The Home Depot Reviews in Canton, OH | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Canton Reviews

Updated 19 Jul 2018

To filter reviews, or .

1.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
16%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
2 Ratings
  1. "sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate - Paint Department in Canton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone was really nice. We had a great manager. They even gave me sick days and holidays when I was only part time.

    Cons

    Nothing much to say about this. I really loved working there.

    The Home Depot2017-12-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not A Very Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Team Associate in Massillon, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good but that’s about it

    Cons

    Favoritism, no upward mobility, poor management, sexism in the workplace, strict attendance policy, no disciplinary actions taken against bad behavior, reluctance to fire employees who just don’t work, understaffed, freight system that doesn’t work, rude subcontractors, ect.

    Advice to Management

    Actually come to work instead of always being on vacation, take care of your employees and they will take care of you

    The Home Depot2018-07-19
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "It was good for the time I needed it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Massillon, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Set schedules. It was fun to use the lift equipment. Get to work in different areas everyday.

    Cons

    Poor level of compensation. Very repetitive movements all day. Store associates don't appreciate your efforts.

    Advice to Management

    Stop leveraging applicant pool against poor compensation.

    The Home Depot2017-12-17
  5. "Home depot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate in Canton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Offered tuition reimbursements assistance gor students

    Cons

    Growth potential was limited for young employees looking to advance

    Advice to Management

    Create growth opportunities for young employees

    The Home Depot2017-11-22

    The Home Depot Response

    November 22, 2017Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Did you know we offer a variety of training courses, leadership programs, mentoring programs and promotion opportunities to associates at all levels of the company?

  6. "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in North Canton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very good training program, friendly workmates and supervisors

    Cons

    you have to be relatively home improvement savvy to be able to answer questions and look up hardware parts

    The Home Depot2017-04-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It's Okay... With The Right People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Services Associate in North Canton, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, decent pay, good mobility within the departments. You can advance if you want to pretty easily. You'll learn a lot no matter what you currently do.

    Cons

    Your local management is going to make or break your experience. Our store managers began jockeying for position as soon as we had a new general manager come in. You don't want to get caught up in that.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the people. Happy employees make happy customers.

    The Home Depot2016-06-10
  8. "Not a BAD company........."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Depot Cashier in Canton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good easy room for learning other jobs within the store & moving up to them from cashier. The customer experience there was fairly good (they aren't very spoiled). You were backed up by managers when customers were trying to do things they shouldn't be able to. If you like aggressive team spirit & company friendliness, this is a good place. They also have the Homer Foundation, which is in play to aid associates... in desperate times, such as house fire, imminent disconnects on different bills, etc. You have to apply & be approved or not, but it is there.

    Show More

    Cons

    We had mats to stand on...but were expected to spend every moment of our long shifts not ACTUALLY ringing up customers standing on the hard cement floor at the end of our lines & greeting customers/asking if we can help them.....even if the last 5 cashiers in the row did the exact same thing. Customers felt downright hunted on the front end when we were behaving. Changing availability saw immediate lash backs in... hours being cut...even when the availability change trimmed off days they never scheduled you for. Despite the open door policy they said they had, attempts to communicate issues to upper management was generally greeted with a "why are you bothering me" air. They force you to harass customers about opening an account with Home Depot credit cards - if you don't open at least a few new accounts a month, they will discuss "employment options" with you - aka, get the lead out & open card accounts or you will be fired. (most folk while I was there either had one already or didn't want one at all....& were tired of being harassed about it)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the mandatory credit card sales, raise base pay rate to something liveable, respect availability & don't punish changes that shouldn't touch pre-existing hours.

    The Home Depot2016-01-31
  9. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Garden Associate in North Canton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Focus on product knowledge, enjoyable customer relationships, good hours

    Cons

    Push to sell extended service plans and credit, managers bonuses tied to cutting hours of hourly employees.

    The Home Depot2015-09-03
  10. "Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FFT Freight Team Pack Out in Massillon, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Homer Fund, college reimbursement, web based training, success sharing, profit sharing, direct strock purchase plan, equal opportunity and advancement

    Cons

    Soooo many employees I don't even hardly know anyone's names. So many managers I can't keep track of exactly who everyone is.

    Advice to Management

    Everyone has treated me fairly so far. I have zero complaints other than there are so many of you I forget who is who.

    The Home Depot2015-08-24

    The Home Depot Response

    August 27, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!

  11. "Great culture, great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Massillon, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The corporate leadership is on point and cares for the associates. Programs like the Health Challenge and The Home Fund really help people. The people who work there are talented and motivated. Its a mix of second career people and young people working their way up. There's plenty of opportunity to advance.

    Cons

    Work schedule/hours (its retail). Pay is OK, borderline low income.

    Advice to Management

    Good supervisors don't always make good ASMs. Develop a better/more stringent RMA interview. Focus more in leadership qualities than operational knowledge.

    The Home Depot2014-07-09

    The Home Depot Response

    July 14, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.

Found 11 reviews