The Home Depot Reviews in Ann Arbor, MI | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Ann Arbor Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
4 Ratings
  1. "Boss Of Everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - The Boss of Me in Ypsilanti, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Professional work by me never subpar

    Cons

    Never try to con anybody.

    The Home Depot2018-05-27
  2. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Keeps you on your feet, good practice costumer service skills, nice staff

    Cons

    Not much other than sometimes hard to remember where specific items are

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing your thing

    The Home Depot2019-11-12
  3. "Decent job with decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lot Associate in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice work environment depending on the management.

    Cons

    Learning more skills doesn't increase your pay unless you are promoted.

    The Home Depot2019-03-14
  4. "The Home Depot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Designer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    THD is an amazing place to work. Very helpful management that helps you accomplish your goals as long as you put in the effort

    Cons

    Some of the customers can be a bit challenging... That's literally the only con I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep helping your associates who show they care about the company! They're the ones who will become great leaders

    The Home Depot2018-02-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Merchandising Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company that cares about its people and the communities it operates within. They not only speak it, they live it.

    Cons

    They are in the retail market. Hours are long and never consistent. Holidays and weekends you can expect to be working.

    The Home Depot2017-09-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good job if you like to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for advancement, fixed shifts for full-time employees, comparable benefits to similar companies

    Cons

    Daily staffing is usually too lean, physical work and heavy lifting in most departments, high turnover (typical of retail)

    The Home Depot2017-05-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Cashier in Ypsilanti, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is usually catering on holidays. There are some medical benefits for full time and part time employees. There is an opportunity for a yearly raise if performance meets management standards.

    Cons

    The set schedule can sometimes cause issues with personal schedule. At times part time employees get little to no hours.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your employees like people

    The Home Depot2017-02-11
  8. "Flooring Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Décor and Flooring Specialist in Ann Arbor, MI

    I worked at The Home Depot for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers and you get to know a lot

    Cons

    sometimes administration came down hard

    The Home Depot2016-02-10
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Director Merchandising Execution in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Terrific Company to work for. Benefits are better than any other Company. If you work hard advancement is easily obtained.

    Cons

    Promotions are very politically driven, all about who you know. If you are politically savvy you will be extremely successful, if you are not you will struggle.

    Advice to Management

    Keep rewarding associates for their performance based on metrics and leadership. Never change the bonus or success sharing structure, it allows you to stand apart from other Company's.

    The Home Depot2015-11-17
  10. "Seasonal Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Ypsilanti, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working outside in the garden center, with customers, and getting to be in on a variety of projects customers would bring to me for planning or implementing. Schedule flexibility was great and generally coworkers were nice to get to know and work with.

    Cons

    My supervisor was not mature enough to make working with him worthwhile. The corporate retail environment made getting to use my skills and experiences less-important than just following along with the training.

    Advice to Management

    Don't blow off people who may be interested in moving up.

    The Home Depot2015-11-04
Found 12 reviews