KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

The GEO Group

Is this your company?

The GEO Group

Add a Review

The GEO Group Employee Reviews about "correctional"

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 614 reviews

2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
The GEO Group Chairman and CEO George C. Zoley
George C. Zoley
275 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, innovative company, really appreciated(in 30 reviews)

  • "Very diversified, has good benefits and care about its employees(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "low pay, no overtime, not personal(in 25 reviews)

  • "Not everyone can work in correctional settings(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of The GEO Group and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "correctional"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      great place to work

      Sep 19, 2019 - Business Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Geo really cares for their employees.

      Cons

      This type of employment is not for every individual. Not everyone can work in correctional settings.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Run as fast as your limbs can take you!

      Aug 1, 2019 - Substance Abuse Counselor I in East Saint Louis, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None, absolutely no pros!! This company is disgusting, unprofessional and unethical.

      Cons

      This company will throw you under the bus at moments notice. I worked at the East St Louis facility and the craziness at this facility was beyond wild. The corrections officers were ALLOWED to trick the counselors into inappropriate relationships, use them then throw them out like hot garbage, the Geo group is quite aware of the situation but instead of doing anything about it they turn on the counselors and walk them out as soon as they are aware of the business !! The corrections officers are allowed to keep their jobs, the warden was as must as a snake as all of them. The management for this poorly run company is a joke, they never get their hands dirty they just go around disturbing things and get paid to walk around all day. They are understaffed because no one in their right mind would work for a company that will overwhelmed, overwork and severely under pay you. Management are all bullies who get their rocks off by pushing you over the edge and when you finally snap they fire you ! The union is a complete joke, they take your money but don't represent you in any way, they just do a lot of talking with promises they don't keep not surprising since the union is ran by the corrections staff. I can go on and on but I've got better things to do with my time. Heed the warning and go elsewhere.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Place to start your career

      Aug 2, 2019 - Correction Technician in Clayton, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing to write home to mama about

      Cons

      Good place to jump start your career in corrections.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Works until you find something else.

      Jan 23, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and a paycheck if you get them like you're supposed to.

      Cons

      GEO took over my facility and while I wanted to give them a chance, it's depressing how badly a billion dollar company like this can run. From the get go there have been (and still are) problems with receiving benefits and complete paychecks. Got screwed on your PTO? It's not our fault, it's so-and-so, and no you can't have that day off without PTO. Only received $300 instead of your full check? It's not our fault, and no we can't give you an advance so you can pay your bills. Supervisors like to spew about policy, write you up for minor issues, and then do whatever as long as it's convenient/beneficial for them. Too many games/cliques/politics. New duties are constantly added despite not being allowed overtime and not enough hours or employees to complete, but if you protest it's your fault you can't handle it and you need to manage your time better. No raises and if you move departments, you lose your current pay which is a first for me. In my years in corrections, I have never felt as unsafe and disregarded as I have under GEO. Inmates are behaving worse than ever because they know they'll get away with it. Promises to inmates left and right, and when they're broken they leave floor staff to deal with the fallout. Management does not have your back, period.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Worst Employer I Ever Had

      Nov 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Lawton, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work isn't physically strenuous. Promotions within the company are fairly easy to obtain. There's plenty of facilities in the United States, so you can usually transfer if you are moving to a new location.

      Cons

      This company is extremely corrupt. Some employees and managers lie about other employees just to get them in trouble. Most people who work here yell and use profanity when addressing one another. There is rampant gossip. These people take pleasure in listening to, and spreading rumors about one another. The entire staff, from the warden to the correctional officers are mostly all extremely underdeveloped emotionally and socially, based on the hateful way they take pleasure in causing trouble for their coworkers. They have a high turnover, but it's because they fire people a lot. The biggest problem with this work environment is that management is very weak. Most of management has limited experience in managing any other employees at all. They tear down employees by yelling, using profanity, and lying because they have no management skills at all.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      What planet am I working on?

      May 8, 2018 - Correctional Officer in Florence, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There’s so much overtime that if u like $, this is the job for u. Up to 21 hours of mandatory overtime weekly. I’m not a fan of being forced but u agree to it in the beginning so like it or not....

      Cons

      I’m currently employed but leaving soon and I’ve moved past the alarmed and disgruntled stage into the “give me a break stage.” Morale is the worst I have ever seen in any company I’ve worked with, employees from management gossip and talk about others (in hurtful way. very much like high school, r u popular or not?) Definitely not my goal in the workforce but it takes a certain type of person to work in Corrections and if u can’t handle the daily drama and poor and uninformed management team (mostly 20 somethings) - steer clear of Geo. I’ve never seen or talked to so many coworkers EVER who are leaving or have already quit. Management can’t cover the posts because of it and it’s daily chaos and anger.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      GEO Correctional Officer

      Jul 19, 2013 - Correctional Officer in New Castle, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job security, can move up in the company and challenging. Great learning experience for those wanting to work in law enforcement. Great work schedule.

      Cons

      Large turn over. Mandatory overtime. More political as you move up. They tend to hire anyone who needs a job whether or not they are correctional officer material.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Horrible Company to Work For!

      Mar 1, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My old Boss was awesome!!!!! that's all the pro's I can give

      Cons

      Pay is low, over worked, too many chiefs throughout the company and not enough Indians, Geotrack system is horrible and not user friendly, constant network issues and gaining access, Too many programs merged into one but not centralized (BI, GEO, CEC, ABRAXS), only cares about the contract and money and not about the clients, Upper management are former corrections, parole, probation higher ups who have a different viewpoint on the population we serve compared to someone who a background in social work/counseling/helping profession, they do not provide supervision if you have a state license, benefits are expensive and are not really good, not enough time off, some holidays are not observed so its hard especially when you have children who will be off from school, no staff incentives, no bonus's at all to any of the employees while the CEO makes 3 Mil a year

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Room for advancement

      Aug 20, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay for health services

      Cons

      Working in the correctional environment can be stressful at times

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Poorly run, dangerous and terrible work climate.

      Jul 3, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Aurora, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Varied and quite interesting population. Terrific co-workers. Brand-new building with plenty of space. Somewhat flexible in terms of scheduling my work hours.

      Cons

      Rampant greed, stupidity, short-sightedness and cronyism in the administration. Not enough parking, dangerous lack of ice and snow removal during winter months. Lack of training. Lack of understanding of good correctional practice and professional behavior on the part of the higher-ups.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The GEO Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at The GEO Group? Share Your Experiences

    or