The Hershey Company "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Hershey Company Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 774 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
The Hershey Company CEO Michele Buck
Michele Buck
126 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, great people, lots of opportunities(in 50 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits, cars, paint, clothing etc(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance sometimes at stake(in 48 reviews)

  • "When you try to leave after 1 year and 11 months they will sue you for relocation(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Average employer, horrible work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Hershey Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits, cars, paint, clothing etc.

    Cons

    Work environment is absolutely horrible.

    The Hershey Company2019-02-17
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Pay is good but company is too lean"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and good benefits. Company is well respected and is very socially responsible.

    Cons

    Many people doing the jobs of two. Workload is high and tough to reach performance goals as a results. Focused on millennials and not so much on the experienced workers there, I/S organization is understaffed severely.

    The Hershey Company2018-10-26
  3. Helpful (8)

    "This is not the "sweetest place on earth""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time

    Pros

    Pay is fairly good. Benefits are good. Profits benefit the Milton Hershey School for disadvantaged children.

    Cons

    Working for THC the past 4 years has been a miserable existence. JP Bilbrey was the CEO; he didn't know what he was doing, but at least he had a heart. Michele Buck is equally under qualified for the role, and she is stone cold. She announced layoffs her first day on the job and is obsessed with 3G. I think we are on our third or fourth lay-offs in as many years. People are leaving in droves, and management has no idea...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Milton Hershey was one of the few employers who was actually hiring people during the Great Depression. He left an inspiring legacy of hard work and humanity that you have burned to the ground. Why did you leave such a legacy behind to follow after the ruthless example of 3G? These are people with families that you dropped by the wayside. I am no longer proud to say I work here.

    The Hershey Company2018-05-08
  4. "Restaurant Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits Free hot food Good facilities

    Cons

    A lot of management and supervision

    Advice to Management

    Cut down on management

    The Hershey Company2018-03-16
  5. "Retail Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, company car, 401k match, opportunity to develop

    Cons

    Very strict on time in role requirements, not much room to move outside of retail

    The Hershey Company2018-02-10
  6. "Iconic Brands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time

    Pros

    Iconic brands, potential for growth, striving to be socially responsible and good benefits.

    Cons

    Its a larger company with a focus on the shareholders interests top of mind. Nothing new for a public company, but still a reality.

    The Hershey Company2018-01-20
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Derry, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You will make decent money and they offer good benefits. They offer a nice modern facility to work and decent amenities.

    Cons

    If you work in the administration side, the hours are good. If you work in the production line, you will be required to work over time.

    The Hershey Company2017-12-30
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Retail Sales Representative review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Representative in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Hershey Company for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for a first job out of college, good benefits and 401k plan

    Cons

    Like everyone else has said before you're basically merchandising in Walmarts all day- go look at any huge display in a store and that's what you'll be responsible for building and merchandising in the stores each week. Expected to work 50+ hours a week- this meant for me leaving the house around 6am and getting home around 5:30. You're not paid for driving so this would come out to about 9 hours of pay for 11.5 hours...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You really need to review how you view the RSR role and look at it as more of a merchandiser/vendor role like its really become in recent years. Change the company culture by not playing favorites and provide more opportunities to promote the RSRs to combat the very high turnover you already have.

    The Hershey Company2017-10-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Better than a lot, not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Climate controlled work environment, good benefits.

    Cons

    consistent untruthfulness in hiring and ongoing communication gap between upper management and workers

    Advice to Management

    be honest when hiring

    The Hershey Company2017-09-26
  10. Helpful (4)

    "RSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hershey Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company car, good benefits, good pay for what you do. They pay for car insurance and any rental car if something happens to your fleet vehicle. An exciting company filled with a lot of young, passionate people. You get to own your territory, no one works there except for you so it is a good way to make a name for yourself.

    Cons

    Advancement as an RSR is different for each employee. A good portion of RSRs were interns at one point, and I had a more senior member of the company tell me that many hiring managers would rather take an intern even if you have more experience in the field. It almost feels like they string you along for your 2 years (if you get a relocation package) promising a "big wave of promotions in the next couple months." ...

    Show More
    The Hershey Company2017-08-09
Found 774 reviews