KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

The Garland Company

Engaged Employer

The Garland Company

Add a Review

The Garland Company Cleveland Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 71 reviews

3.5
53%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
The Garland Company President David Sokol (no image)
David Sokol
14 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great work place

    Mar 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Garland supports my career, my opinions, my individuality, my goals, and my lifestyle. I feel challenged by my tasks, supported and appreciated.

    Cons

    It is hard work and if you are not driven and dedicated, it might be a struggle for you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    No Flexibility..... Not attractive to the younger generation.

    Jun 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Offers Free Health Care and gives back to the community

    Cons

    No Flexibility Own a building in a more desirable location but still requires the corporate employees to travel to a undesirable area of the city. Offices often smell of asphalt and propane with sub-par ventilation. No true position or salary growth strictly "ESOP" mentality. No 401k Match even during 6 year ESOP vesting period. Sub-Par Vacation Time/PTO

    3 people found this review helpful

    The Garland Company Response

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Every one of our employees is vital to our success and it is very important to us that our employees feel valued and heard. We truly believe that our benefits package is second to none and would welcome the opportunity to talk with you specifically about our benefits. Please reach out to your team leader or a member of our HR team to better understand your situation and identify areas for improvement.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Strength and Support in the Midst of a Crisis

    Apr 6, 2020 - Marketing in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am writing this in the midst of the Covid-19 crisis sweeping the Globe. I have worked at the Garland Company for almost a decade, in various rolls and in different locations. This Company and the leadership of its CEO and Board of Directors have exemplified everything you would hope to see from a Company facing this pandemic. Their communication has been a message of constant support of its employees and their families. They have invested in tools and infrastructure to provide remote working opportunities, encouraging the sharing responsibilities among departments and offering cross-training to keep all of us employed. They have now turned their manufacturing and R&D efforts towards their Customer’s new and unexpected needs during this crisis; offering new and welcomed opportunity for all of us here. This Company and its employees are truly the greatest example of what people can do when they work together as Employee Owners who put the Customer first! Garland offers an amazing opportunity from outside sales to internal departments. I would recommend anyone who has the opportunity to be a part of this Team to do so, as you will find no greater environment to innovate, grow and succeed personally and professionally. I couldn’t be prouder to be a part of such a Company, and to call Garland my home.

    Cons

    I have no Con to mention.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Dont Work Here

    May 24, 2021 - Project Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ESOP after 6 years (1 waiting year, 5 years vesting at 20% per year)

    Cons

    You are a modern day slave to the sales team. You are not valued. They will under pay you. You are in constant fear of getting attacked in their parking lot by some crack head. You you have no ambition in life this is a great place for you!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    The Garland Company Response

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our team is at the core of our business and the safety of our employees is of utmost importance which is why we provide 24/7 on-site security at our Cleveland campus. Supporting our team members who want to grow their careers at Garland is critically important to us and we want to make sure each employee feels valued. We would encourage you to reach out to your team leader or a member of our HR team to better understand your situation and identify areas for improvement.

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good place to be, but not if you want a career path

    Jan 13, 2021 - Office in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, family atmosphere, esop, benefits.

    Cons

    Favortism is definitely an issue across departments. Its claimed that you would have endless opportunities but it's definitely not the case. No real promotion system. You can work your butt off but still be in the same place years later. Definitely makes certain positions feel less valuable than others.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    One of the Best Cleveland, OH Companies for a Reason

    Nov 1, 2019 - Finance in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Leadership runs this growing company like a small business. The executives know their employees and I feel as though they truly care. - Merit based work environment - if you work hard and accomplish your goals, you will be rewarded and accepted by your peers. - Fun work environment. Many corporate run events to keep things fun and create an atmosphere for you to get to know your co-workers. - Employee Owned. This creates a healthy culture where everyone cares about doing their jobs well, because a job well done benefits all. The ESOP shares you get are gravy on top of your base salary. - Free Healthcare for full time employees with a leading healthcare provider. No healthcare premiums here, only have to worry about co-payments and deductibles. - Consistent and healthy growth creates new opportunities every day. - Garland gives back to the community and the employee owners. It feels good to be a part of that.

    Cons

    - The fast paced work environment can be stressful and is not for everyone. You will to be treated fairly, but there are high expectations. Management was very clear about this from the get go. - Growth creates new opportunities, but also creates challenges for corporate employees. Expect to be placed in situations where your problem solving skills will be tested. - Lot's of paper

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    HardWork, Fun, Rewarding

    Mar 28, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have had an opportunity to work for a handful of different companies, ranging in size, before landing here. I feel very fortunate to be here as this is a great fit for me and for what I was missing previously. Everyone has an opportunity and a responsibility to contribute at the very top end of their potential. Because of the employee-owned culture, we are all very driven to perform for each other. That is definitely a different feel all-around than most other companies to which I've been exposed. The success that this company has enjoyed for a very long-time is no doubt a result of that culture. Certainly a very rewarding company for which to work, on several different levels.

    Cons

    The work is demanding and the responsibility is significant. In addition, you are often asked to broaden your responsibilities beyond your area of expertise, as this company runs lean. While I appreciate both of those aspects, I also understand that not everyone would feel the same or approach their career in a similar manner.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    A company unlike any other

    Feb 6, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing support and friendly atmosphere. The culture is it's people... and the people have unmeasurable hearts and dedication. Our turnover rate is low (I don't know where the other person who reviewed got his number). Here's some facts... We have around 40 corporate office employees who have been here 10 or more years, with the longest having worked at the company for over 45 years. The tenure of our manufacturing employees is over 11 years, nearly 7 years longer than the national average of around 4.2 years. Our sales reps stay at Garland on average 10 years, more than 4x longer than the average sales professional. These are NOT made up numbers. We work hard and play hard. The fun activities throughout the year allow for cross department interaction. Our Spirit Week is so much fun and it's fantastic that the company matches the money employees raise every year.

    Cons

    I work a lot. Not because I have management telling me I have to stay or that I'm being forced to. There is just always a lot to do and we are a growing company. We are also a lean company, but for good reasons. Many companies that have too much overhead can't/don't sustain business and end up closing. I would rather be busy and secure in my job than be unsure every day if the company I work for is going to go under. I work a lot because I know the extra time I put in helps my fellow co-workers (including sales reps in this statement) and it all goes full-circle. When we help each other, we are helping the company... we are growing the ESOP. So if you don't like to work, this probably isn't the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Ask lots of questions and do your research

    Jul 8, 2020 - Accounting in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Has nice benefits with a decent salary

    Cons

    Management is older and they need to be replaced with up to date and progressive managers to get out of their stagnant waters

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    A Great Place to Work!

    Jul 2, 2019 - Benefits and On-Boarding Specialist in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love my job! I've worked for Garland for over 15 years and I am still happy to come to work on a daily basis. Garland offers its employees challenging and dynamic work and your hard work does not go unnoticed. My manger is one of the most compassionate, accommodating and fair people I have ever met. I also feel that my co-workers are more like family and friends which makes coming to work fun. Also, several of the benefits offered are paid 100% by the company.

    Cons

    At times during our busy season, the work/life balance can lean a little more towards work but, again, this does not go unnoticed by management.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with The Garland Company Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at The Garland Company? Share Your Experiences

The Garland Company logo
or