Global Work & Travel Reviews

Updated Apr 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
90%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Global Work & Travel Co-Founder & CEO Jürgen Himmelmann (no image)
Jürgen Himmelmann
94 Ratings
Pros
  • "Being able to give people the chance to work and travel abroad ultimately providing them with a life changing experience(in 15 reviews)

  • "I met some of my closest friends by working at The Global Work & Travel Co(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours but you are compensated nicely(in 10 reviews)

  • "11 bucks an hour while trying to convince travellers the minimum wage is at least(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I am currently heading into my 1st month of employment, so far so good. Everyone was warm and welcoming.

      Apr 12, 2021 - Cancellations Specialist in Manila, Manila, Manila
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am a remote worker from the Philippines, meaning I am working offshore at a work from home set up.

      Cons

      I can't think of anything negative.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I am really happy to be part of the team because this company provides equal opportunity to the employees.

      Mar 1, 2021 - Financial Controller (North America) in Batangas, Batangas City, Batangas City
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My manager Richard and my colleague Mia are very helpful and approachable. I find my job very easy because they are always there to answer my queries.

      Cons

      There are some things that we can improve on some processes which I would like to propose.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      New Employee Review

      Mar 10, 2021 - Accounts Payable in Manila, Manila, Manila
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful colleague. They will assist you all through out.

      Cons

      none so far as I am still new

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst minimum wage job

      Mar 14, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There was nothing good about this job

      Cons

      Everything about working for this place was awful. Do yourself a favour and stay very far away from this company. They make you pay for your computer and headset, and then try put you on minimum wage and say your a ‘contractor’ that way they don’t have to pay you annual leave, sick leave etc. The biggest scam of a job, don’t be fooled!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      LIVING THE DREAM !!

      Sep 29, 2020 - Travel Consultant in Surfers Paradise
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The office is so fresh and modern, with a working atmosphere to match! Facilities are always clean and there's not a single room on the floor without a spectacular view. The location is also unbeatable, being just a 2 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach, bars, restaurants and shops. The work hours are an absolute dream, finishing at 2pm daily, with weekends off, makes my life and experience here as a working holiday traveler the ultimate goal. But most importantly, my most favourite part about this job is being able to chat with like-minded people all day, helping to turn their travel inquiries into a future reality !!

      Cons

      The only negative about working here would be that you're not going to be making a real decent income, especially if you have an unsuccessful week on the sales floor.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Such an awesome place to work

      Dec 18, 2020 - Arrival Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great office views, dog-friendly office, amazing management, great training, such a welcoming, and helpful team!

      Cons

      I've been working at Global Work and Travel for over a month and there are no cons at the moment!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      * Living the Dream! *

      Nov 3, 2020 - Travel Expert in Gold Coast
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Positive - Fun - Engaging - Relaxed - Productive First job I've ever had that is in a relaxed environment instead of stressful, which actually makes everyone more productive in turn. Great place to have a laugh and opportunity to make lots of money. Fantastic training also.

      Cons

      Can't think of anything. We are always learning new things so it's vibing and thriving.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing !!!

      Nov 18, 2020 - Sales Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Super friendly team and managers, lots of support for people just starting, great location all around great office vibes! Supports animal welfare too!

      Cons

      Don't have a bad word to say!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Tons of turnover because of unfair pay

      Jan 14, 2021 - Trip Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people you work with are fantastic

      Cons

      No benefits at all, long hours, never paid overtime but work hourly not salary. Grossly underpaid, after tax you make about $10 an hour.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Global Work & Travel Response

      People & Culture

      Thank you for taking the time to submit this feedback. We are happy to hear you met some great people during your time with us. We do pride ourselves on finding and cultivating great people as that’s what makes our services shine! All our salaries are routinely reviewed in line with the Canadian industry standard. The starting salary for this position is $40,000 per annum ($19.25 per hour) and that is what each employee has been paid at a minimum. As you were with us for a short time, you would not have yet been eligible for a salary increase, or our highly coveted travel benefits program that provides staff with double the industry paid time off, and free airfares anywhere around the world. However, you would have still had access to a range of staff perks that come with our company and office building, such as gym membership, free coffee, tea, beer, and kombucha, wellness areas, free weekly events and social gatherings, plus many other great benefits staff receive. Unfortunately, we cannot understand your feedback regarding hours. We follow the standard 40 hour workweek and there is rarely ever a need for overtime unless there is a company event, or if staff wish to finish their current task when 5:30 comes around, which some choose to do, but are not required to. We also, generally, maintain a great staff retention rate, with most staff staying well beyond their initial contract. We attribute this to our great work environment, which is built and maintained by our incredible staff working in a fast-paced and exciting industry making our customer's travel dreams come true. We find it disheartening to hear that our organisation did not line up with your employment expectations, however, we spend a great deal of time and effort to ensure we are more than competitive in our remuneration packages and general staff care and wellbeing. If you wish to discuss your review and score in more detail, we would welcome you to provide further insight directly to our feedback team feedback@globalworkandtravel.com. In the meantime, we wish you the best with your future endeavours and hope you find something more in line with your employment expectations.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Team !!

      Nov 3, 2020 - Sales Agent in Surfers Paradise
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team culture, Amazing views in the office, High earning potential

      Cons

      No free staff car parking

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 124 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Global Work & Travel Job Seekers

    Trio Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Working Holiday Australia/UK
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Global Work & Travel? Share Your Experiences

    Global Work & Travel logo
    or