The Goddard School "lesson plans" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Goddard School Employee Reviews about "lesson plans"

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
The Goddard School President and CEO Dennis Maple
Dennis Maple
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "This coupled with low pay contributed to the high turnover rates there(in 77 reviews)

  • "Not enough time to develop lesson plans(in 45 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "lesson plans"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great, caring management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher/Enrichment Coordinator in Shawnee, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Goddard School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Relationships with your families -Supportive office staff/owner -Caring teachers -Paid holidays off -Super, amazingly smart kids -Outlined curriculum -Learning resources on site -Personalized lesson plans -Structured learning through play

    Cons

    I live super far from my school, but it's WORTH it.

    Continue reading
    The Goddard School2019-05-08
  2. "Love the kids and parents, but not the management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher in Midlothian, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Goddard School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The families and kids were amazing. A lot of freedom on lesson plans Vacation days for holidays

    Cons

    Pay Management does not care at all Amount of drama is absurd, even stemming from a director. No way to move up.

    Continue reading
    The Goddard School2020-03-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Higher salary needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Preschool Teacher in Arnold, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Goddard School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The students are wonderful. They keep me coming to work every day.

    Cons

    You are not paid enough to put up with the daily demands of child care, lesson planning, preparing your classroom, and maintaining your sanity.

    The Goddard School2019-12-10
  4. "Different Per School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Teacher 

    I have been working at The Goddard School full-time

    Pros

    Somewhat flexible Partnered with another teacher Can make your own lesson plans

    Cons

    Extremely nitpicky standards Each school is different because the curriculum is not standardized Benefits only apply to you after 18 months of working there

    The Goddard School2019-12-07
  5. "Good and bad of Goddard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher Assistant in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Goddard School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Goddard (two different schools) totaling almost 5 years. I worked at one for 4 years. Started at the first school as a substitute while in college and still worked a lot. Then left for a year to be called back for full time. I left there probably 6 months in for better opportunities because I wasn’t getting paid as much as SUBSTITUTES were when I was full time!! But oh well, I should have known better. A couple years later I ended up at another Goddard closer to my house where I moved. I loved my boss and directors. I loved my kids and parents. But I had issues with coworkers that were never taken care of. The programs are amazing and the children usually exceeded expectations.

    Cons

    Having to write lesson plans for infants without repeats?? Yeah, ok. Also when the issues were brought to light NOTHING was done about it. I worked two weeks with panic attacks every day... Finally left and ended up in an outpatient therapy program. The bullying was all too much.. also the pay wasn’t great for what we were doing!!!

    The Goddard School2019-10-24
  6. "Be Aware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co Lead Teacher in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Goddard School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Awesome kids -Opportunities to create your own lesson plans

    Cons

    -Tough work culture -High risk -low pay no benefits

    Continue reading
    The Goddard School2019-11-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "How this location is even allowed to exist, is amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Goddard School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. The friendships you make with your coworkers in the face of adversity you deal with from administration.

    Cons

    The owner of our location has no clue how to run a business and has no background in child care or education. The owner was constantly adding in more kids when there aren't enough staff and then owner and the directors rude behavior and bully tactics drive away staff so there is always understaffing. They wanted you to do lesson plans but never gave you time to do them. They only followed policies when it benefitted them. They constantly shuffled kids around so you were ending up with challenging kids that didn't belong in your room. They kept making promises that they didn't keep. They keep losing staff and kids for good reason. The only families that have stayed are the ones with behavioral issues because lets face it, they'd probably wouldn't be allowed to stay in any other facility.

    Continue reading
    The Goddard School2019-09-07
  8. "New management is excellent!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher in Shawnee, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Goddard School full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been an employee here for five years. I love the Goddard School and how they approach early childhood education. I have enjoyed coming to work everyday. The staff have always been kind, respectful and supportive. We have recently changed owners and everything has gotten better. The new owner has been renovating the school and it looks great. She has allotted us more time to get lesson plans done, and has given us all the supplies and equipment that we have asked for, but best of all we now can earn PTO!

    Cons

    It would be nice to have a larger break room.

    The Goddard School2019-04-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It’s Okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Goddard School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The children are wonderful, along with the parents(majority anyways), coworkers are amazing in my room.

    Cons

    I was promised a raise with becoming an assistant teacher, have yet to receive that raise, even though new hires are coming in above me for the same job. Never have supplies needed for the lesson plans, even though they get submitted well before the week they’re needed, management favors people who cause drama, call off, etc. Having real life issues are not acceptable, even if they happen once or twice (kids are sick, family in hospital).

    Continue reading
    The Goddard School2019-03-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher in Kenosha, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Goddard School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great children and families Lots of nice new equipment Supportive teamworkers and management Much better pay then my other center, and actually gives benefits and PTO

    Cons

    They are pretty strict with QA and licensing rules, and lesson planning is lot of work.

    Continue reading
    The Goddard School2019-02-14
Viewing 1 - 10 of 67 Reviews