The Home Depot Reviews in Akron, OH | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Akron Reviews

Updated Mar 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
13 Ratings
  1. "Head Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cuyahoga Falls, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learned a lot to work on my house.

    Cons

    They didn't seem living to promote.

    The Home Depot2017-02-14
  2. "It’s an okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist in Austintown, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sick time for both part and full timers. A lot of catered meals. Flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    Low pay. Lack of benefits. Hard to get full time.

    Advice to Management

    Be nicer to your employees, especially the ones that do their work.

    The Home Depot2019-03-06
  3. "customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Valet Attendant in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    good service -always available and helpful

    Cons

    there are none -- how can you beat friendly active service

    Advice to Management

    do not compromise

    The Home Depot2018-01-23
  4. "Good Job to fill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lot Associate in Boardman, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Very nice people to work with. Good temp job for in-between jobs.

    Cons

    Management can be a pain. Be prepared to do more than your job description, Senior employees will take advantage of newer inexperienced associates. No room for growth. Store #3805, Few friendly employees, lots of stuck-up ones.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and treat them with respect. Train employees on machinery who want to learn vs. putting them off.

    The Home Depot2017-11-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Asset Protection"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asset Protection in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like working in this field

    Cons

    There are no cons for me

    Advice to Management

    I'm a hard worker

    The Home Depot2017-11-02
  6. "Fun, hard working job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paint Sales Associate in Youngstown, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is descent when starting out. There are many opportunities to move up in the business! The people there are great too!

    Cons

    The scheduling sucks! Requesting off? Forget about it. You will not get that day or VACATION off. It's really busy all the time too :( lol

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect more!

    The Home Depot2017-08-22
  7. "Excellent 401 great co workers good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipping and Receiving in Niles, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent 401 great co workers

    Cons

    Closing then opening always short handed

    Advice to Management

    Overall great place to work

    The Home Depot2017-05-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paint Sales Associate in Youngstown, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steady pay. Utilize my skills

    Cons

    Skeleton Crew. No incentive to move forward. Lousy pay lousy raises.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to corporate. Provide decent raises as an incentive to stay and move forward with the company

    The Home Depot2017-03-27
  9. "Unloader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Unloader in Macedonia, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good starting pay for the work. At my location, initiative goes a long way and can net a part timer like my self about 30 - 35 hrs a week during busy times or 8+ truck weeks. They are not undermanned and upper management seems to focus on the process working toward the end goals after a month and half I'm still enthusiastic about working here.

    Cons

    The initial pay system that they have i n place is very poorly contrived. One side doesn't know what the other is doing and the setting up direct deposit is much more difficult than it should be.

    Advice to Management

    Stay mindful of the employees willing to work and work hard. Reward them with more hours.

    The Home Depot2017-01-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Garden Sales Associate in Streetsboro, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Retail and customer service experience, good starting job, great place to make friends that hate home depot as much as you.

    Cons

    Bad pay, unfair treatment, couldn't accept tips, supervisors did not practice what they preached. I was a garden sales associate starting at $9.25 an hour, and I was working EXTREMELY irregular hours (6-10 monday, 8-5 tuesday, off wednesday, 2-10 thursday, 6-2 Friday, and throw a dart at the wall to figure out my schedule the next week). They were not compliant with my requests to give me a more stable schedule and tailor...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay, compensate workers for added responsibility, train supervisors not to be lazy hypocrites

    The Home Depot2016-12-26
Found 38 reviews