The Home Depot Reviews in Asheville, NC | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Asheville Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
6 Ratings
  1. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cashier in Asheville, NC

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Theye are very flexiable working with your schedule and accomadating elderly, vets and handicapp ed individuals.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say.

    Advice to Management

    None

    The Home Depot2018-03-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier/Customer Service Representative/Musician in Asheville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was faster paced so the time went by faster and my department head was a very nice lady. Everyone one that worked at the service desk with me was just wonderful.

    Cons

    The management was an absolute joke. They were completely hands off, everytime I did see them doing anything is was talking to each other. They never bothered to learn anything about important departments and it showed. Nobody that worked at that location at that particular time thought the management was anything but embarrassing and frustrating. The company made a lot of claims that I never found to be true...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more hands on. Not in a way that intimidates your employees but offer to help and be a part of the store instead of hide in the back doing what i always found to be nothing.

    The Home Depot2018-06-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Don't Work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tool Rental Associate in Asheville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co Workers Customers are cool Cool work environment Some perks Flexiable schedule

    Cons

    Unqualified management low pay conform or leave attitude no room for advancement lack of benefits

    Advice to Management

    Actually put people in place that know how to deal with people

    The Home Depot2017-10-31
  4. Helpful (4)

    "hours at HD are very poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Sales Associate in Asheville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy this job and do the best that I can, when I get to be able to work.

    Cons

    One week is 4 hours a week, the next week, 8 hours. I cannot survive and pay bills on this scheduling. I have had it!

    Advice to Management

    Management is so poor it is unbelievable. I work in Asheville, #3625, Management here is is so horrible I have to call up Corporate for help.

    The Home Depot2017-07-06
  5. "Hardware supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hardware Supervisor in Hendersonville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    We always work on holidays

    The Home Depot2017-04-30
  6. "Great place to work with bi-annual success sharing ( profit sharing.)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Asheville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stability and they do seem to care about their employees. They are all about diversity and inclusion. They are always feeding us.

    Cons

    You have to start out part-time. I do not feel as though the pay increases are fair. The store gets a certain percentage and the management goes through the list and decides how much to give each associate. I am accustomed to a set cost of living annual raise.

    The Home Depot2017-02-17
  7. "Pro Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pro Sales Associate in Asheville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Good place to work in the pro sales department

    Cons

    schedule is demanding at times, especially in the summer

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    The Home Depot2017-01-21
  8. "DH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tool Rental Supervisor in Asheville, NC

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong environment for growth. Well made and accessible systems. Roles that can impact local community in a very positive manner.

    Cons

    Following big picture directives. Less adaptive cookie cutter style goals and objectives.

    The Home Depot2016-11-12
  9. "Lot associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Asheville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exercise and be outside. Easy, low stress job. They have functions with free food or if they do charge for the food it goes towards the Homer fund which helps fellow employees in times of need.

    Cons

    Have to deal with customers and answer or find answers to questions you don't know. Impatient people will probably be stressed out a lot.

    Advice to Management

    Better scheduling to help train new employees. Watching training videos is kinda boring and is minimally retainable in knowledge.

    The Home Depot2016-04-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Hallelujah I got out!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Cashier in Asheville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hard to come up with this. I suspect if it is your first job or you need supplemental income and don't mind working for peanuts, it would be a good start.

    Cons

    Ops Mgr. apparently cannot decipher SOPs for HCs. Told me I could not take a supplemental job and the position required open availability. After 5 months of adding debt to a credit card in order to pay for the gas/sitter/food, I called the EOC (employee council) who shared that the Ops Mgr was wrong. Had it not been for the carrot dangling (as I had previously worked at Lowes as a Project Mgr/Specialist - with a lot...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit dangling carrots. Do as you say. Don't yell at your associates in front of customers (actually, ever, how unprofessional). Don't preach "advancement" when retail, as we know, has gone to the 20/80 rule (20% full time/ 80% p/t); LEARN YOUR SOPS and when in doubt - get the facts not your interpretation.

    The Home Depot2015-06-25

    The Home Depot Response

    June 29, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your hard work and dedication. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Although we are unable to comment on your specific experience, we value our associates and understand that our associates are the key to our success. We strive to create an environment ...

    Show More
Found 12 reviews