The Home Depot Reviews in Anchorage, AK | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Anchorage Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
13%
Recommend to a Friend
9%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
4 Ratings
  1. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Home Depot for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned a great deal about hardware, flooring and decor

    Cons

    Honestly I really enjoyed the job and everyone I worked with, The reason I left was to attend school.

    Advice to Management

    Keep employees up to date with heaving equipment training.

    The Home Depot2018-11-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Frustrating Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MET Supervisor in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a great role, and has actual impact on the daily success of the store, and each and every associate and customer within.

    Cons

    In Alaska, logistics are much different than in the lower 48. Leadership does not factor that and the business model is based on every other store, coming out of Atlanta. Then you are held personally accountable when the square peg does not fit in the round hole.

    Advice to Management

    Accept that individuals truly are doing their best, and sometimes, outside the box is not a bad thought avenue. and by the way - rainbows are not for everyone!

    The Home Depot2019-08-23
  3. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Anchorage, AK

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people best benefits work place are good

    Cons

    None work as a team

    The Home Depot2017-03-14
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Kitchen and Bath Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Kitchen and Bath Designer in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    The Home Depot provides training, the hours are dependable from week to week , the pay is fair. The Dental and Health Insurance is reasonably priced. The Co workers who stick around for the most part are wonderful and hard working.

    Cons

    Kitchen and Bath Designers are constantly being pulled away from their desks to help people in other departments, they are also expected to pull stock cabinet orders when an order puller is not present. Designers are held to weekly sales goals, if you don't meet them consistently you will be demoted to another department. To make up the short weeks some Designers sell what ever they can - plywood, pellets anything.... The job is stressful.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It is of no use - management would not care - this being true at all levels.

    The Home Depot2016-11-16
  5. "Tool Rental Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Tool Rental Sales Associate in Eagle River, AK
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule for college students

    Cons

    Not enough hours even with open availability

    The Home Depot2016-08-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Big talk, little follow through"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bay Integrity Associate in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lots of one-on-one time with team leads, department managers, and sr management. Every position is valued and appreciated. Sr management takes great pains to make sure everyone is rewarded for good behavior.

    Cons

    Granted this could have been my specific store, however, since they implemented a program where rewards are based off of what other associates say/think of you, punishment is handled in much the same manner. This created a negative "big brother is watching" sort of enviroment. They would also do three month checkups, and if you are not behaving up to standards they could give you another three months to improve or... you're out. There will be no hinting or implication that you are not performing up to standards until they hit you with a "PIP" (productivity improvement plan) when that time came around my store, over 75% of the employees were hit with one and no one was safe. Senior management, HR assistants, department managers. They promise promotions and increased hours without any ability to implement follow-through.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Kill the "he said she said" nonesense.

    The Home Depot2016-08-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Refreshing alignment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Hardware Sales Associate in Wasilla, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    The store was very well aligned with the teaching and training coming to employees from corporate Home Depot. We were told and trained what and how to do the job, and we were rewarded and recognized for doing it and doing it well. Management had the good of the employees in mind. The work environment was fun and friendly and coworkers were friends and not enemies.

    Cons

    It is still a retail job, with all the challenges that entails. Hours can come and go depending on sales and your experience is likely to be specific to your store and manager. In any job or company, a poor manager makes for a poor work experience and environment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep that solid alignment of what corporate says, what district says what the store manager says and the department managers say. When all of those things agree, employees have confidence in the company and their understanding of it. And they feel more secure in their jobs.

    The Home Depot2016-06-11
  8. "home depot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Sales Associate in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    it helps you to improve your way connecting to other people by simply helping them what they need.

    Cons

    some people or costumers just being rude but its alright its part of the job to treat them right and give the best costumer service they need.

    Advice to Management

    be more attentive

    The Home Depot2016-01-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Be careful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay, reasonable working with a full time student's schedule, and working when it comes down to the grind.

    Cons

    Always understaffed, not fair on getting time off- not being approved till a week or two before vacation, managers not the best at communication, customer is always right to the end that assciocates are sometimes treated unfairly, not keep associates that have been with them for a awhile up to the same rates as those that they hired recently, and favoritism is common.

    Advice to Management

    The customer is not always right if someone is not treated right you should actually answering the phone, their phone, also you should be walking the floor to resolve these issues.

    The Home Depot2015-10-04

    The Home Depot Response

    November 18, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.

  10. "Warehouse/ Stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly enviornment and excellent customer service

    Cons

    no cons just looking for full time position

    The Home Depot2015-07-18

    The Home Depot Response

    July 21, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!

Found 15 reviews