The Home Depot Reviews in Gainesville, FL | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Gainesville Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
5 Ratings
  1. "I loved this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, great people, family atmosphere

    Cons

    Standing for long hours occasionally

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2018-09-02
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MET Associate in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Only work Monday thru Friday

    Cons

    Hours are 5am -2pm. Need to like to work early hours

    The Home Depot2020-02-06
  3. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Gainesville, FL

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with Flexible Schedules Good Benefits Stock

    Cons

    Dealing with Customers Below Average Pay

    The Home Depot2019-07-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Part time retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Appliance Sales Specialist in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing experience, it really grows you as a person. You pick up life skills super fast, as well as good work and social skills. Always an ability to grow in the company, never gets boring.

    Cons

    There were a lot of changes in management. Poor communication between supervisors, it felt like no one was on the same page. My department was under staffed and there was no supervisor for specialty so things were always chaotic. The new hires were scheduled by themselves to close without a new associate coach or with even having finished the training videos, a lot of them quit within 2 weeks.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2019-07-15
  5. "Sale associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Associate - Seasonal Lawn and Garden in Gainesville, FL

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall a good company to work for.

    Cons

    None so far. On the job less than a year

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2018-08-07
  6. "Freight Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Associate in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    The hours were ok, management was friendly and willing to help, and my department supervisor cared about us and made sure we were doing the work we needed to.

    Cons

    The work in freight is absolutely boring and mindless. Just moving boxes endlessly. If you prefer customer oriented work avoid this position. I previously was a garden worker where there is plenty of customer interaction. This position involves almost zero customer interaction and made me rather bored and irritated as the nights would go on.

    The Home Depot2017-12-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "My experience is good overall. I like the consistency here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything is consistent and the benefits are nice. Not having to worry about customers, just the vendors.

    Cons

    Getting up at 3am and everything having to do with meeting SLA. If it's not met, it's gonna be a problem with your coworkers.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2017-05-06

    The Home Depot Response

    May 8, 2017Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Retail is retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Desk in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Managers seem to care; always willing to go over anything you don't understand. Training is easy to access. Lots of interaction with coworkers: you cab easily build bonds. In no time you will know the whole store. Biannual bonus check.

    Cons

    Loads of customers who are very rude sometimes. Work can get monotonous. The company really bugs you to push credit cards on people. Managers can be money hungry.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2017-03-21
  9. "Head Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Head Cashier in Alachua, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Staff is awsome, work environment is great.

    Cons

    Will not hire full time employees..no benifits

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2016-05-14
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lot Associate in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company as a whole was great. I really enjoyed working there a lot, moving out of the area is why I left. For a part-time job while in college, they worked with me and my schedule and the people were really friendly and I worked with a great team.

    Cons

    There were a few people that tended to slack off and I was asked a lot to essentially do their job for them. I don't mind being the new guy and busting my butt for a good company. However, when it comes to me needing to help compensate for a few select lazy people, I do not care for that. Just a few bad eggs in that basket, so it was not store wide or company based.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2015-07-13

    The Home Depot Response

    July 15, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.

    Continue reading
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews