The Hillman Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The Hillman Group Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
51%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
The Hillman Group President and CEO Greg Gluchowski
Greg Gluchowski
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Middle and Upper Management believe they have your best interests in(in 9 reviews)

  • "Favoritism of blacks at the Hillman group(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The Hillman Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician 

    I have been working at The Hillman Group part-time

    Pros

    I like this company’s attitude towards employees

    Cons

    Company doesn’t value field service team

    The Hillman Group2019-08-22
  2. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Hillman Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, a lot of hardworking employees.

    Cons

    Hours could be a bit much

    Advice to Management

    Work together with all departments, not everyone is needed for one department to work

    The Hillman Group2019-11-27
  3. "UGH keeps getting UGLIER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hillman Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Well, the company has a good corner on several product lines of the market and is stable

    Cons

    What used to be an awesome company and fun to be a part of has just turned into the biggest blah blah backstabbing, (MGT vs US) crappy atmosphere ever. People leaving in droves

    Advice to Management

    Get over yourselves. Eating a hamburger with me is not the same as "engaging" with us. It's weak. Many of us who have stayed with a good company a long time did that because we felt people cared about us and always were trying to make the company better and the people better. It's been a few years since the company had that feel but in our department we are now just paid to lie and apologize. ... I didn't realize before really but we used to have purpose, goals, training, and then common sort of direction that filtered down from the Director. Someone PLEASE PLEASE call that man and bring him back! Current upward management is Dictator, next level up is a Know It All who knows nothing about Customer Service at all or processes or strategy or technology or workflow, then the VP is more of a showman who is masterful as graphing stuff to lie to the Executives about how we're doing. Where we used to sit as a lower level group and strategize and work towards improvement and felt like we were really doing good things, now we just "do what we're told". My friends have left the company, my employees are leaving in droves or are looking, and I hate my job. What I thought was challenging before was actually what I realize I want now because at least we had purpose and a leader. Dedicated to the company but it's not so dedicated to me. Why am I trying so hard?

    Show More
    The Hillman Group2019-09-30
  4. "It’s a company with safety, teamwork, and your best interest in mind."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Specialist in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hillman Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The bosses listen to you and not just hear what you have to say and toss out your opinion. It’s a very safe company and holds true to that intention, so when an employee sees a unsafe work environment or another person not wearing PPE, the company would like to know and rewards safe practices. The holidays are fun and interactive, so creativity is encouraged. The company goes great lengths to make sure their... employees are comfortable.

    Show More

    Cons

    I’ve worked in almost every department and have noticed a repeat in history when it comes to supply and demand. Miscommunication is common when it comes to getting your point across, so repeating myself seems to be necessary, even if I speak to someone, I need to say the same thing again a few days later until the work gets done, which is common for any company because we are all busy and just forget or the message... wasn’t clear. Finally, the organization, it takes teamwork to get a space organized and just the way the employees can work efficiently and comfortable, but when there’s a new challenge at hand, it can be a bit tasking when it comes to getting organized. But on the bright side, there is a plan to attack that problem with 5S. I’ve worked for companies who could care less about inventory, communication, and organization. “As long as the work gets done.”

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None, I’m sure everything was said at a meeting.

    The Hillman Group2019-07-28
  5. "Great company with great outlook for future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Territory Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hillman Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loyal company with a solid reputation in the industry

    Cons

    Only interact with coworkers in person occasionally, need to be a self starter

    The Hillman Group2019-07-26
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Hillman Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, good coworkers to work with

    Cons

    Management changed a lot over time

    The Hillman Group2019-07-24
  7. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Selector in Rialto, CA

    I have been working at The Hillman Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, Manager on the 2nd shift was good in my book

    Cons

    Never knew when you off days were.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication with the actual people that do work

    The Hillman Group2019-06-28
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hillman Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall Good Company, ppl are friendly

    Cons

    Nothing bad. Overall is a growing company.

    The Hillman Group2019-06-24
  9. "Good for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Representative in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Hillman Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gas card, flexible, work from home,

    Cons

    No OT, impossible assignments, no accountability on management normally blame reps, no employee growth

    Advice to Management

    Stop overloading employees

    The Hillman Group2019-06-17
  10. "FAR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Service Representative in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hillman Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Making own schedule. Not micro managed.

    Cons

    Under paid, no incentives or motivation to improve.

    Advice to Management

    Pay the under paid FSR's their worth. Or at least pay them what you pay new hires.

    The Hillman Group2019-06-12
Found 126 reviews