The Home Depot Reviews in Evansville, IN | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Evansville Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
9%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
2 Ratings
  1. "Employee Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly management, willing to work around school Laid back Learning environment non stressful

    Cons

    obvious favoritism towards other employees by management

    The Home Depot2017-02-12
  2. "No hope for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Evansville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love working with Home Depot, I am a 12 year associate with excellent ratings and test scores.

    Cons

    No work/life balance. Also, despite being highly rated, after 6 months applying every single day on CareerDepot, I have not been promoted. I have also been passed over in my own store on several occasions.

    Advice to Management

    Please make the career growth of your associates important, and if a supervisor role is supposed to be temporary, then make it so. I have put my life and financial stability on hold for years thinking I would be promoted quickly with all my accolades, but that is not the case. I feel hopeless and stuck, and I have begun my job hunt outside the company with the same tenacity I was applying to CareerDepot. I have already...

    Show More
    The Home Depot2019-03-24
  3. "very racsit atmophere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Stocker in Evansville, IN

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good benefits and pay and hours

    Cons

    no minorities in maneger all white not use to working with black people Evansville Indiana # 2003

    Advice to Management

    times is changing diversify

    The Home Depot2018-06-02
  4. "Good job for HS grad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Training and other great people

    Cons

    Hours, weekends, holidays, wages, weather

    Advice to Management

    See your employees on the floor more frequent

    The Home Depot2017-09-23
  5. "CSR-Building Materials"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chandler, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    The company was flexible with work schedule and usually had staffing needs met. Overall, it was a decent employer.

    Cons

    Department manager was often not around even when on duty or when things were crazy in the department. Pay was not very good and benefits were non-existent as most people were employed as part time but often worked full time or near full time hours.

    Advice to Management

    Be more present when times called for it or get help from loaders or lot employees to help at least keep aisles from getting cluttered at these times and when knowledgable employees were cutting wood or helping other customers find products they desired.

    The Home Depot2015-09-17
  6. "Recommend it as a part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Millwork Specialist in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many benefits for part-time and full time employees including 401k matching. A few paid holidays. Employee recognition and bonus program. Company provides employees with tools to succeed. Training is thorough. Stores host free how-to clinics and community service events.

    Cons

    It is retail so unless you have experience in construction, decor, or management, you will likely start at a pay close to minimum wage. Sometimes difficult to move up because they like hiring supervisors from other home improvement competitors.

    Advice to Management

    There is an employee recognition program that is underutilized. Three of the four stores I worked at barely used the Homer Award program. It is an easy way to boost moral and reward hardworking employees

    The Home Depot2015-08-04

    The Home Depot Response

    August 6, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience in your 5 years at The Home Depot.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Lumber sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Knowledge driven position, minimal micro-management, quality employees and management, internal promotions

    Cons

    The work/employee balance can be stressful at times, particularly in the lumber department where most every action requires two employees and only one is scheduled regularly.

    Advice to Management

    The starting pay of 9.00/hr is decent but difficult to live on, however, Lowes a smaller company and competitor starts at 11.00/hr. Home Depot loses a number of quality employees to Lowes solely off of having a stronger pay range.

    The Home Depot2015-04-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Bad IDEA!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Indiana in Evansville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    there really aren't any pros. This is not the place to work- bad management.

    Cons

    No employee discount, long hours, lack of management. No training for cashiers.

    The Home Depot2015-05-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Team oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team oriented, work life balance, career opportunities if you work hard and ask for the challenge. Always apply yourself.

    Cons

    Pay, no negotiations on hourly employees, benefits are very expensive. No part time medical benefits. Only 25 hrs max if part time.

    Advice to Management

    Tell associates often of career opportunities.

    The Home Depot2015-01-27

    The Home Depot Response

    February 24, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are respected and that their contributions are valued. Taking care of associates is one of our ...

    Show More
  10. "Seasonal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    It has good pay for summer seasonal work, the highest outside of Lowes and SABIC in my area. Working with the same customers builds camaraderie and friendship.

    Cons

    There is a lot of training that has to be done before you even begin to work. That amount of training for a 3 month position is a little much.

    Advice to Management

    There is not enough communication between departments or between workers and upper management.

    The Home Depot2014-07-04

    The Home Depot Response

    July 9, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to business at The Home Depot is our commitment to customer service.

Found 11 reviews