The Home Depot Reviews in Charlotte, NC | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Charlotte Reviews

Updated May 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 93 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
28 Ratings
  1. "Great place for part-time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My co-workers were very supportive. The managers were willing and able to help out with whatever scenario came up. The salary was higher than minimum wage. The company has a strong sense of identity and fosters a familial feeling between coworkers.

    Cons

    The computer system/algorithm in charge of scheduling worker hours sometimes gets it wrong, resulting in too few cashiers or lot associates at times to handle large amounts of customers. This can overburden employees that were scheduled.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being supportive of the employees on your teams!

    The Home Depot2018-08-12
  2. "Good Stores than the bad stores"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Charlotte, NC
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexibility to move locations, Benefits 401K, stock program, college reimbursement, etc. and Solving customers problems.

    Cons

    Management is hit or miss, I worked at 3 different stores during my 4 year stint. Some were great and had there head on, others seemed like everyday they walked in they would be getting fired cause they even knew inside they were a dirt bag.

    The Home Depot2019-05-18
  3. "Garden Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Charlotte, NC

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You are given lots of freedom to work how you want

    Cons

    lots of labor involved

    The Home Depot2019-05-15
  4. "A Okay place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Rock Hill, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have flexible hours.

    Cons

    It is a boring job when slow.

    Advice to Management

    Have more rewards for workers

    The Home Depot2019-03-26
  5. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly associates, can move up easily, and good benefits

    Cons

    Pay is just ok

    Advice to Management

    Higher pay for employees that have been there for awhile

    The Home Depot2018-09-13
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Service Desk Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service/Return Desk Associate in Pineville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really love the people I work with. The managers are great, my co-workers are nice and helpful. My general manager is the most helpful manager I have ever worked with, he is never in the office he is ALWAYS on the floor!! The pay is good too, I get $11 an hour. Good for being a student. Benefits are amazing also.

    Cons

    Cons include the hours. In order to be full time, you MUST have open availability. No exceptions. So I had to work part-time. But, they schedule so weird so I don't get that many hours (at my store, all stores are different). It can get frustrating watching people steal, because we aren't allowed to stop shop-lifters. They schedule only one person to open and to close and you're by yourself for hours. It can get so busy...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I suggest scheduling more people. People will get more hours, but also help around the store will be better. And be more strict about the return policy. And also, hire an asset protection guy so he can tackle them in the parking lot. Thanks.

    The Home Depot2018-07-31
  7. "2 years customer service experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Pineville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to get started.

    Cons

    Needs human resource positions upgrades in store. Needs work on how to make a w2. Ethical issues with merit based pay.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your people and they will last you a long time.

    The Home Depot2018-04-25
  8. "It was a good experience, I enjoyed my time working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative/Cashier in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The environment was nice, the customers and associates were awesome.

    Cons

    Not alot of room for growth, wasn't promoted that often or recognized for my work.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within before hiring outside

    The Home Depot2018-03-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Always hear about the bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Sick time and vacation time for part time employment. Co-workers are very nice.

    Cons

    Don't give very many hours even for a part time position. Never positive feedback, only what you did wrong. Want you to work every weekend but if you ask for one day off they will decline it.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your part time employees with more respect.

    The Home Depot2018-03-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Freight Team Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Team Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid my bills for one semester of college

    Cons

    Everything else. Was not that great of a place to work very "high school" feel. If you weren't "cool" enough or didn't hang out with the right people you were pretty much shamed. Paid my bills for a semester of college but was not a great experience don't even put the job on my resume. And during training they actually tell you not to talk to union reps or you'll be "let go".

    Advice to Management

    Not much advice I can give to management I am not a manager just make it a better place to work where people like to go. Can't say it's this way at all Home Depots' but it definitely was here. Keep an eye on your stores.

    The Home Depot2018-02-03
Found 93 reviews