The Home Depot Reviews in Beaverton, OR | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Beaverton Reviews

Updated May 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
3 Ratings
  1. "Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team. Live human interaction.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    The Home Depot2018-05-05
  2. "Appliance Specilist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Appliance Sales Specialist in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work with customers and management. Work can be fun. Nice benefits.

    Cons

    No commission, or discounts. Taco Bell in same parking lot pays more.

    Advice to Management

    Employees need to be paid more to keep quality of customer service.

    The Home Depot2017-01-07
  3. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Good communication with management. Thorough training. Friendly atmosphere. Good benefits. They care about their employees.

    Cons

    Minimum wage to start, yearly raise was only 25 cents I think

    The Home Depot2016-09-26
  4. "COS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Order Specialist in Beaverton, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A community of fellow employees to work with and share majority of your time together

    Cons

    Pay is not competetive or equal to standard of living costs.

    The Home Depot2016-10-20
  5. "The Home Depot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packdown Crew in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Laid back. I had a cool supervisor so he made the work funny. I got to meet different kinds of people while working there, people I wouldn't normally talk to but they were genuinely nice guys there.

    Cons

    I had to clock in at 4 am so waking up was horrible. When the store manager changed the way we did our work he made it extremely unproductive.

    Advice to Management

    The ones doing the actual work know the best way to do it.

    The Home Depot2015-11-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Beaverton, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The interview process was simple, and fast. Orientation was a full 8 hour day and covered all the basics and such

    Cons

    HORRIBLE rules regarding any form of sitting down on the job even if there were no customers we were expected to stand. Training was all done through computer, with ocassional hands on. I did not get to finish training, as they were understaffed so i was thrown into my job without knowing fully what i was doing. I was told I needed to finish the training but supervisors would never give me the time to do so.

    Advice to Management

    If you're understaffed and hire new people let them finish training in full before throwing them into their postion. Otherwise it creates more work for the supervisors, and makes customers have to wait longer because the cashier doesnt know what they are doing.

    The Home Depot2015-10-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beaverton, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace environment with lots of direct customer interaction and ability to manage customer needs to their satisfaction and empowered to provide personalized service throughout the store

    Cons

    Pay is below average and not adjusted for additional skills and responsibilities such as being certified to drive various equipment that makes for added liability and consequences. No set work schedules. Understaffed to handle customer load.

    Advice to Management

    better pay equals happy and productive and loyal employees which would minimize turnover and result in more effective and knowledgable associates which would raise customer satisfaction.

    The Home Depot2015-09-13
  8. "the best company I've worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Appliance Sales Specialist in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    values, ethics, employee driven, active in the community, great management

    Cons

    wages are a little low, but not too bad.

    Advice to Management

    keep doing a great job communicating to the employees.

    The Home Depot2015-07-17

    The Home Depot Response

    July 21, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Getting rid of older Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tool Rental Associate in Beaverton, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most employees are good to work with. The Assistant managers need a lot of work!!!!

    Cons

    Dumping all rhe older employees that know the most about the products. All new employees don't know anything.

    Advice to Management

    Keep dumpin your older employees, and Lowes will over take Home Depot in the next 5 years. they are gaining on HD every year.

    The Home Depot2014-05-27

    The Home Depot Response

    June 4, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your hard work and dedication. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Although we are unable to comment on your specific experience, we value our associates and understand that our associates are the key to our success. We strive to create an environment ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Very sexist and female phobic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paint Sales Associate in Beaverton, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get a W2 and paid 2x monthly. Bathrooms are "okay". Your customers care about good customer service and are repeat customers if they like the helpers.

    Cons

    All training is via outdated computers in closed stalls/rooms. Part of training includes 2+ hours of anti-union pressure. The message, "if you support unions you put your friends and coworkers' jobs at high risk. We are proud to offer all the support of a union without the dues." If you are offered a job while on the property whether on the clock or not and do not immediately walk away you will be terminated even if you...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would pay more attention to sexual harassment laws and hazing issues. I would recommend proper training and attention to listed disabilities and health concerns in applications instead of ignoring obvious health issues and pressuring associates to "man up".

    The Home Depot2014-01-08

    The Home Depot Response

    January 13, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your hard work and dedication. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Although we are unable to comment on your specific experience, we value our associates and understand that our associates are the key to our success. We strive to create an environment ...

    Show More
Found 11 reviews