The Home Depot Reviews in Des Moines, IA | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Des Moines Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun and easy job

    Cons

    Some management styles are not effective at all

    Advice to Management

    work with your associates don't just deligate

    The Home Depot2018-05-24
  2. "Management has forgotten HD values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in West Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is great for a part time job and our ASM Mike is amazing great manager.

    Cons

    75% of management is awful and refuses to help Corporate is usually 10x more helpful at addressing our problems then the actually management in the store. Recognition rarely comes to those who deserve it in many departments.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to associates their morale is dropping severely and has created us against them "taking care of our people applied to employees and customers. Not exclusively shareholders.

    The Home Depot2018-06-10
  3. "Cabinet Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Ankeny, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible hours, casual attire, and close to home

    Cons

    not enough employees per shift. No discount

    Advice to Management

    pay those well with experience like the old home depot philosophy

    The Home Depot2018-01-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom in appearance, so long as it was kept reasonable. Store not kept open late at night. Good pay.

    Cons

    Poor management choices. Constant threats about pushing credit and even devolving into counselling over not mentioning the survey, even if the customer only bought a soda. Employees who didn't pull their own weight or even flat out refused to do their jobs were never reprimanded, but employees who consistently went above and beyond were punished for things they had no control over. Constantly understaffed, yet people...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring more people who are extremely unqualified for the job and start giving the people that need more hours time on the schedule. Punishing people for not getting credit cards which is something out of our hands is demoralizing. Actually work with your employees and get to know them, instead of treating them all the same and take accountability.

    The Home Depot2017-07-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Could be better and appreciated more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Is the customers you get build relationships with and I work with a great team! And love my hrs!

    Cons

    You get treated differently if you don't kiss butt around there nor do they appreciate some those workers abilities to getting Home Depot to where they are today! They just don't appreciate you enough!

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your team players cause we work hard to satisfy our customers and make Home Depot the best place to shop with great customer services and making sure aisles and bays are shoppable!

    The Home Depot2017-06-08
  6. "Best job I ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Ankeny, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, great working environment, and even better pay.

    Cons

    There were scheduling conflicts, twice.

    The Home Depot2017-03-20
  7. "Appliance Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Appliance Sales Associate in Urbandale, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits for part time employees

    Cons

    Retail hours - having to work every weekend.

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge good employee efforts and sales. Pats on the back can go a long way. Also, weed out bad employees instead of ignoring the bad behaviors. It brings down good workers when they are treated the same as bad ones.

    The Home Depot2016-02-12

    The Home Depot Response

    February 29, 2016Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Freight Team Associate/Cashier/Garden Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight/Cashier/Garden Sales Associate in Ankeny, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are the nicest people you will ever meet. Staff is really helpful and knowledgeable. Fairly flexible with work scheduling. 7.75 an hour isn't bad.

    Cons

    Big store to stock. Some of the aisle are tight to move lift equipment in so store damage happens. There is no organization for merchandise storage. Training gets a bit tedious.

    Advice to Management

    Stay just the way you are. These guys are amazing and will unquestioningly go up to bat for you if you get on there good side.

    The Home Depot2015-10-07
  9. "department Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Not enough pay and management nerds to be improved

    Advice to Management

    Actually help your associates

    The Home Depot2015-07-06

    The Home Depot Response

    July 7, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. Our associates and managers alike are essential parts of The Home Depot’s network. We appreciate your feedback and will share this information with others.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Credit Card Pusher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Ankeny, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Don't have to wear a uniform. Flexible hours

    Cons

    What they don't tell you during the job interview (nor is it in the job description) is that you are held accountable for trying to get customers to sign up for their (high interest) credit cards. They actually keep track of how many cards you did or did't get each week and this is factored into whether you get a raise. Also, at the Ankeny IA store men get away with so much more and are not held to the same strict standards...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Mention the credit card pushing to people during the job interview instead of waiting until after the person has accepted the job and then holding them accountable for getting cards. Also, lead by example and apply the same rules to the both sexes.

    The Home Depot2015-06-16

    The Home Depot Response

    June 16, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your hard work and dedication. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Although we are unable to comment on your specific experience, we value our associates and understand that our associates are the key to our success. We strive to create an environment ...

    Show More
Found 15 reviews