The Goddard School "children and families" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Goddard School Employee Reviews about "children and families"

Updated Nov 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
The Goddard School President and CEO Dennis Maple
Dennis Maple
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "This coupled with low pay contributed to the high turnover rates there(in 77 reviews)

  • "Not enough time to develop lesson plans(in 45 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "children and families"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Love Goddard Highland Heights"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher in Highland Heights, Cuyahoga, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Goddard School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment Everyone is friendly Directors are professional, approachable Weekly planning time Owner shows her appreciation, listens Benefits Families and children, of course!

    Cons

    Wish we had a summer break!

    Continue reading
    The Goddard School2019-11-02
  2. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Lead in Hudson, OH

    I worked at The Goddard School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Anyone can get a job here they are so understaffed. Children and families are wonderful.

    Cons

    Terrible place. Owners only care about money and Director is very shady. Lots of secrets and terrible pay.

    The Goddard School2019-07-09
  3. "Positive atmosphere - Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shawnee, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Goddard School full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The new owner implemented a PTO policy. Management is reasonable with teacher illness and needing time off for appointments, emergencies, etc. Great families and children attend the school. Communication between staff members and management has been made a priority. The building has been updated and the technology in the school is in the process of being replaced (tablets/laptops/phones).

    Cons

    The building can sometimes be very chilly. Bring a sweater.

    Continue reading
    The Goddard School2019-05-08
  4. "Open Communication, Team Atmosphere, Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Shawnee, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Goddard School full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Open communication is encouraged between faculty and administration in order to create a professional work environment and to continually re-evaluate how and why we are doing things. We do this so we can strive for the best work environment, a place where all team members can grow, and so we can provide excellent care and education for our children and families. We also encourage open communication among faculty to develop a strong team that works well together for the good of our families. Other things we do to create a wonderful team atmosphere are monthly luncheons, Christmas party, and staff meetings through the year. I have worked at this school for many years and had all of my children enrolled here at one time or another. The teachers have always loved and cared very well for them and all of the children. When I have talked with individual teachers about my children, I can tell they have really taken the time to get to know my children and want to help them succeed. Pay is competitive for the industry and based on education and experience. For full time employees insurance is available, there is a PTO program, and some paid holidays.

    Cons

    For me, it is a decent drive. However, I have loved being there that the drive is minimal for me.

    The Goddard School2019-05-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher in Kenosha, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Goddard School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great children and families Lots of nice new equipment Supportive teamworkers and management Much better pay then my other center, and actually gives benefits and PTO

    Cons

    They are pretty strict with QA and licensing rules, and lesson planning is lot of work.

    Continue reading
    The Goddard School2019-02-14
  6. "Great School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Goddard School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment, clean facility, wonderful children and families enrolled in the school, hardworking staff, stimulating learning environment for the children, lunch can be provided, STEM emphasis in classrooms

    Cons

    I have no cons to share

    Continue reading
    The Goddard School2019-02-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Treated like a daycare, not upscale preschool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Goddard School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The children and families are wonderful

    Cons

    Low pay, high turnover, no planning time, stressed out staff

    Continue reading
    The Goddard School2019-01-20
  8. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Goddard School full-time

    Pros

    The children and families are great!

    Cons

    The management is not so great. Classrooms are chaos. Children are moved up from classroom to classroom contantly, so they never get a real consistency. Management does not listen to concerns from teachers. Expectations for lesson planning involve somehow fitting 8 activities in every day and taking a picture, yet still stopping the kids from going wild.

    Continue reading
    The Goddard School2018-09-30
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Save your sanity, stay far, far away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Goddard School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Children and families are wonderful! Lots of resources for the children and teachers. iPads in each classroom, new materials for the children, large playground, beautiful facility.

    Cons

    Management offers little to no training for new hires. I was thrown into a classroom within my first 5 minutes of being hired. I didn’t know procedures, routines, or daily practices. Also, management expects you to place work above your family priority wise. My child had a high grade fever and they told me to come to work anyway, which would expose everyone to whatever illness my child had. I was vomiting with fever another time and was told I had to come in because we were short staffed. Blatant disregard for the health and safety of not only me and my child, but for the children enrolled and the other staff members. Also, I get zero time for planning per week. All of my lesson planning and curriculum building is done on my own time at home. If there is extra time in the day, they are sending people home instead of giving us time to plan. Apparently, that extra $5 for planning time will break them financially. Employee turnover is absolutely ridiculous, I’m talking 4 to 5 new hires quitting every month, I’ve never experienced such a thing in my life. We are told over and over again that we are a school and NOT a daycare, yet we get paid less than most daycare centers pay their teachers.

    Continue reading
    The Goddard School2018-09-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing and most fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resource Teacher in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Goddard School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The teachers, the management, the owner all make it a fun and friendly place to work. The children and families are great. So much support from everyone around. I've had a few schedule changes due to school, and the directors are so supportive and accommodating.

    Cons

    None so far. The place is very welcoming.

    Continue reading
    The Goddard School2018-05-31
Found 27 reviews