The Home Depot Reviews in Baltimore, MD | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Baltimore Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
46 Ratings
  1. "I am not sure of what you want"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MET Team in Annapolis, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    good job great benefits looking forward to working for a company with the same benefits.

    Cons

    I was let go after disagreement with boss.

    The Home Depot2019-04-22
  2. "Store Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Millwork Sales Specialist in Annapolis, MD

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and diverse talent

    Cons

    Somewhat Difficult to get trained on certain task.

    Advice to Management

    Create a training plan to have new associates learn something new about each department monthly.

    The Home Depot2018-12-24
  3. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Aberdeen, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good people, challenging work and opportunity to make good friends.

    Cons

    Inconsistent policies, some favoritism with advancement opportunities

    The Home Depot2018-11-07
  4. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits , Great work environment, and wonderful pay

    Cons

    Don’t know any cons I love this compAny

    The Home Depot2018-11-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Ellicott City, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Home Depot acknowledges their employees and you feel like family with everyone that you work with.

    Cons

    Getting someone to respond when you need help from a department and the customers get upset because nobody ever shows up.

    Advice to Management

    None

    The Home Depot2018-10-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Learned a lot, didn't earn a thing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    A great benefits matrix package

    Cons

    Devastating poor pay, poor Staffing. irregular hours not conducive to any stable lifestyle for a full-time employee

    Advice to Management

    Invest as much time into your employees as you do in your bottom line/dollar. Your bottom line will always be achieved and accomplished as your employees would be happy having felt appreciated.

    The Home Depot2018-09-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Management sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate - Paint Department in Cockeysville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job was good, learned a lot. Customers were generally friendly and patient when we were busy. Able to get time off if you gave ample notice. Reasonable pay for part time retail. $50 wiggle room we were able to use for customer satisfaction without having to ask a manager.

    Cons

    Racist black managers toward white employees. Managers and supervisors completely unapproachable despite “open door policy”. Managers do not know how to talk to people or make announcements over the intercom; ive had customers complain to me about this. Ridiculous rules to follow. Rude HR/scheduler. Scheduler doesnt know what shes doing; either the department has every employee working at the same time or there...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop talking down to employees like theyre stupid. Get to know who your employees are in order to make yourself approachable. Employees would like to voice concerns. Hire for ability and not body count. Managers need to learn how to speak to people and not be racist toward white employees. When hiring, stop misleading people to believe they actually have a discount because they dont.

    The Home Depot2018-08-18
  8. "This would be my first experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Cashier in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for more than a year

    Pros

    Dependable, team leader, postive attitude, enthusiastic

    Cons

    Learning the cash register, working in different environment

    Advice to Management

    Be considerate of new employees learning

    The Home Depot2018-07-31
  9. "Part time associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Annapolis, MD
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with Close to home Love helping customers find solutions

    Cons

    Some management issues poor review process

    Advice to Management

    Sit down with employees once in a while to review their work. Make it very clear what the employee's goals are and how they are doing at accomplishing them.

    The Home Depot2018-05-01

    The Home Depot Response

    May 2, 2018Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please call 1.866.698.4347 and select the option for the Associate Advice Council Group (AACG) to express your concerns.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Outside sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OUTSIDE SALES in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Local leads and lots of them

    Cons

    No one can actually install anything.

    The Home Depot2018-04-16
Found 118 reviews