The Home Depot Reviews in Conroe, TX | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Conroe Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.5
20%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
4 Ratings
  1. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for. Great growth opportunities are there for those that are willing to put forth the effort, nothing will be handed to you at Home Depot.

    Cons

    None, it is a great company to work for.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    The Home Depot2016-02-29
  2. "Home Depot is not a good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Conroe, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits, interesting, co-workers are easy to get along with

    Cons

    does not pay well, hard to get a raise, management not knowledgeable

    The Home Depot2019-09-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Conroe, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people and good customers

    Cons

    Bad management and horrible pay for the work that had to be done daily

    Advice to Management

    Higher up management like regional managers check in disguise without telling the store to see what actually happens at work

    The Home Depot2019-05-01
  4. "Too Strict over occurrences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Has good pay for a first job.

    Cons

    Poor management and strict schedules

    The Home Depot2018-09-04
  5. Helpful (3)

    "MET Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Same schedule every day -5 days a week, every week (40 hours) -Major holidays off -Various bonuses (success sharing, tax bonus, disaster relief, Homer awards) -Obligated to the vendors over the customers. -Discounts available on car insurance, pet insurance, eye care, restaurants, etc. -Homer Fund provides for employees and families in desperate need of assistance. -Homer Awards offer tiered rewards for hard... work. -Ambition and hard work is rewarded. -Employee stock purchase plan offers 15% discount on stocks, and HD stocks have historically been an excellent investment. -Mostly work indoors

    Show More

    Cons

    -No employee discount at Home Depot -Day shift starts at 6am. Night team works over night. 6am-2:30pm and 9pm-7am respectively. (But you belong to only one of these teams.) -All work is timed and management pressures for both quality and quantity. -Only 4 hours of sick time per month -Shift covering/switching doesn't exist due to everyone having the same schedule. -You will be walking on concrete all day.

    The Home Depot2018-04-27
  6. "ASDS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Support Department Supervisor in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for more than 8 years

    Pros

    fair pay and benefits, great coworkers, promotes from within, ability to advance, earned time off and sick time, gain home improvement knowledge from other associates

    Cons

    cons seem to vary from store to store depending on management - my experience was that management would pick and chose which human resources guidelines they wanted to follow and it was not always fair from associate to associate

    Advice to Management

    train store managers to interact positively and fairly with all store associates regardless of personal feelings towards them

    The Home Depot2016-09-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lumber and Building Materials Associate in Conroe, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I learn something new almost every day. Work can be satisfying if a bit too much physical labour. Co-workers are generally very nice and enjoyable to work with

    Cons

    Understaffed almost always. for the work inputted the pay does not reflect. customers expect you to know everything in your department

    Advice to Management

    when there are a build up of customers waiting, trust me I know. Being told my department is behind and pointing out everything wrong while it might make you feel better only slows me down even more. Let us do are job and recognize what type of help we actually need.

    The Home Depot2016-05-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "not very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Nightshift Freight Associate in Conroe, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Bonus checks Are nice but wish there were ones for each quarter.

    Cons

    nightshift gets blamed for everything in the departments. It's like we are the red headed step child.

    Advice to Management

    I have been working with thd for over 4 yrs and make around 11.00 only because they bumped everyone's start pay to this. So I make what new employees are making and have brought this up and nobody will help me out with an increase. I am usually one of the first one done and go and help others out. I am usually the go to guy if our dh is off to get everything done. So I am looking to switch to lowes or somewhere else... where pay is better.

    Show More
    The Home Depot2016-03-08
  9. "Floor specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Conroe, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Driving a forklift and being a Richard to people. Also nice not having to care about your job. Lots of hot strange.

    Cons

    Not enough strange coming through. People want help with stuff that I'm an expert in but really I have no clue about. F your floors. I don't care just do it will be funny.

    Advice to Management

    Management was cool. Don't worry bout nothing.

    The Home Depot2016-02-25
  10. "Just a part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Success Share if your store performed well

    Cons

    There are no cons that i can think of

    Advice to Management

    pay all employees more across the board

    The Home Depot2014-12-22
Found 13 reviews