought up the issues to the store manager, and expressed that we do not feel safe at work with certain people, he does nothing about it. If you are a member of the lgbtq+ community? Expect discrimination, including deadnaming of trans people. A member of the alternative community? Expect discrimination based on your looks. Disabled? Yep, discrimination. The company offers training to try and prevent this, but store management won't enforce it or care. Need a certain schedule for schooling (be it college or homeschooling your child)? Expect push back and your request to be ignored. Plus there is a severe lack of enforcing covid-19 guidelines, like wearing masks properly or at all in the backrooms of the store. Even being made fun of for wearing your mask all the time and washing your hands regularly.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      driven as far as we can go

      Jun 17, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      it used to be a rewarding place to work

      Cons

      upper management can be a mix of good and bad, but the store management is terrible. They don't know what they're talking about and get mad at a worker for not having their mask over their nose meanwhile they themselves had no mask on at all, they get in the face of employees, eat everythign in the store, puts their hands on the employees even when they tell them to stop, tell workers to change date on cookies and other items in the store as well as overproduce them, hours were cut so bad that we had produce in the back warehouse for two hours before the next person came in to get it off the back pallet. all workers are usually in tears or wanting to quit, yelling, getting yelled at, and overall being miserable everyday. driven as far as they can go and told they can only have 17 hours in a week when they were scheduled for 29. people are upset, stressed, or in tears everyday. almost nobody is happy anymore. barely enough workers at any time in any department on the clock.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      The Fresh Market Response

      Recruiting Coordinator

      Thank you for your review, as we take these reviews and your feedback very seriously. We try to provide our employees with a comfortable and productive atmosphere where no one feels they are treated unfairly. Please call The Fresh Market’s employee help line at 833-TFM-4363 to provide details about your experience, as we would like to be of further assistance.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Do Not Work Here

      Apr 25, 2020 - Floral Specialist in Guilford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice coworkers sometimes , employee discounts are nice

      Cons

      Worked with this company for 4 years and during the recent pandemic, did not work due to health reasons with a doctors note. Manager called and said my job was no longer available and if I would like to continue to work there, I could apply for another job and he could try to get me in. Management is terrible. All of your business you think is confidential is spewed around to everyone. Most of the managers have poor attitudes and walk all over you. Nothing is ever enough for them or the company. The employees are blamed for issues like store numbers when it should be held to the store managers. Favorite employees are treated better than others. I was let go Even with a doctors note and my position was never put up on the career board and simply passed to a favorite employee who wanted to work on my department. Do not waste your time with this company.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      The Fresh Market Response

      Director of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your review as we take these reviews and your feedback very seriously. We try to provide our employees with a comfortable and productive atmosphere where no one feels they are treated unfairly - especially during this time dealing with COVID-19. Leadership has taken many steps to ensure the safety of our employees and customers and have been commended for being ahead of the curve in terms of safety measures. We would like to address your concerns, so please don't hesitate to reach out to our team member help line: 833-TFM-4363.

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Worst Job I've Ever Had

      Dec 18, 2020 - Receiving Specialist in Carmel, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only pro there was was seeing others you work with suffering with you. You weren't alone.

      Cons

      Management knew nothing of what anything anyone did in any department. The benefits were the worst I've seen in almost 20 years. Thankless and unappreciated is a very good source of words to describe your days end after any day of working at this company. Politics and favoritism is at an all time high there. If you have been working for the company for awhile. Expect to never move up, when there's a friend they can hire thats knows nothing of the company to be put in the position you want. I was made one time to work with a gas leak from the boiler room. Managers have taken me and blocked me in coolers and threatened me. You can be stripped of your position for no reason at all. I had literally been told my family is second to the job. HR is non existent. As well as corporate. There is an open door policy where you can bring your concerns, but of course there is a catch to that to. It gets told to the General Manager where after they ate told they can figure out who did it and then retaliation happens. Walking into this job is should draining. Worse than Walmart if you ask me. This job also works on skeleton crews while Store Managers sit in the office all day. There is no deciphering what you are told is a lie or truth. I hope this place closes forever. No one deserves to walk through gates of hades named The Fresh Market. Customers also know of all of this. They are the only people you can vent to outside of family.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      The Fresh Market Response

