The Home Depot Reviews in Atlanta, GA | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Atlanta Reviews

Updated May 27, 2017
1,111 reviews

Filter

Filter

Atlanta, GA Area

3.6
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
323 Ratings

1,111 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • work schedule to improve work life balance (in 419 reviews)

  • Never a consistent schedule as a full-time employee (in 732 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Solid all around"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Agile (pair programming, tdd, ci/cd)
    Modern (replacing legacy Java or vendor programs with Angular/React/Go)

    Cons

    Micro management has increased with the move to Agile
    Management / Product Manager roles are not clearly defined


  2. "Good company, limited growth opportunities"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Like the work, fast paced and challenging. Money is good and rewards (stock) are good.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to move up; can be tough on work life balance.

    The Home Depot Response

    May 25, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  3. "Logistic Planner"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Logistics Planner in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Logistics Planner in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The best reason to work at Home Depot is the commitment to diversity and inclusion among there employees. I love that the Home Depot offers Associate Resource Groups such as The Women's Link to enhance professional growth among women.

    Cons

    At this time I have no cons as my tenure and career at the Home Depot has been successful.

    The Home Depot Response

    May 15, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great Social Environment, Poor Work Environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Peachtree City, GA
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Peachtree City, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot (More than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone is kind, including the managers. There is a large support network of coworkers that will help you if you need it.

    Cons

    Many department heads are completely useless and the departments tend to be understaffed to the point that many different associates had to stretch across departments.

    Advice to Management

    PLEASE STAFF BETTER! PLEASE!


  6. "Senior Security Engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Security Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Security Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good work place, good salaries for new people

    Cons

    Home Depot does not provide good health insurance, you better find a good insurance other that Home Depot

    The Home Depot Response

    May 15, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  7. "hardware"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hardware Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Hardware Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    didn't really see the pros working there I guess I could say you work with some cool people that you did not know before so I can not complain there

    Cons

    over all the place is drama with mangers with big egos no one is willing to help you move up crab in the bucket mind set is sucked had more bad days then good

    Advice to Management

    change our mindset take care of the employee stop treating them like crap and they wil bustthere but for you keep them happy is wts important then they will turn around and take care of customemrs


  8. "Anonymoous"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great Pay & Benefits
    Ability to move within company
    Promotes within

    Cons

    Constant leadership changes
    No leadership training
    No work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Create a consistent leadership succession plan

    The Home Depot Response

    May 8, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.


  9. "Great company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Cashier in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Head Cashier in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Wonderful benefits for both full and part time employees. Those who show imitative will likely succeed. There is room for growth within the company for those who show determination.

    Cons

    Very strict attendance policy. Often working with people without secondary education. Relatively low pay rates. A bad experience with a customer can destroy your chances with this company.

    Advice to Management

    You all are doing a decent job. It may be beneficial to show more appreciation for employees who show promise.

    The Home Depot Response

    May 15, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.


  10. "Great Company to Work For"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The Home Depot is a great place to work. They really are into their core values and taking care of their people. I have only been there for a few weeks but everyone has been so helpful in answering any questions I may have and seeing to it that I am comfortable in my new position.

    Cons

    I really dont have any cons so far. My only wish is that I had more hours.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    The Home Depot Response

    May 8, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  11. "Customer support representative (corporate)"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Marietta, GA
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Marietta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits
    Room for growth
    Great environment
    Great peers
    Great money
    The company listens to all associates ideas and try to make changes that are fair and appropriate
    This is definitely a equal opportunity work place

    Cons

    Scheduling
    Home Depot scheduling in certain departments are competitive , you never know what your schedule will be every three months in certain departments .
    As long as you keep your score (great ranking on calls) and attendance good you will not have to worry about working late.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work , y'all are awesome

    The Home Depot Response

    May 8, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


Showing 1,111 of 14,487 reviews
Reset Filters