The Hershey Company Reviews | Glassdoor

The Hershey Company Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 763 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
The Hershey Company CEO Michele Buck
Michele Buck
119 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, great people, lots of opportunities(in 50 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits, cars, paint, clothing etc(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance sometimes at stake(in 48 reviews)

  • "When you try to leave after 1 year and 11 months they will sue you for relocation(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Merchandiser in Ogden, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work with an amazing group of people. Benefits from day one.

    Cons

    Lots of boxes to haul

    The Hershey Company2019-04-17
  2. "snack bar attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Hershey, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    really great people to work with and great atmosphere

    Cons

    long hours in the hot sun

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    The Hershey Company2019-07-18
  3. "Good Company Not Progressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great brands, great history, wonderful story.

    Cons

    Not progressive marketing philosophy

    The Hershey Company2019-07-18
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, understanding, great work life balance, a lot of perks

    Cons

    Have to move locations to get promoted

    The Hershey Company2019-07-11
  5. "Great start out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for all around

    Cons

    Relocation is a must if you want to promote in any way, any time

    Advice to Management

    Cater to every one individual specifically

    The Hershey Company2019-07-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A Place For Hook Ups"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Stuarts Draft, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money is the only good thing.

    Cons

    An unfortunate benefit of working at Hershey I only found out almost one year later. After research I found a review from 2017 saying what really does happen. I reluctantly agreed to this job change. I wish I stood my ground. An environment like Hershey is not at all conducive to at home relationships. Hook ups seem to be the norm and management turns a blind eye. Friends who suggested she work at Hershey told...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop turning a blind eye to what is going on within the concrete walls. Other companies have strict rules and not only adhere to them, but follow through. It is sad that employees would tell others to be careful of the hook up environment at the Stuarts Draft location.

    The Hershey Company2019-07-14
  7. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 

    I worked at The Hershey Company for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Top Brand with room to grow.

    Cons

    You have to be willing to move if you want to climb the ladder.

    The Hershey Company2019-06-25
  8. "Great Company | Snacking Business Unit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits Merit Increase each year (typically 2-3% of salary) Snacking Business Unit is a more "relax" part of the company - out of Austin Texas The people

    Cons

    Slow processes to get things approved / moving very "old school" when it comes to the way they think (media / marketing) Growth plan for new M&A team members needed to be developed

    The Hershey Company2019-06-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay Hours Company car Medical benefits 401k

    Cons

    Hard to get promoted Dealing with store accounts

    The Hershey Company2019-06-19
  10. "Decent high school job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Hershey, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Hershey Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Are willing to work with your schedule Great environment Get to meet all kinds of people

    Cons

    Working pretty late every weekend

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    The Hershey Company2019-06-21
Found 763 reviews