      Recruiting Coordinator

      Thank you for leaving an honest review of The Fresh Market’s management. One of The Fresh Market’s core values is teamwork. We work together as one team – sharing a common vision, celebrating our successes together and recognizing each team member is important. We apologize you did not have the same experience and would like to further research your situation.

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent Job, High Management Turnover

      Aug 20, 2020 - Meat Clerk 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed working in the meat department. They were very flexible and accommodating of my schedule.

      Cons

      High management turnover. I only worked there for a year and half, but we had at least 4 different store managers.

      1 person found this review helpful

      The Fresh Market Response

      Recruiting Coordinator

      We are glad to see you enjoyed your time with us & thank you for your review.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Look elsewhere

      Oct 28, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Asheville, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the coworkers are really great. 20-30% employee discount

      Cons

      Insurance prices continue to increase while coverage decreases. Continue to cut hours and work with a skeleton crew. Starting pay is way down and raise are becoming less frequent and smaller. Company went from an hour paid lunch, to an hour unpaid lunch, to a 30 minute unpaid lunch. Often so busy, due to lack of staff, that even bathroom breaks aren’t given so 30 minutes is a joke. The quality of the food continues to decrease while prices remain the same or increase. The corporate offices aren’t dependable. When you would call you would automatically get a answering machine and a message that says you would get a response in 5 days. If you had an emergency you better hope you know someone’s personal number at corporate or you’re on your own. Training has gone from 5 days, to 3 days, to 1 day. So often the staff is undertrained and don’t know who to do their jobs so therefore aren’t doing their jobs. There is very little opportunity for advancement now as many store managers and upper management are hired from outside the company so they can be paid less.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      dont

      Aug 27, 2020 - Team Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      the work isnt hard at all and some of the people (coworkers and customers) are really nice

      Cons

      the regional manager (i've been through several, they're all the same) is a bully. the store managers (also several) are usually incompetent and don't last long. it does not matter how hard you work or how liked you are by customers someone higher up will find fault with something you've done/not done. the company as a whole is just a toxic cesspool. PLEASE AVOID ps i gave the overall rating 1 star only because it wouldn't let me not click any

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      The Fresh Market Response

      Recruiting Coordinator

      Thank you for leaving an honest review of The Fresh Market’s management. We are sorry to hear about your experience. If you would be interested in providing us with more information related to your concern, please call The Fresh Market’s employee help line at 833-TFM-4363 to provide a description of your experience. We would like an opportunity to understand your concerns and be of further assistance.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Absolutely the worst place to work

      Nov 10, 2019 - Store Manager in Toledo, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary was decent but not at all worth the disrespectful treatment .

      Cons

      Upper management chances direction. They obviously do not communicate to each other so you know the concrete guideline of expectations. Never been talked to in such a disrespectful manner. They don’t care about work/life balance in any aspect. Upper managers promoted arent well versed enough in appropriate conduct to be in leadership roles. Cussing and inappropriate behavior : also their retail comprehend is at such a small volume of operation you can not communicate on an intellectual level with them. Company has closed many stores and still closing more . Took away all associate raises and their Christmas bonus They waste expense money on things that don’t matter rather than taking care of their associates. I have never seen a worse run organization and it generally is because of their intense micromanagement . The training for assistant and store managers is absolutely pathetic and their systems are so outdated it’s like you have gone back in time 30years. I wish I had listened and believed the reviews before I left my previous job to come here. Biggest mistake of my career .

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 103 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Fresh Market Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at The Fresh Market? Share Your Experiences

    or