The Health Plan Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

The Health Plan Reviews

Updated Oct 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
35%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
The Health Plan CEO James Pennington (no image)
James Pennington
8 Ratings
  1. "Great workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wheeling, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Health Plan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work at!

    Cons

    None at all! AT ALL

    The Health Plan2019-04-23
  2. "Non-Governmental clinical services Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Health Plan full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Office Job, not having to work on the weekends or holidays.

    Cons

    Salaried position for nursing and no cost of living raises given the only raises that are granted is dependent on their clinical ladder. Staff has no input on the processes. They will not take any advice from staff it is what management says only. They only care about making money not the staff that does all the work for them. Upper management/executive team and Sales is well payed but the regular staff is... poorly compensated.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees.

    The Health Plan2019-10-27
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Navigator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Health Plan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Weekends and holidays off, PTO is good.

    Cons

    Disorganized explains it all. No clear directives.

    The Health Plan2019-08-01
  4. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medicaid Regional Community Engagement Specialist in Charleston, WV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Health Plan full-time

    Pros

    Great people,management and great benefits

    Cons

    Opportunities to move with company were few.

    The Health Plan2019-03-14
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Health Plan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, great opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    None immediately come to mind

    The Health Plan2019-03-12
  6. "Absolutely deplorable training!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Wheeling, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Health Plan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of my coworkers were fantastic people.

    Cons

    Absolutely deplorable training. You're briefly instructed to shadow other employees and then you're basically thrown to the wolves. I was shown SEVERAL incorrect procedures during the initiation of my training, and repeatedly attempted to correct what I'd learned due to misinstruction. Management is quick cover their own inept training techniques by sending admonishing emails reminding you that the subject of... whatever error was covered in a previous meeting or email, (albeit, probably only glossed over once with barely any significant instruction or details provided) and would include a question such as: "Do you need additional training on this?" (I'm pretty sure if errors are still being made then yes, I probably do require additional training...) and would conclude with "please let me know what training you think you might need." While that might appear to be a helpful and congenial offer, it's unrealistic to expect a new employee to manage the structure of their own training for a position that they have no prior experience in. Pay is also pretty low in terms of what pharmacy technicians typically earn, and for being an insurance company, the benefits they offer employees are subpar.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually implement training strategies and set up training sessions regularly, as opposed to allowing a new employee to make errors for weeks before ever treating these errors as though they're an issue.

    The Health Plan2019-03-30
  7. "A great place to work with great benefits but you better be prepared to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wheeling, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Health Plan full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Open and bright working environment. Team environment.

    Cons

    Wish there was more participation in the employee wellness program.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to all staff and not just mid-management.

    The Health Plan2018-07-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not All It's Cracked Up To Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Health Plan full-time

    Pros

    Decent benefits and vacation and sick time.

    Cons

    Hard work and dedication are abused instead of rewarded.

    The Health Plan2018-07-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Programmer Analyst in Wheeling, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Health Plan full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Good focus on employee health and wellness. Free water and coffee and a new building too. Low deductible health insurance.

    Cons

    Way behind technologically. Large separation between management and staff and management doesnt see it. CEO is a neat freak and it is annoying.

    Advice to Management

    Bridge the obvious gap

    The Health Plan2018-01-14
  10. Helpful (3)

    "It’s a health insurance company..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Clairsville, OH
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Health Plan full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company is growing, but there are some pains. The employee camaraderie is decent, but it really depends on what department you’re in as to what you’ll think. Free bottled water...

    Cons

    The CEO of the company seems to heavily favor the sales department and marketing departments over any others. Salesmen seem to be pretty well taken care of, but that’s about it unless you’re management. Salaries aren’t that great. Mostly sub median for positions. There has been no cost of living wage for several years. The HR department is pretty much 1 person with a few secretaries working for her. In... a company of 500 I don’t think this is a good idea.

    Show More
    The Health Plan2017-12-30
Found 20 reviews