The Home Depot Reviews in Des Moines, IA | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Des Moines Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
0%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
1 Ratings
  1. "I am very satisfied with my experiences working at The Home Depot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    They have created a culture where associates feel respected, their contributions are valued and they have equal access to growth and development opportunities.

    Cons

    It;s a large company with multiple layers of management and approval. Communication from the top down is excellent on "big picture" issues such as company wide initiatives, market share and seasonal goals. However they fall short communicating rational and timeline for changes to processes and priorities.

    Advice to Management

    The retail business is fast paced and sometimes refereed to as controlled chaos. Front line associates are your best tools for building a profitable company. Initiate and focus communication efforts to the associate level sooner. Just because store management knows a new program or change is coming doesn't mean the associates are necessarily informed. Use the technology you have in place and expand access through the...

    Show More
    The Home Depot2012-02-17
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom in appearance, so long as it was kept reasonable. Store not kept open late at night. Good pay.

    Cons

    Poor management choices. Constant threats about pushing credit and even devolving into counselling over not mentioning the survey, even if the customer only bought a soda. Employees who didn't pull their own weight or even flat out refused to do their jobs were never reprimanded, but employees who consistently went above and beyond were punished for things they had no control over. Constantly understaffed, yet people...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring more people who are extremely unqualified for the job and start giving the people that need more hours time on the schedule. Punishing people for not getting credit cards which is something out of our hands is demoralizing. Actually work with your employees and get to know them, instead of treating them all the same and take accountability.

    The Home Depot2017-07-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Could be better and appreciated more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Is the customers you get build relationships with and I work with a great team! And love my hrs!

    Cons

    You get treated differently if you don't kiss butt around there nor do they appreciate some those workers abilities to getting Home Depot to where they are today! They just don't appreciate you enough!

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your team players cause we work hard to satisfy our customers and make Home Depot the best place to shop with great customer services and making sure aisles and bays are shoppable!

    The Home Depot2017-06-08
  4. "department Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Not enough pay and management nerds to be improved

    Advice to Management

    Actually help your associates

    The Home Depot2015-07-06

    The Home Depot Response

    July 7, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. Our associates and managers alike are essential parts of The Home Depot’s network. We appreciate your feedback and will share this information with others.

  5. "associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Good pay descent benefits can have as many hours as u want and they promote from with in and the hours are good

    Cons

    Management leaves alot to be desired if u have alot of years in then they seem to get rid of you big turn over

    Advice to Management

    learn to treat your employees better give them better pay and you might have less turnover lack of respect from management to associates

    The Home Depot2015-05-15

    The Home Depot Response

    June 9, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. Our associates and managers alike are essential parts of The Home Depot’s network. We appreciate your feedback and will share this information with others.

  6. "non interested folks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Check Out in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice employees in front desk

    Cons

    folks who stay hidden in the back

    Advice to Management

    train more and keep them professional

    The Home Depot2014-07-01

    The Home Depot Response

    July 8, 2014Client Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We have shared your feedback with others. Our associates are encouraged to adopt and adapt good ideas from others, and initiate creative and innovative ways of serving our customers and improving the business.

Found 6 reviews