The Garland Company Reviews | Glassdoor

The Garland Company Reviews

Updated 4 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
The Garland Company CEO David Sokol (no image)
David Sokol
35 Ratings
  1. "Great company all around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Garland Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people in the perfect positions to do their best work.

    Cons

    None come to mind honestly.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    The Garland Company2019-07-09
  2. "98% Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Garland Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The compensation potential that is discussed while being recruited is real. ESOP is 100% entrepreneurial undertaking, work from home,

    Cons

    Selling building materials at extremely inflated prices. Specializes in a product that is being marginalized by more sustainable and efficient technologies. Pay structure creates a cut-throat mentality between co-workers. Some state and local governments are aggressively resisting the sales model that the company promotes. Expenses are largely if not wholly on the employee to cover. Turnover is very high. ... Benefits provide good coverage, but very high out of pocket cost. The culture of the company is not friendly towards new employees.

    Show More
    The Garland Company2019-10-04
  3. "Good Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Garland Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced work environment that expects the best performers.

    Cons

    Salary wasn't enough for the territory I was in.

    The Garland Company2019-07-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits and On-Boarding Specialist in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Garland Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love my job! I've worked for Garland for over 15 years and I am still happy to come to work on a daily basis. Garland offers its employees challenging and dynamic work and your hard work does not go unnoticed. My manger is one of the most compassionate, accommodating and fair people I have ever met. I also feel that my co-workers are more like family and friends which makes coming to work fun. Also,... several of the benefits offered are paid 100% by the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    At times during our busy season, the work/life balance can lean a little more towards work but, again, this does not go unnoticed by management.

    Advice to Management

    Continue your open door policy as well as continue to open and receptive to new ideas/suggestions from subordinate employees.

    The Garland Company2019-07-02
  5. "Happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Garland Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been working at the Garland Company for over 5 years now and I am still happy to come to work. I work for an amazing manager who provides me with interesting projects and is interested in my career growth. I love the culture at Garland, it truly is a special place.

    Cons

    The biggest con is the business location.

    Advice to Management

    Be open to fresh ideas and concepts.

    The Garland Company2019-06-17
  6. "Great culture and leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Garland Company full-time

    Pros

    Work and life balance, strong leadership and vision, the company cares about its employees

    Cons

    Nothing really comes to mind

    The Garland Company2019-06-05
  7. "Run away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Garland Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None. There really aren’t any pros, decent healthcare maybe?

    Cons

    The HQ is in one of the worst locations in Cleveland, it’s a racist, sexist company that thinks it’s still 1950. Low pay, Sales reps are king and rule everything within Garland. If you’re not Sales, you’re not important.

    Advice to Management

    Management is the problem.

    The Garland Company2019-06-17
  8. ""New Kid On The Block""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Garland Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Garland is by far one of the best places to work. The people are passionate and grateful to work here. Friendly, supportive environment. Everyone attempts to strive to live by the culture and values Garland represents. Everyone is eager to help one another and grow. Work hard, play hard mentality.

    Cons

    There aren't that many I can think of, but if I have to choose- the location isn't the safest, but there is security that patrols and it seems like people are always keeping a lookout. That being said, there is a bit of micromanage here, but not nearly as bad as other places I've worked. Lastly, unless you're in sales you're expected to be in the office. Management preaches working-from-home options is allowed, but... it's usually frowned upon.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust employees to do their job regardless if they are in the office or not. Keep investing in our people and commitment to our customers. Continue to put people first and this organization will grow. Accept that times are changing, and some things can be used to Garland's advantage/benefit (i.e. technological advances; networking opportunities; computer software) instead of doing nothing or idolizing the 'old way'.

    The Garland Company2019-03-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not a better Sales job out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Garland Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing corporate culture, great benefits and retirement(esop). Opportunity to earn an exponential income. Great support from everybody at the company from the recruiting team that hires you to our President. You can pick up the phone and call anyone and they will be there to help. The Garland Company truly puts the Sales rep first in the company which is unlike any other company I have worked for. You are... valued for what you bring to the company and much more than just a number. Best company I have ever worked for by far!

    Show More

    Cons

    This is not a 9-5 business. It’s a lot of work and you will get as much out as you put in. If your not willing to put in the hours and go above and beyond this isn’t the job for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in the business to continue to give us a competitive advantage

    The Garland Company2019-02-14
  10. "Best Job Out There"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Garland Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Incredible opportunity to build great income and wealth through commission and ESOP. You run your own "franchise" and are able to work and strategize in a way that fits you. Work from home. Support staff is very quick to make sure you have everything you need to be successful when you ask for it.

    Cons

    You must be a self starter; if not, you will feel on an island very quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Management has lately pushed the opportunity for continued education on taking your business to the next level. I would encourage them to continue this trend.

    The Garland Company2019-02-02
Found 42 reviews