The Hartford "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Hartford Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
The Hartford CEO Christopher Swift
Christopher Swift
765 Ratings
Pros
  • "You have a lot more flexibility than most places so work life balance is great(in 206 reviews)

  • "They have remote if you lucky to work from home that is a option(in 123 reviews)

Cons
  • "The work/life balance can be hard on occasion(in 102 reviews)

  • "The job is mentally draining but that's not uncommon for a call center(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Good Pay -Benefits -Great vacation time -Room for Growth

    Cons

    -Usually have to start in the call center -Must be very self motivated to find job opportunities.

    The Hartford2017-08-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Company is not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Star in Allentown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They start new full-time employees with about 2 weeks PTO

    Cons

    There is no difference between PTO and sick time, so oif you're sick, it is coming out of our PTO whether you want to be paid for it or not. You will find yourself in the point sysytem if you don't monitor it. Breaks and lunches are TIMED TO THE MINUTE and you are hel accountable for that a bit strongly. If you're used to big call center, you'll be ok on that. There is a bit of micro-management, as it is a large call center. Not much opportunity to really advance in the company, a bit stagnant. Incentives are hard to hit, and cap out fairly low. Mondays are so busy, back to back calls, no breaks..they can be a bit rough.

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2019-07-30
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some decent benefits I guess. A little over a year ago it was awesome being in the sales department.

    Cons

    Within the last 7 months it has turned into the same ole micromanaging call center. Metrics and numbers mean more over the quality of the work! Most of the rates the Hartford offers are very expensive...yet by you running those quotes it affects your “overall composite score” which in turn depletes your bonus. So even though you sell policies, you will not make a bonus because of all the other non competitive calls you take and quotes you produce. If you are a good sales person, don’t waste your time here.

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2019-07-06
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Shady Management and Metrics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Relations Specialist in Windsor, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The only good thing about this company is some of the co-workers who care about customers.

    Cons

    Management, especially managers of call center teams are very shady. There is rampant favoritism and focus on metrics rather than serving the customer.

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2019-04-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great benefits, not so great job or pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Windsor, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great employee benefits, approachable managers, nice people to work with. Very good company culture overall as a whole.

    Cons

    Low pay for what's expected in call center environment, very metric driven, bonus structure very difficult to make bonuses because you are expected to meet goals that you don't even have control over. If you are not able to work the shift that is required for being in their mentor/training program, you are not given any opportunities for growth or development, making it very hard to get a promotion or even a lateral move to a different department. "Big brother" environment,you are constantly being monitored on everything. Schedule : have to work 2 Saturdays a month. And, well, it's an insurance company so at the end of the day, it's really all about profits. Lots of favoritism by managers towards anyone in the "mentor program" , otherwise you are kind of invisible. Not allot of recognition by managers for the fact that the job is super difficult and expectations are very high if you ever want to make bonuses. Constant systems problems, and the resources for helping you to do your job correctly are really bad, which management is fully aware of .

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2019-03-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Could be a 5 star rating but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AARP Customer Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company is amazing to work for, honestly. It has amazing benefits, very competitive pay, and the job is not really "hard" once you get the hang of it! Leadership is really great and incentives are fantastic! Just a solid company!

    Cons

    I honestly cannot think of any "Cons" regarding the company itself. I loved being a part of this enterprise and hate that I couldn't stay. I resigned by choice and it wasn't because of leadership or the way the company was ran but actually because of the building. The job is mentally draining but that's not uncommon for a call center. However, when you combine the job with the very bland, drab, beige, and overall outdated atmosphere that sits in this building, it does something to you. I worked for another call center prior to joining this company and I had interviewed at a couple different call centers before ever joining The Hartford and this building had the least amenities by far, the plainest furniture, the worst lighting (hardly any natural light), even with the blinds open. I dreaded walking into this building every day. I tried to personalize my cubicle as much as possible to help but it just didn't work. This could be a 5 star rating but the building robs 2 stars. I know for a fact that I'm not the only person that feels this way but I'm sure most people don't speak up about it because they believe that it will probably never change. I personally will never recommend someone to work for The Hartford in San Antonio if they even slightly struggle with their mental health. I hope that for the sake of their current employees who suffer in silence, that a change is made.

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2019-02-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Perpetually Understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexible with work from home if the circumstances require it, camaraderie among the staff, volunteer opportunities.

    Cons

    If you are customer-facing just assume that you are going to be treated like a sweatshop call center employee. There is a huge problem with employee retention so there is a constant concern over what is going to happen if someone leaves- normally they do nothing. Customers and agents are entitled and verbally abusive. Compensation is low for the industry.

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2019-01-23
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Customer Relationship Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Relationship Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Pay, Weekends Off

    Cons

    Call Center environment, horrible training, 30 minute lunches

    The Hartford2018-05-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Be Warned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Care Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford for less than a year

    Pros

    There are alot of avenues to grow and advance your career in insurance.

    Cons

    The "CCC" sucks. Pay attention, all of the great reviews are from people who have nothing to do with the call center. Its principles and practices are absolute garbage. The morality and integrity and "employee focus" only pertains to those employees not on the phones The expectation of you is to take "80 calls a day." Thats it. There is no thought process to take agent burn out into consideration, you can't even do training until before or after your shift to maximize your time being on the phone. Zero work-life balance as theres a bidding system for days off thats not friendly to new people or struggling agents. If all you have ever known is being on the phone, this is an awesome place to be. However..if you have developed skills that transcends the phones stay away, you will develop depression amd anxiety

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2018-02-06
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Small Commercial Underwriting is set up like a call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Underwriter in Hartford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary, higher than average PTO, 6% 401k match, additional 2% 401k given. Remote option is available to some employees.

    Cons

    Small commercial Underwriters are stuck in a call center queue. Measured on hours “available”, calls taken, length, missed calls. This is not an underwriting position. It’s being a glorified call center rep! New business and renewals are placed in mass Q and each underwriter pulls out their work. If you don’t get to your work within 24 hours other underwriters can pull it, get the credit, and it’s held against you.

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2017-12-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 57 reviews