The Home Depot Back Office Reviews | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Back Office Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
6 Ratings
  1. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back Office Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They are flexible with schedules, decent pay.

    Cons

    Could get boring during slow season.

    The Home Depot2018-02-03
  2. "Good place to learn new things and potential to advance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back Office Associate in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Get to work around some great people and ability to move and learn new things. Opportunity to earn bonuses twice a year.

    Cons

    Communication between management and floor associates is lacking. Managements talks of an open door policy but whenever the manager is in the office it seems the door is closed.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate management needs to think about how changes will actually affect stores in different areas of the country. Not everything that works in one area of the country will work in other areas of the country.

    The Home Depot2018-03-07

    The Home Depot Response

    March 7, 2018Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We wish you were happier with your current management. Please call 1.866.698.4347 and select the option for the Associate Advice Council Group (AACG) to express your concerns. We’d like to help.

  3. "Hours cut without warning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Back Office Associate in Odessa, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Some nice dedicated and helpful employees.

    Cons

    Very irregular scheduled hours. No benefits of value for part time employees.

    Advice to Management

    Save the anti-union speeches. Disheartening to employees wanting a positive employee/management relationship.

    The Home Depot2017-03-02
  4. "Back Office Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Back Office Associate 

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Quiet surroundings, good part time gig

    Cons

    Work very early morning hours

    The Home Depot2016-10-13
  5. "Back Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Back Office in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are nice people who work here and you do get to work by yourself some or most of the time.

    Cons

    The pay is bad and the hours are equally bad (starting at 5AM daily). The job also gets boring and can be stressful when there is a problem with the money.

    The Home Depot2016-10-01
  6. "I'd work there again if I were desperate for money."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Back Office Support in Smithtown, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent training. I was glad to meet so many friendly people. The management is gung-ho but still good at making the place reasonable to work.

    Cons

    The wage was dismal. I looked around at all the lives that make up the employees and wondered how they do it.

    Advice to Management

    Pay a living wage.

    The Home Depot2016-06-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Work schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back Office Lead in Cedar Hill, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    only select people get regular hours. Part times don't have to work evenings if they choose

    Cons

    May not have regular scheduled hours during to being retail.

    Advice to Management

    Don't play favoritism! Yes it is very noticeable

    The Home Depot2016-03-12
  8. "Solid Part-time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back Office Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Extensive training, opportunities for hours when needed (especially in peak hours)

    Cons

    Lack of guidance for career path unless you are in tracking program. Growth opportunities seem too slow

    Advice to Management

    Consider limiting or filtering the volume of information through regular management interaction with associates. I'm sure there are plenty of advancement opportunities, but it is difficult to get the signal from the noise.

    The Home Depot2015-11-24
  9. "Vault / Back Office Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back Office in Syosset, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bonus twice a year, flexible and comfortable work attire, room for movement within the company/store

    Cons

    employer expects a lot from their employees, wage increases are yearly and are meager to say the least, has an unpredictable work schedule for a full-time associate (you are expected to be available 7 days a week during business hours, and your hours are not set)

    The Home Depot2015-10-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Back Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Back Office Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They have adequate benefits available at a cost.

    Cons

    I was not given proper training for the job that I was hired, not was I fully informed as to what that full job description was until after I was hired. In orientation, we were repeatedly reminded/informed basically that any rule violation could result "up to and including termination"

    Advice to Management

    Train your store managers to follow up on their assistants.

    The Home Depot2015-07-01
Found 12 reviews