The Hartford Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
The Hartford CEO Christopher Swift
Christopher Swift
755 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/Life balance is great: I am so glad I did not have to give up on my career when my kids were born(in 210 reviews)

  • "Work schedules and work from home is very flexible(in 125 reviews)

Cons
  • "The work/life balance can be hard on occasion(in 103 reviews)

  • "The job is mentally draining but that's not uncommon for a call center(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "Very Encouraging and Rewarding work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDET2 in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Salary package and Annual bonus Work environment is very encouraging and rewarding Management encourages those who wants to learn and grow in their career. Freedom to implement new ideas

    Cons

    Office politics is a common place ( which i have seen in other companies too) Management is becoming more agile, but not good as the competitors Lot of layers of reporting in management.

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2019-12-11
  2. "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong commitment to ethics and doing the right thing; collaborative culture

    Cons

    Sometimes limited business risk appetite

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2020-05-23
  3. "Legal Administrative Assistant"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Legal Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at The Hartford full-time

    Pros

    Good pay. Cool office. Nice location.

    Cons

    Split office. A lot of construction was being done when I was there.

    The Hartford2020-06-01
  4. "LTD AA"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LTD Ability Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training for role, multiple sources to learn new things

    Cons

    case load can cause stress

    The Hartford2020-05-26
  5. "Lots of growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of growth, ability to work remote, ERGs, benefits, PTO, the list goes on!

    Cons

    Commission is called a Sales Incentive so it's an ever-changing structure which can be difficult to comprehend

    The Hartford2020-05-19
  6. "Great work enviorment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Engineer in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great work-life balance , generous PTO

    Cons

    The technology is a little behind

    The Hartford2020-05-16
  7. Helpful (5)

    "The best company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Nurse 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, amazing training, pay, remote from home

    Cons

    I haven t found one.

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2020-04-28
  8. "Crazy production goals"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Premium Auditor in Hartford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home. No boss underfoot

    Cons

    They want you do to 650 audits a year . Not bad if they were small to medium. Have a dozen large accounts at a time that take 10 to 20 hours each. And that is a constant load. Would have to work 80 hrs a week to make their production goal. And the quality reviews are so picky . No raise in years. Leaving.

    The Hartford2020-05-29
  9. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Associate in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great career development opportunities, leadership cares about developing the next generation of employees

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for upward mobility, since people tend to stick around for a while at senior leadership levels.

    The Hartford2020-05-13
  10. "Make connections"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ability Analyst in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, Room to grow

    Cons

    Difficult workload, Difficult to move positions

    The Hartford2020-05-28
Found 2016 reviews